We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly & perfectly located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trastevere Relais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trastevere Relais
Ranked #2,684 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
The Hague
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Very friendly & perfectly located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

Trastevere Relais is a good place for spending a couple of days in Rome. It's centrally located and easily reached by taking the train from Fuminico Airport. Barbara & Catherina are very friendly hosts and make terrific cappucino. The rooms are brand-new (flat-screen tv, wellness shower) and look nice. What we especially liked is that it's a small place. You only have breakfast with 2-3 other families. This makes it cosy unlike a big hotel chain. I would say this is gem of Rome in which you definitely want to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    29
    11
    15
    8
See reviews for
14
37
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

We had a great stay at Trastevere Relais. The room was clean and comfortable and we loved the stylish decor. One of my favorite touches was coming home late at night after walking all over Rome and finding rose petals sprinkled on the floor near our room and tall candles lighting the way to our door. It was these types of little extras that made us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Corrina35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2009

I stayed at the Trastevere Relais with two colleagues as part of a business trip that included Rome and Milan. The furnishings here are glamorous and modern--expertly chosen by an artistic eye. The staff is more than friendly and very helpful, and they will arrange transport to/from the airport and to other Roman locations if you ask. The location is on a charming side street, close to buses, trams, the river, and some truly beautiful churches and sights. Restaurants in this neighborhood were fantastic. This is a great B&B for people who want a unique experience in Rome, one away from the tourist hordes with some originality and romance--it's also incredible value for the money. The loveliness of this place influenced my entire visit to Rome, and I left wishing I could stay there another week.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagoan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

A charming B&B in the heart of the beautiful Trastevere district of Rome. Caterina and Barbara are perfect hosts -- generous with advice, welcoming but unobtrusive. Low-key atmosphere and laissez-faire attitude should not be mistaken for lack of interest or brusqueness. Rather, they will go the extra mile for you -- I saw them help guests arrange Vespa rentals and make restaurant reservations, etc. And if there's anything else you need, just ask.

The rooms are simple but well-appointed and very comfortable and an excellent value for the area. The AC wasn't working in my room either per the traveller below, but I didn't find it problematic and the fan worked fine to cool the room down. Breakfast is simple - yogurt, cereal, fruits, juices and pastries. I didn't find any noise problem from the street and always kept my windows open -- though honestly, I'm from NY so the Rome street noise pales in comparison... Bathroom and toiletries were nice -- great water pressure, clean.

Located on the second floor of the building (note - no elevators, but then, they didn't have them when this building was built hundreds of years ago...) on the "quieter" and less-touristy, but much more charming side of the viale Trastevere, very close to the S. Cecilia church and fantastic restaurants and only a short walk from the Tiber. The area is well served by bus routes, and there is a Tourist Information kiosk across the street.

Overall, a very good experience and I look forward to my next stay there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boboq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

I have stayed in many B&Bs in Europe, but the Trastevere Relais was the least satisfactory. On the plus side, our room was very clean and the breakfast was fine. On the negative side, we were put in a very plain, hot apartment across the street from the main B&B, even though we had reservations, which at first they couldn't seem to find. We never received directions to the hotel, which we had repeatedly requested from two different e-mail accounts, and the building was difficult to locate. Although they advertised that they accepted credit cards, we were informed when we got there that their service was not working and we would have to find an ATM and pay in cash. They never came to the room to leave fresh towels or to remove the dishes from breakfast. There was no telephone in the room so we could not get a wake-up call for an early flight. They did not have an alarm clock and refused to come knock on our door in the morning. Perhaps things would have been better had we been put in the main B&B, as we had assumed we would be when we made the reservation.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SojournertruthUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

Sparkling clean premises, comfortable bed, adequate breakfast, gift of bottle of wine to makeup for mistake in our reservation (we had to take a small apartment across the street instead of a room in the main B&B.). Overworked assistant manager Barbara later very kindly mailed a small item which we had left behind in an early morning departure.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank earhartusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2009

We were looking for a clean, quiet spot to stay in Trastevere, away from the big hotels and touristy areas. Trastevere Relais seemed to fit the bill, with the one review saying it was quiet. I even asked for a picture of our room to verify we had secured a queen size bed for the three nights we'd be there with our own bathroom and I particularly asked about a fridge. This was all confirmed by Caterina at a price of 120 Euro/night which included breakfast.

We arrived by taxi from the airport on a Saturday afternoon to an unassuming exterior. We had to drag our luggage up to the second floor (no elevator), but once inside it is very elegantly decorated as seen on their web site (http://trastevererelais.com/ing.html). We were greeted by Barbara, Caterina's friend, as Caterina was not feeling well that weekend. We were not taken to the room originally shown to us in the email, but a larger room facing the street with a separate sitting area, kitchenette and bathroom all done in a clean modern style.

Italy was in the midst of a heat wave for May - it was 34 degrees in Rome. Although the website clearly states each room is equipped with private bath, satellite TV, AC, mini bar and safe there was no evidence of air conditioning, so we asked about a fan. We were given a fan to use but the heat nearly made it impossible to sleep at night as it wasn't as quiet as originally suggested. There is a karaoke bar beneath the B&B at ground level and street noise got quite loud on a weekend. Another of their rooms near the front was left open one day and I noticed it had an AC, but the other three rooms appeared to be without. We were moved to a different room the following day as we were told Caterina was going away and her mother and son were coming to stay there. The room we were moved to was still not the one from Caterina's email and did not have a fridge either. Barbara let us use the fridge in the kitchen. All rooms did seem to have LCD TVs and our original room had satellite reception as advertised but the smaller room did not, with only local programming available.

Barbara was the person we dealt with the most during our stay - she was the one who prepared breakfast every morning for the guests and she did her utmost to be kind and helpful. She arranged a reservation for us at a wonderful restaurant, Il Galeone, on our first night and was happy to give us suggestions or directions whenever we asked. On our last day she presented us with a basket of assorted fresh fruit to select our breakfast from. When we asked about the lack of AC as described on the website Barbara was surprised and admitted she was not aware of what was listed on the website. We suspect these are things Caterina is aiming to add to her B&B in time but all features are not in place yet as Barbara told us the B&B had only been open 3-4 months when we were there in May 2009.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#511 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#480 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Trastevere
Locanda Carmel
Locanda Carmel
#624 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Relais Rome Sweet Home Trastevere
Trastevere
B&B Danilo Roma
B&B Danilo Roma
#334 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Trastevere
B&B Lost in Trastevere
B&B Lost in Trastevere
#660 of 3,734 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trastevere Relais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trastevere Relais

Property: Trastevere Relais
Address: Via di San Crisogono 32 | (Piazza Sidney Sonnino Trastevere), 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,684 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The B&B Trastevere Relais is in the very heart of the caratheristic area of Trastevere in Rome. The B&B Trastevere Relais is on the second floor of an ancient building of late ‘800. The property offers the comfort and the smartness of a five stars relais and is composed of five rooms: two double or twin bedded rooms, a single room with a confortable french bed, a suite with a rest room, a four bedded room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Trastevere Relais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing