We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth the trip”
Review of Settembrini Cafe

Settembrini Cafe
Ranked #9,385 of 12,448 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $21 - $40
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well Worth the trip”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Got a tip from don't remember where but Via Settembrini was well worth the trip from the center. Couple of minute walk from Lepanto metro station just aroused our appetite. And Settembrini delivered! Elegant yet casual service with non touristic atmosphere. But the best of course was the food. Cooked with creativity and consideration with wines to match. For closure probably the best shot of grappa I've ever had. Mayde the Rome vibe had something to do with it, I don't know. A perfect evening for us. Grazie Mille!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    215
    129
    151
    145
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We went on a Saturday night. Both the patio and restaurant were busy. We had an excellent server, who translated the menu for us, recommended a great wine and an amazing starter of Italian cheeses and meats. The main was equally as impressive. Octopus pasta was seasoned and cooked perfectly, with a generous amount of octopus. We were further pleased with lemon sorbet to finish off the meal. Despite it being busy, we had great service, great food, and a great dining experience. If we return to Rome, we may book our hotel next to this place... It was that good :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodandwineanytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
“fancy place”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

great terrace with a very nice design. great place to spend a quiet evening enjoying good food and good wines. very nice staff and good service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlinaCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
421 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Innovative sophisticated restauarant”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a very innovative restaurant with creative, well prepared gourmet cuisine. I sat at a bar looking through a window into the kitchen--very interesting! The menu offers the ability to order ala carte or from a tasting menu with 3,5 or 7 dishes plus dessert. Creative wine pairings are provided with excellent choices. One of my dishes was a risotto with yogurt, smoked eel and orange--somewhat improbable but very delicious! Excellent service. While most servers speak English, there were no other tourists in the restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“If you like Italian Meats”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a wonderful little trattoria specializing in Italian salumi such as Bresola, Culatello and dried, smoked beef. They also have some unique hamburgers made with lamb or baccala' and excellent pasta .So if you are on a low fat diet forget about it but if you want to indulge in the best of Italian deliicacies it is not very expensive and you can even sit outside. All of these dishes are wonderful with a good bottle of Barbera.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Captainspires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Settembrini Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Settembrini Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing