We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean and comfortable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mocenigo Vatican Suites
Ranked #519 of 3,621 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Convenient, clean and comfortable!”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed at Mocenigo Vatican Suites for 4 nights in the height of summer. The suites are located in an apartment building, which if you take the address with you, the local taxi drivers will find ok. On check in, the staff were friendly and helpful. We were a little shocked how small the rooms were but found this to be no problem. They are modern, well air conditioned, clean and had a fridge with free mineral water. The breakfast was served in the room, the 'Italian' breakfast was the best out of the two options for us as the 'English' choice was cold meats and cheese.
The location was fantastic. You literally walk out of the block and can see the Vatican. Plenty of places to eat but please avoid S.Anna (located just opposite the Vatican where the men in uniform are stood), they were a rip off and very sly. This is the only place we were ripped off.
Recommendations for food: Di Rienzo (outside the Pantheon).
Recommendations of places to visit: The Vatican (of course!)

As someone very fussy who reads far too many reviews before booking a hotel I would definately recommend the Mocenigo Vatican Suites as a superb base for sightseeing!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reviewerkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    50
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
96
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mons, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2010

This hotel has an ideal location, very close to the vatican and subway. It's very cosy and very clean. It's more that you have the feeling of beeing part of the city rather than an impersonal hotel room. Moreover, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpfull. Before the trip already, we had to cancel our reservation because of the volcanic ash from iceland. They immediatelly proposed us a set of new dates that could potentially please us, without any additional charges eventhough the very short notice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to have a pleasant, quiet, cultural city trip.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irving_mereau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2009

I stayed at the Mocenigo Vatican Suites from June 14-18, 2009 on a last minute stay in Rome for leasure. The property is centrally located, clean, comfortable, reasonable in price, and the staff very helpful and friendly. I did not feel I was in a hotel; it was more a guest house. I will go back to this property in September, 2009. Thank you TripAdvisor for posting this property!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank queleponis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Staff were supportive, friendly and available around the clock - provided helpful hints and some insider knowledge to the city - our first trip to Rome. A perfect welcome, for an after hours check-in. Location is wonderful to get to the Metro or access other transport networks (10 Euro to Termini by cab) & near spitting distance to the steps of the Vatican Museum was ideal for that portion of the sightseeing. No place in Rome can position you close to "everything" but the Suites allowed us to maneuver quite easily to get to sites. We didn't spend a great deal of time in the room (not the point of the trip) but it was always a welcomed retreat after pounding the Roman pavement. Clean, comfortable, and fully equipped with bathroom amenities (including razor) was a perfect touch. Despite no in-house F&B, the partnership for guest breakfasts with neighbouring Candia Bar allowed us to feel "local" and had great staff and food - but maybe the future they will provide the same offer but served in the room. Many restaurants and grocery shops in the area also provided flexibility for dining out or eating in. Would further recommend Adami Restaurant on Viale Giulio Cesare (a few blocks from the hotel) for good food, friendly staff, and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We stayed here the night of 5/26/09. As others mentioned, the pictures originally shown on the website do not actually exist in this hotel at all. However, the pictures that have been updated since I booked our room in April are accurate. My husband and I visited Rome, Florence and Pisa while in Italy and I have to say that this hotel was by far the most pleasant of them all. The rooms are very nice and exceptionally clean, the bathroom/shower a decent size for European standards and the location is excellent. The rooms are small by American standards, but very large compared to the other hotels we stayed at in Italy. The free wifi internet access was definitely a plus, we were unable to find this anywhere else in Italy during our stay. As others also mentioned, the breakfast that is included is from a cafe down the street, and the walls are a bit thin where you can hear what's going on in the reception, but not enough to be bothersome to us. You are given a key to your room as well as the front entrance, so you can come and go as you please. Also, you are able to control your own air conditioning (and it's central air too), another bonus not found in many other affordable hotels in Italy. At the reception, Maurizio was very kind and helpful, and he spoke excellent English. He provided a map and gave us a lot of useful information about the area. They can arrange tickets/tours for you (though we had already done this in advance), and they also offer a shuttle service to/from both airports. Considering the cost of taxis there, if you prefer not to take the bus or the subway and reduce the amount of time you use on transportation, I would definitely recommend opting to use their shuttle service. We thought we could find a taxi to barter the price with, but were unsuccessful. We ended up taking a bus to the Termini, then the subway to a stop close to the hotel. This took quite a long time (though was much cheaper), and next time around I will certainly opt for their shuttle service instead, it's worth the cost. All in all, our experience at this hotel was fabulous and I will definitely stay here again the next time we visit Rome. Thank you Maurizio, for a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZ_worldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2009

Indeed the pictures on the website are way off - the rooms are nothing like the pictures on their website!!!! But now I'm here and they changed the pictures since I have arrived. It still gives a sense of misleading!!!!

They try to make up for their wrongdoings but why advertise what you don't (yet) deliver?

On their website still there are pictures of a breakfast tray - when I booked this hotel I loved the idea that breakfast would be served in the room. And there is plenty of staff - but: no breakfast. The idea was that you would go to a cafe (with a paper with on it a stamp of the hotel) and get your breakfast yourself - further down the street. When I asked about it they said: 'we had some problems with that service'. What kind of problems makes the entire service go away? I was disappointed and they arranged with the cafe that someone brings it over. It is not exactly the breakfast as advertised, but at least I can wear my pyjama.

It says on the site that every room has facilities to make your own coffee and thee, so I did not bring my own electric biglietti only to find that I have to go to the reception and ask for another cup of coffee.

The floor is stone all the way true the reception and the room. I can hear everything that is said and done by the reception. And I'm pretty sure it is vice versa - when I asked if he could hear me in my room, the guy at the reception said: 'No, I don't listen to that'. This hearing problem is really offsetting and I find myself either turning up my Ipod-speakers or opening the window to let the street noice take over, but of course desired is different.

All in all I think they really want to be that great hotel, but they portray that they already are that great hotel...

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 28steHippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2009

As commented by another guest who stayed at this property, the pictures on the website are not their own rooms! I worked within the hotel industry for 10 years and not once have I turn up at a hotel to find out that the rooms that are advertised on their website are from 'other hotels' this is completely false advertisement, I spoke to the manager who I have to say dealt with my complaint very well, he explained that the pictures on the website are from other hotels and this is what they would like their future B&B to look like, although this is not stated on their website, I was outraged and with this was given a discount.
The manager checked up on us many times to see if everything was ok with our stay, as we had such a bad experience when we arrived.
The rooms are clean and comfortable, anyone who does not like a firm bed I do not recommend staying here.
I understand that they have only been open for a few months although the room did not have certain things like a mini fridge, glasses in the bathroom, irons and ironing boards, tea and coffee facilities, there are also not blankets or duvets on the bed - just a sheet and thin bedspread cover.
The housekeeper was lovely and her standards were very good.
The location is very close to the Vatican City - only about a 10min walk which is wonderful.
Breakfast is included although is provided in a cafe across the road, it includes a coffee, oj and a pastry - the cafe staff are very friendly.
Although we had a bad experience to begin with we enjoyed our stay and would stay again if I could get a rate from £85-£95 per night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chippy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Spring House
0.0 mi away
RomAnticaRoma
RomAnticaRoma
#487 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saint Peter Inn B&B
Saint Peter Inn B&B
#362 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alba sul Vaticano
Alba sul Vaticano
#236 of 3,621 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Laocoonte
B&B Laocoonte
#385 of 3,621 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Piazzetta al Vaticano
B&B Piazzetta al Vaticano
#221 of 3,621 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mocenigo Vatican Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mocenigo Vatican Suites

Property: Mocenigo Vatican Suites
Address: Via Mocenigo 16, 00192 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #519 of 3,621 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mocenigo Vatican Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Rome, the cradle of Western Civilisation and home to the Vatican City, choose a comfortable, relaxing guest house retreat that offers style, prestige and luxury whilst complementing the unique holy ambience found in the Eternal City. At the Mocenigo Vatican Suites Rome guests enjoy high-quality services and modern amenities located close to the most sought after monuments and a guest house in Rome boasting a multitude of sophisticated characteristics that other hotels in Rome are unable to match. The Mocenigo Vatican Suites Rome is your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Mocenigo Vatican Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mocenigo Vatican Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing