We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, and superb location!”
Review of Capitolium Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capitolium Rooms
Ranked #96 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Friendly, and superb location!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Sometimes you get lucky and we did when we booked this place. Easy to find and perfectly situated just round the corner from the main Termini, it's a small 7-room affair with friendly staff and spotless rooms. The beds are comfortable, the AC works fine and the mini bar is extraordinarily cheap! Breakfast is a basic continental spread but the free coffee machine is very good. There is a big supermarket two minutes away where you can stock up on water etc - do not buy water at the touristy spots or you will get ripped off! We bought 72-hour passes with one of the hop-on, hop-off open bus operators based at the Termini and we recommend doing the full circuit (approx 1 hour) to get your bearings, then take it from there as this is the best way to get round the main sites - all of which are, incidentally, within walking distance of the hotel. It was just a bit too hot for walking when we were there, though - didn't drop below 33 degrees all week, so take plenty of water with you! The hotel staff can give you a little map and helpful advice, though I would not bother with the Metro (or the Roma pass) as you don't see anything underground. I would recommend the very worthwhile external tour of the Coliseum at 30 euros, which includes a tour of the Palatine Hill with very knowledgeable guides and your 12 euro entry fee to both attractions. Our find of the week was the little cafe on the rooftop of the Vittoria Emmanuel Monument - simple but beautiful food at great prices, with a wonderful view over the Coliseum to the hills beyond - and for an even more spectacular panorama, the chance - for 7 euro - to take a space-age lift right to the top of the building. Rome is great. We had a fabulous time and thoroughly recommend this gem of an hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petepunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    132
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
86
172
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Enterprise, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We are from the US and not frequent travelers to Europe. We chose this hotel based on trip adv reviews and we are very pleased. Our room for the first night was fine but the air conditioner was broken and wifi signal weak so the next day we were moved across the hall to the room /view shown on the website pics. Good AC....good wifi even though a bit slow compared to what we have at home (and nice view!!). Good Expected/typical "continental breakfast" with yogurt/pastry/toast/cereal etc.... but the commercial cappucino/espresso/latte etc machine is different and we very much enjoyed it!! We discovered today that the owners also own a similar property nearby and if it is managed/staffed like this one it must be great.

If you are a first time traveler to Europe and get an idea of the differences to expect from the hotels here, you should be very pleased with this hotel......I know if we ever have the good fortune to visit Rome again, we will arrange the dates to make sure we can stay here again!!

Room Tip: We LOVE this place and if we return would take any room here....the side with the view is nice but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I don't remember all those palm trees I'm seeing in the picture. I went herewith my husband back in 2009 summer and had a wonderful time. The breakfast was good, and the rooms were one of nicest I've stayed in Europe. I don't remember the location all too well except that everything was either close walking or near a short metro. One thing I'd say is I remember the front of the hotel was hard to find(we walked by it a few times) and its near a few sex shops, but I never felt unsafe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollydc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Looked for a long time to find a place in Rome for a moderate price. Like this because it is an easy walk (5-10Minutes) to the Termini-the central transportation point for all of Rome. It's right across the street from The Steak House (moderate prices good food). The staff was great, the rooms very adequate and very clean. An okay light breakfast bread and the fixings. Great Coffee machine-expresso, latte-no charge. Staff bends over backwards to please e.g., we were worried about luggage being over weight on way home--Monica (the desk person) brought her scale from home so we could check the weight--how's that for service.
Few things about getting around and seeing things: 1. Make reservations -- attractions are very crowded, long lines. You won't even get in Borghese unless you book ahead. 2. Take a tour of the Vatican-or you will get hopelessly lost. We used Dark ??-about $30 including admission-you will never make it on your own. 3. Buses including hop on and off are almost useless because of the traffic. Use the Metro-easy to use after you figure it out-you determine direction by last stop on the line. AND when the warning buzzer goes off DON't get on-the door will keep closing-will not retract automatically if you are in their way. 4..Food is very expensive near the major tourist attractions Much less expensive across the Tiber in the Trastevere area (or at the Steak House). Try Pannis for lunch -- usually less cost in one of the market areas 5. Take a taxi to the airport--cost is not much more with two people. Book on the internet (in English). We paid 44 Euros-and went right to the Airline door.--well worth the price.
Note: If you are travelling in the summer, it will be very hot and the crowds will be unbearable. We went in April and the weather was very pleasant --still crowded, but less.

Room Tip: Ask for a court yard view, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Don't be put off by the immediate neighbourhood! This hotel has excellent service, very helpful staff and it's in a great location, 10 minutes walk from the Main train station. It's clean and very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andreas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#134 of 1,259 in Rome
829 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Agli Horti Sallustiani - bed & breakfast
Esquilino
Deseo Home
Deseo Home
#125 of 3,669 in Rome
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
DG Prestige Room
DG Prestige Room
#73 of 3,669 in Rome
252 reviews
Prati
A View of Rome
A View of Rome
#20 of 3,669 in Rome
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitolium Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitolium Rooms

Property: Capitolium Rooms
Address: Via Montebello 104, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Capitolium Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitolium Rooms is a new and elegant Hotel in Rome set in the heart of the city, close to Termini Railway Station and subway (Line A and Line B) which guarantees an easy connection to all of the city's top sights. The welcoming location is great for sightseeing, visiting museums and walking through the center of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Capitolium Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitolium Rooms Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing