We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A game of waiting...”
Review of da Robertino

da Robertino
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
da Robertino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7,313 of 12,268 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Monti
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A game of waiting...”
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

After hours of wandering around and unsuccessfully trying to get tables at well rated restaurants, we saw the 2011 tripadvisor sign on this restaurant door and went in.

The service as others have commented on was very average. We waited for out menus...waited to order...waited for our drinks & pastas and then the wait to pay the bill was verging on a joke!!

The food: the cheese & pepper pasta was very strong but good. Unfortunately my spaghetti bolognese was tasteless and watery. It was like they had unfrozen the meat sauce...

The bill: ok ?25 for 2 pastas and a bottle of sparkling water.

Helpful?
Thank Aly S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fioridizucca, Proprietario at da Robertino, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Hello. I wanted to tell you that you've waited a lot because it was on 31 December ... are really confusing days but usually our service is quick and attentive. Our bolognese tasteless? are you safe?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    212
    116
    106
    133
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

On our last day in Rome we were walking from theTrevi fountain to Termini and found this lovely restaurant. It was the best pasta we had during our stay, a little more expensive than the restaurants on the main tourist streets but definitely worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fioridizucca, Proprietario at da Robertino, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you!!!! your review gives me the strength to do more and better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to eat”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We ate here on our first night in Rome and were lucky we found the place. The staff were attentive. We both ordered different pasta dishes and both were well cooked and very tasty. We were served fresh bread. They were out of the wine we requested form the list (which happened in practically every restaurant we dined in whilst in Rome) but the waitress suggested a local wine which was cheaper and tasted excellent! We both had a tiramisu for dessert which packed a punch!
For Rome this was a reasonably priced restaurant, and the food served was a good match for the price charged.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janette59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fioridizucca, Proprietario at da Robertino, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for your nice review. You look to Rome to pamper them again. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiberias, Israel
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“restaurant in Rome”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We got to this restaurant when we found that the restaurant trip advisor recommended was closed on a Sunday. The outside seating was full, which was a shame, but there was a nice enough room inside that quickly filled up while we were there. We found the food very good, but the service was very slow. It was a Sunday and they may have had fewer people serving.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fioridizucca, Proprietario at da Robertino, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, the global crisis that lives the world, led us to have fewer staff. but thanks a lot for your nice words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average food, lovely restaurant”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stumbled upon this restaurant on our first day in Rome after wondering about for a few hours. The ambiance was nice, beautiful outdoor seating area. We ordered house wine, fiore romano (fried zucchini flower), tonnarelli cozze (clams), and tonnarelli cacio e peppe. The pasta were cooked well, though on the salty side (I can't eat too much salty food but that's my issue, not the restaurant's), my partner finished my dish for me. Tonnarelli cacio e peppe was just kinda plopped on the plate, no presentation to speak of. I thought the fiore romano was pretty good, too, until I tried it at other restaurants later on; Da Robertino's was just not crispy enough. The environment was good for our first meal in Rome, truly felt like a tourist, haha.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nomad_Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fioridizucca, Proprietario at da Robertino, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thanks for giving us the time and leaving your opinion on my restaurant. Write in a way your delicate irony, I wanted to tell you that for me the meaning of the words is very important, and then be a tourist restaurant is not an offense, then we are only 500m.from whereas the Colosseum I assure you that can only be a compliment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed da Robertino also viewed

 

Been to da Robertino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing