We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kosher Traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cesar Palace Guesthouse
Ranked #2,966 of 3,739 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the B&B for 4 days in October 2012.
The B&B is located in an apartment building along a major street. 10 minute walk to metro, 20 minutes to main train station, 45 minute walk to Jewish Ghetto, 20 minute walk to piazza Bologna area. Difficult to locate at first, so make sure to look up exactly where the B&B is on a map before you arrive.
The personal at the B&B were very nice and accommodating on Shabbat as well as during the rest of our stay.
Our room was small but clean, the A/C and lights worked well, safe in room, no fridge in room (but they have one at the reception and have the option to rent one if needed). The rooms was mostly quiet at night, but the doors are very thin and you can hear a decent amount of noise from the hallway/elevator.
We ordered Shabbat meals through Shilo (a kosher takeout restaurant in the Jewish Ghetto). David, the owner, is very kind and takes care of all your shabbat needs at the B&B (arranging food, plata, showed us where the shuls are, and provided us with a shabbat belt key [as there is no eruv in rome]). He also provided us with a (simple) kosher breakfast during the week.
Overall the accommodations were fine, my only advice is to be prepared to walk a lot and to bring earplugs if you plan on sleeping before midnight or after 7am.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 547 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Actually, mixed feelings.
Positive:
- Very good location. Close to city centre, walking distance, super dining places right at the corner of the street.
- Nespresso as a coffe at breakfast. Good!
- price/performance - ok.
Negative:
- unfriendly lazy lady at reception. Seems that we disturb her from watching youtube.
- wi-fi in rooms is useless, signal is to low.
- breakfast is better to skip. But not coffee!
- Very thin walls and noisy vending machine (off at 10pm).
- Elevator is for 1,5 person and very slow. Better to get on feet on 5th floor.
- management of the hotel is not bored with writing clear directions how to get to the hotel.
- no label with hotel name outside. So you probably will never find this door if you don't call these guys.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew_Kartashev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesarbedandreakfast, Direttore at Cesar Palace Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Sir

We are sorry for the person that did not serve you in a proper manner. We always strive to perform at our best in order to provide the best possible service to our guests.
The cofee is always been seen as one of the best things we offer. We admit that we have not a fast elevator but its not ours we cannot decide on a faster elevator and I dont think that it makes a different stay. Finally the signals at the entrance are not evident as it not allowed by the building to post signs therefore we are unable to put it.
For what concerns the room we believe to be very clean and treat our guest with our best efforts
thanks for staying with us and we appreciate your constructive comments as we strive to always improve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I highly recommended this place to stay in Roma. the rooms are great, very clean bathroom.we had also kosher meal supply us by David the manger who is kind. The quality stuff are great.  respond quickly for any request . I like the hospitality. very friendly and willing to help in any matter. the location is close enough. 15 min walk to termini. 10 min walk to republica. 
also the buses  to central are just mintue walk. there is free wifi which helped us a lot. make story short. go 4 it.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Ido M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The Cesar Palace guesthouse in Rome is a hidden gem. Close enough to walk to Termini (or a short bus ride which stops across the street - Porta Pia), the room was very clean, with a comfortable bed, plenty of linens and a nice bathroom.

The option of having a kosher breakfast in Rome was a great bonus, and especially useful as I was touring Rome with a friend who keeps Kosher.

The friendly staff also had a brochure for a great kosher restaurant (Shilo) in the Jewish ghetto - a €10 cab ride away.

All in all, for the value, the Cesar Palace can't be beat. A nice room in a safe area.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SixtensPappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I were in Italy for three weeks, and this is the best place we were at for anthing at that price range. The staff was very kind and helpful (thank you David, Richard and Mariana), the location was good. Easy access by metro, bus or even by foot to the main attractions in rome but far enough not to be bothered by noise at night. Clean and tidy with a good breakfast (we took the koser breakfast). Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netta A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We chose this hotel based on the reviews read on this site, this turned out to be a bad idea.
* The doors were locked and it is difficult to know how to get in when first arriving
* No signs directing to reception (it's on the 5th floor would you believe).
* We were made to wait despite arriving after the check in time, we were sent away at the reception.
* The walls in our room were very thin and we could hear every word from the room next to us as well as at the reception desk.
* The linen was not changed daily, the towels were refolded and placed back on the rail. When they were changed we received much smaller towels with tears in them.
* The room itself was much smaller than it looks in the photos and it is difficult to move in the bathroom.

Overall the room was disappointing but bearable, thankfully it was fairly close to the centre and the breakfast was alright but nothing special. However we were hoping for a better experience for what we paid and I'm sure there are much better places to stay in Rome for the same money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlankGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesarbedandreakfast, Front Office Manager at Cesar Palace Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2014

Dear Guest,
Big changes happened since you stayed at our Guesthouse. Reception is always open from 8.00 AM to 5.30 PM and if needed a member of the staff is always available for further assistance. Clear signals leading to the reception at the fifth floor can be found at the entrance of the building and in the elevator. Check-In time is respected, and, if the cleaning team is late, we do open our reception for guests to rest, have a glass of water or use the free Wi-Fi, and we always store your luggage in the meantime to let you be free to start exploring the city. Double glass window make the rooms soundproof, to prevent street noises’ from interrupting your dreams. We have daily cleaning in the rooms and we change towels every other day (unless you really need a replace!). Hope to see you again soon for a more enjoyable stay in our Guesthouse!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Location was good, close to the centre of Rome. lenty of buses running straight into the centre of Rome. We had a family room and had plenty of room - the shower was excellent and the room was very comfortable and very clean. The hotel is set in an apartment block and the reception is on the 5th floor - not a problem as there is a lift, but you do need to know this when you first arrive and are trying to find the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pimpa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Hotel Versailles
#676 of 1,271 in Rome
184 reviews
MF Hotel
#559 of 1,271 in Rome
288 reviews
San Lorenzo
Athena Hotel
Athena Hotel
#960 of 1,271 in Rome
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scheppers Hotel
#1,055 of 1,271 in Rome
272 reviews
Marc'Aurelio Hotel
#564 of 1,271 in Rome
416 reviews
San Lorenzo
Kriss Hotel
Kriss Hotel
#724 of 1,169 in Rome
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesar Palace Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesar Palace Guesthouse

Address: Via Nomentana 55, 00161 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,966 of 3,739 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $36 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cesar Palace Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the enchanting area of Porta Pia, close to Termini Train Station and to Via Veneto, house of "La Dolce Vita", Cesar Palace Guesthouse welcomes you for a pleasent stay in the eternal city. Located in an historical building of the early XX century, Cesar Palace has single and double rooms, all with private bathrooms, equipped with linen and towels, dispensers for soap and hair dryer, very spacious and furnished in a simple and elegant, comfortable and vital atmosphere. Quiteness in each room is provided by double windows, as well as other services like: TV Color, Air conditioning, and free Wi-Fi. Daily cleaning will guarantee an enjoyable stay at our place, as well as our Reception Team, always available to assiste you upon your arrival in Porta Pia and in any moment of your stay. Upon request, we serve Kosher breakfast in your room and organize tours in the most interesting areas of our beautiful city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cesar Palace Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesar Palace Guesthouse Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing