We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay close to centre of Rome”
Review of Ape Latina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ape Latina
Ranked #680 of 1,070 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great stay close to centre of Rome”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is a clean and friendly place to stay - a couple of minutes walk to 'the Colloseum and possible to walk to all the major sites from the apartment. The hosts are very friendly and helpful with travel tips...they put out fruit, coffee, cookies etc, very nice! Not much to the room (for example, our room didn't have a view), but its clean and central and you don't need anything more.

Room Tip: Remember to advice of your time of arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriaanvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    14
    4
    4
    9
See reviews for
4
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

The hostel is about a 10 minute walk from Roma Termini, which is great. Do bear in mind that because the roads are made of cobblestone, dragging your luggage can be a bit of a strain on the wheels. The nearest metro station is about 3 minutes away but really there is no need to take the metro unless you are heading to the Vatican. The main attractions are all within walking distance. For example, the Colosseum is a 10 minute walk away. Walking back to the hostel is harder though, since it's uphill. However, it's still very manageable.

We got the 3 bedroom ensuite which was neat, clean and really what you pay for. There were towels and soap provided. There was also a TV in the room but we didn't use it very much because just about all the channels were iitalian.

Francesca has got to be one of the best hosts I've met. She was very welcoming and provided us with information on Rome. It was great that she was able to warn us of tourist traps and recommended a few great restaurants which Italians frequent. As we were taking the overnight train to Venice, Francesca allowed us to stay in our rooms until 8pm for no charge.

All in all a great place to stay if you are looking for budget accommodation in Rome but be prepared to do some walking.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acidsquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

To find this place was pure coincidence as we booked it off a whim, and the great reviews.
An incredible find and literally made our stay at Rome. If you've found this place and there's availability, book it. We wouldn't have discovered the "real" Rome otherwise. Travelling as two young girls, safety and advice are key. We were met with Andrea, the owner, and Francesca, who advised us of the best places to go and see, shop, eat and explore.

The room we stayed in was large and clean equipped with Wifi and our own bathroom which, for the price, is stupidly cheap compared to the horrible hostels we had come from the night before. You receive your own keys to both this apartment and your room with a shared kitchen. The building is exquisite and down the road, a 5 min walk, from the Colosseum. In terms of the area, it feels like a safe area, which is priceless when you've stayed in some other shady Rome areas, and also walking distance from the main Termini station.

Location, Facilities, Hospitality, Comfort, Safety is all accounted for. You are not going to find a better place in Rome to stay. Perfect for friends, families and couples. Could not speak more highly of this B&B. Highly recommended and I make sure anyone I know going to Rome stays with Andrea.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed at The Ape Latina last July.
The location is wonderful, if you walk just 5 minutes through a park you come to the Colosseum and Forum/Palatine Hill.
The rooms are of a good quality with comfy beds and clean, with one bedroom with an ensuite room and 2 rooms sharing one bathroom which being a student was no problem! All rooms share a kitchenette with a fridge, which I personally didn't use but everything was clean. (And cleaned every day to a brilliant standard. by the owner)
Moreover what the most wonderful part of the experience was the was Lady that owned the hostel. She was friendly and helpful even giving us a map to walk around Rome with and telling us good local hotspots. I would go back just on that basis alone.

Room Tip: Ask about the Room with the en-suite bathroom if the idea of sharing bothers you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VictoriaBaker92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My stay in Ape Latina was FANTASTIC !!!!!!
The staff were amazing, perfect location, just a few minutes from the Colosseum and the roman forums !!!!!
Andrea and Francesca are very kind and will make you feel at home.
Very clean and comfortable !!!!!!
I'll be glad to come back again.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanFuentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

BE WARNED!!! If you book here, you don't actually stay here. I booked a few nights at this HOSTEL but like many other people who have written comments on this site, I showed up to the front door of this DUMP looking apartment building, where I waited for OVER 2 hours until somebody finally showed up and told me that I was being MOVED 4 blocks away to another hostel (Ares Rooms) owned by her friend, who was rude and the place was infested with BED BUGS. I have over 100 ITCHY RED BUMPS covering my neck, ears, and arms. Thank you Ape Latina for your kind rearrangements! I will never return to Rome thanks to you. Also, private in suite bathrooms don't exist at this place, they use it as a SCAM to make more money off of you and they try to argue with you to make you pay the money. They give you a shared bathroom (down the hallway) and tell you it's private when it is NOT! Do you think your customers are stupid? We notice when other people are using our bathroom and when it is not inside our room. Thanks again for my terrible experience in Rome!

Room Tip: Don't ever book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cali41588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Ape Latina was amazing for the price! We had a huge room & comfortable bed. There were other people staying but we never had to wait to use the bathroom. Had a nice kitchen/bar area to fix food and eat at. Very clean & safe! I was with my husband but would stay there alone without any hesitations! The neighborhood is quiet and safe and there are several inexpensive cafes just a few steps away. Also a quaint little grocery store within the block. You are very close to lots of attractions and just a short cab or bus ride from the others. I would suggest opting for a taxi from Termini to the building as it is quite a walk and the taxi's know right where to go! Andrea & Francesca were amazing! Very helpful and there when we needed them! They shared several out of the way spots to eat. We appreciated their help immensely! We stayed for 4 nights and had absolutely everything we would need plus some!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pillarsoflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#72 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,325 of 3,620 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#395 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ape Latina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ape Latina

Property: Ape Latina
Address: Via Angelo Poliziano 27, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Hotel Style:
Ranked #680 of 1,070 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ape Latina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ape Latina Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing