We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Guided Tour of Rome, Italy”

Rudy's Touring Service - Driving & Walking Tours
Ranked #20 of 802 Tours in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rudy is a driver/guide based in Rome.Rudy gives tours from the city of Rome as well as from the ports of Civitavecchia (Rome and surroundings), Naples (Amalfi Coast and Pompeii), Livorno (Florence and Tuscany).Rudy has a diploma in art and is also a fully licensed guide of Rome.He is also fully licensed to take people on excursions, shore excursions and trips anywhere.He has a great team of driver/guide.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Private Guided Tour of Rome, Italy”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

There is not a better way to see all of the sites of Rome than to use a private driver and tour guide. We chose Rudy to be our private driver and tour guide because he actually has an offical tour guide license, where most private drivers do not have a tour guide license. He knew how to get you to every major site in the most convienent way. Rudy was very knowledgeable on every major historical site in Rome. He gave us a personalized tour of the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's, and it was very nice to not be in a large tour group. Rudy will do anything you request and will even make lunch reservations for you, as he did for us. The little bit of extra money to hire a private driver and tour guide is well worth it, and it is not that expensive if you have 4 people. If you are looking for convenience and friendly personalized service then Rudy is who you need to contact.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 422ShawnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    779
    10
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rudy (and all his peeps) = the BEST!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The family was on a cruise around Italy last summer and for each of 3 stops Rudy organized our guides. We had Rudy himself for Rome. He is great to work with and communicative during the planning phase. During the actual tours, he and his people are all great. They are knowledgeable, well spoken, humorous, everything you could want. They give good tours and don't waste your time or money on unnecessary things. For instance, at the Colosseum, Rudy told us to walk around the building rather than wait on the huge line for tickets to go inside. He was right. I've been inside before on prior trips but had never walked around it. It's actually much more impressive from the outside. His associate guides for Florence and Naples were also great. He booked an archaeologist to give us a tour of Pompeii. Prices: very reasonable. You can give his guides a big tip to show your appreciation and still feel like you got a good deal!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rome Motor Tour, Umbria and Assisi Day Tour--Rudi is FANTASTIC!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Rudy provided 2 1/2 wonderful days of private tours in Rome for me and Mary Jo Mackey Iannelli 3/18--3/20/13. We started off with the Vatican Museum/Sistene Chapel tour, led by Azura. She was extremely knowledgeable and provided the perfect commentary and background for the art and architecture we saw. Her English was totally understandable, and even though our tour went long, and St. Peter's Basilica had closed, she stayed late to explain St. Peter's from the outside. Bellissima!

Tuesday, Ruday met us promptly at our hotel for our "Rome in a Day" motor tour. Since this was the day of Pope Francis' installation, he accommodated Mary Jo's last minute desire to attend the mass. Using his connections with the police, he was able to drive us to within a few blocks of St. Peter's Square, then graciously accepted Mary Jo's change of mind to not attend. He tailored our days--allowing us to set the pace and dictate the content, while explaining our options along the way.

Next, I will comment on his ability to navigate the narrow back streets of Rome--very important on that day, since many streets were blocked off for the Pope's installation. His vehicle was spotless, and I never felt in danger, even with the scooters cutting in and out of traffic. Since Mary Jo and I were "walked out" by the time we got to Rome, his tour style of driving to the site, describing what we were seeing, then dropping us off at just the right location--minimizing down time and walking--was just what this doctor ordered. We got to visit all the ancient and modern sites, in just one day--then he finished by taking us through St. Peter's, since it was closed the day before. Talk about taking care of your customers!!

The next day he took us on a tour of Umbria, visiting Orvieto and Assisi. The winery tour he arranged for us at Decugnano Dei Barbi in Orvieto was spectacular. Learning about wine making, followed by wine tasting and lunch--FANTASTICO!

Everywhere we went, he provided stories, both historical and present day, that helped us understand what we were seeing. His language skills are excellent (Italian, English and Spanish), and his status as both a licensed Rome tour guide AND driver, puts him at the front of the line.

Mille grazie, Rudi for making our time in Rome so special. We will certainly contact you when we plan our next trip!

Grant and Mary Jo Iannelli

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Grant I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent family experience!”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We had an excellent full day tour of Rome!
Rudy helped us plan our trip before arriving to Rome, from airport pick to a full day historical tour with and excellent stop for lunch.

The day was packed with a full tour of the Vatican and a complete tour of imperial Rome. Rudy focused on the must see attractions and provided all the small key details so that we could get the most of put time and our experience! It was like like taking a hands on history class of Rome in one day!

Thank you Rudy, we had a wonderful time!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Sabino was the absolute BEST!!! Great Service!!! Knowledgable Guides!!!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My family and I used Rudy's Touring Service and did not regret that decision at all!!! This was a great start to our vacation cruise. From the beginning Rudy was very responsive to all our questions prior to arrival. Our tour guide, Sabino, was the best of the best. He was very knowledgable, professional, and friendly. In our group, we had children between the ages of 10-15 and Sabino was able to keep them interested and entertained. And how could I forget about the restaurant near the Vatican. That food was unbelievable!! You will not regret booking this tour. They were well worth the money. Ciao and thank you so much Rudy and Sabino!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kfev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Touring Service - Driving & Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Touring Service - Driving & Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing