We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and cosy”
Review of Capitolium Rooms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capitolium Rooms
Ranked #96 of 3,669 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    132
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
86
172
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Looked for a long time to find a place in Rome for a moderate price. Like this because it is an easy walk (5-10Minutes) to the Termini-the central transportation point for all of Rome. It's right across the street from The Steak House (moderate prices good food). The staff was great, the rooms very adequate and very clean. An okay light breakfast bread and the fixings. Great Coffee machine-expresso, latte-no charge. Staff bends over backwards to please e.g., we were worried about luggage being over weight on way home--Monica (the desk person) brought her scale from home so we could check the weight--how's that for service.
Few things about getting around and seeing things: 1. Make reservations -- attractions are very crowded, long lines. You won't even get in Borghese unless you book ahead. 2. Take a tour of the Vatican-or you will get hopelessly lost. We used Dark ??-about $30 including admission-you will never make it on your own. 3. Buses including hop on and off are almost useless because of the traffic. Use the Metro-easy to use after you figure it out-you determine direction by last stop on the line. AND when the warning buzzer goes off DON't get on-the door will keep closing-will not retract automatically if you are in their way. 4..Food is very expensive near the major tourist attractions Much less expensive across the Tiber in the Trastevere area (or at the Steak House). Try Pannis for lunch -- usually less cost in one of the market areas 5. Take a taxi to the airport--cost is not much more with two people. Book on the internet (in English). We paid 44 Euros-and went right to the Airline door.--well worth the price.
Note: If you are travelling in the summer, it will be very hot and the crowds will be unbearable. We went in April and the weather was very pleasant --still crowded, but less.

Room Tip: Ask for a court yard view, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Don't be put off by the immediate neighbourhood! This hotel has excellent service, very helpful staff and it's in a great location, 10 minutes walk from the Main train station. It's clean and very quiet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andreas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I went with three university friends for a 4 night city break in Rome, and stayed in the Capitolium Rooms. We loved our stay - It was a great base for exploring the city, and I couldn't fault the hotel at all!

The check in was quick and easy. The staff were friendly & very helpful in pointing out places to eat around the hotel (Restaurant over the road is very good!) and someone was always around to help with any questions we had. There were 4 of us in one room, and they were very accommodating at adding an extra bed to a triple occupancy room for us.

The hotel itself was clean and comfortable, and having breakfast included was a great start to the day. It was a 5 minute walk from a main road that led into the city centre to places such as the Trevi Fountain and Spanish Steps, and was very close to the Termini station - Handy for transfers and the Metro.

It was a great place to stay for our time in Rome and we wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hkwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We've just returned from Rome having stayed 5 nights at the Capitolium. It's an unusual hotel - just 7 rooms, on the second floor of a townhouse. There is a sex cinema directly across the road. I can see how this could be off-putting to many on arrival. However, I have to say we had a great stay there. Our room was very comfortable and really clean. We had a view onto a lovely garden- it was peaceful at night. The area seemed lively during the day but safe and quiet at night- we saw no dodgy characters around the cinema! There are decent restaurants within walking distance and being near Termini station it is a convenient location for sightseeing.
The downsides were that the wifi in our room wasn't great though we got a good connection in the breakfast room. Breakfast was not brilliant but we've had far worse in Italy. Staff were helpful and friendly. All in all we were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murielle60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great value for money, very clean and quiet, good quality beds. Very near to the central Termini station. Would stay here again. Lots of restaurants in the streets nearby. Only slight hitch was that at the end of our stay the receptionist, who was obviously having an 'off day', ordered a taxi for us, but asked for the wrong airport. Fortunately we made our plane, but after quite a detour around Rome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tizzyh149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in the hotel 4 night. The room was clean, fresh towels every morning and friendly staff. Very convenient location, close to tube. Continental breakfast was ok if you are not too fuzzy and like per-packed croissants (or cornettos as they call them here)
One minor downside is the noise. Walls are paper thin, we could literally hear the neighbours snoring!
Very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrevi a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Camelia
Hotel Camelia
#134 of 1,259 in Rome
829 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Agli Horti Sallustiani - bed & breakfast
Esquilino
Deseo Home
Deseo Home
#125 of 3,669 in Rome
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
DG Prestige Room
DG Prestige Room
#73 of 3,669 in Rome
250 reviews
Prati
A View of Rome
A View of Rome
#20 of 3,669 in Rome
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitolium Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitolium Rooms

Property: Capitolium Rooms
Address: Via Montebello 104, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 3,669 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Capitolium Rooms 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Capitolium Rooms is a new and elegant Hotel in Rome set in the heart of the city, close to Termini Railway Station and subway (Line A and Line B) which guarantees an easy connection to all of the city's top sights. The welcoming location is great for sightseeing, visiting museums and walking through the center of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Capitolium Rooms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitolium Rooms Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing