We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frank's House feels just like home”
Review of Frank's House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Frank's House
Ranked #573 of 3,742 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Frank's House is one B&B that offers more than just a bed and breakfast. It's a quaint, private and comfortable space that feels just like home. Located near the lively Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II, Frank's House emits an energy that's the perfect balance of old and new. It's a well-planned space whose design reflects the best of Rome-- an eternal city with modernity infused into the cracks. The friendly and helpful staff of one (Frank) guided my friend and I to our room to make sure we settled in just right. Everything was extremely clean and welcoming. We slept peacefully in a plush, warm bed, read up on what to do in Rome using the collection of books and magazines Frank provided in the rooms and when we woke, we didn't have to go far for something to eat or to catch the Metro. Within the neighborhood are many international and authentic Italian restaurants and shops. Termini Station is also less than a 5-minute walk away so you can easily catch a bus or train wherever you need to in and around Rome without having to worry about expensive taxi charges. Whenever I need a place to stay in Rome, My first choice will always be Frank's House.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KendraElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 219 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2010

Frank was so welcoming and helpful. He made us feel really at home and gave us lots of tips on where to eat and go (even made reservations for us)

Couldn't recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbpetkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Rome is very expensive and accommodation is not always great value here compared to other places. Franks place was a bargain in comparison to other places!

Frank himself was away when we visited, but he had organised somebody to let us in, show us what was where and gave us chance to ask any questions before she left. Sarah was very friendly and helpful.

We stayed for four nights and although we heard whoever was in the other room come and go, we were uninterrupted by anyone for our whole stay, which was lovely. That also meant that the room or our bathroom didn't get cleaned while we were there, but as grown ups, we are very capable of taking care of such things ourselves. If you are the kind of person who needs a lot of looking after or special treatment, maybe this wouldn't be the place for you, but if you are capable of taking care of yourself and independent, you'll love it here.

The place is easy to find, about a ten minute walk from Termini and in a very diverse neighbourhood. If you cross over the road from Termini and go down Via Gioberti and head towards the massive church (Santa maria Maggiore) and turn left along any of those roads, you'll end up facing the large square at Vittorio. Franks is at the left hand opposite corner, number 11 on Via Lamamora. We walked all the different routes there are, and that is the easiest way to get there.

The room we had was a decent size, great bedding, a decent sized wardrobe with coat hangers and shelf space, a decent full length mirror, couple of accessible plug sockets and a window that opened out into the inner quadrant and facing out into other peoples shutters and windows. One of the neighbours loves old Jazz and it was quite nice to sit with the window open in the evening and listen to the chatter, music and general ambiance of Italian life. The bathroom was just out of the room but solely for our use and was nicely done.

The flat it a fair distance from the historical centre, but it is within walking distance, or there is a red metro line stop in the square (just around the corner) or termini is within short walking distance to find buses, metro or trams to every corner of the city.

All in all, a great experience in a reasonably good position to reach wherever you want to go, great value for Rome and free wifi thrown in which is a great bonus.

Would definitely recomend and would stay here again when visiting Rome.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binniecambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

My husband and I stay at Frank house for about 3 days. The apt it is very clean, very modern and Frank hospitality is amazing! He gave us such a good tips to eat around (best Breakfast place) and just about Rome was perfect! I love it Frank and will definitely will go back to your place!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcottin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Frank's House was perfect for my stay in Rome. I was traveling with my mom and we wanted something clean and affordable. Not only did we get that, but we got Frank too! He was so helpful in giving us useful information to get around Rome, both touristy and not. The area has easy access to Termini station and public transportation to city center where all the big sites are. Plus there were some amazing coffee bars and pastry shops around the corner, which of course we frequented. Frank's House has two rooms, one larger with a bathroom and one smaller with use of a hallway bathroom. Both options were great. Next time I'm in Rome, I'm staying here!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

We stayed here for four nights in early June as part of a two week trip to Europe. We had arranged our arrival time with Frank prior. He was waiting for us when we arrived and showed us to our room. Frank's is an apartment with two rooms- one with a private bathroom (which is what we had) and one with a bathroom located in the main hallway. Our room was very spacious with a very nice, modern bathroom. The bed was comfortable and we had a beautiful terrace with flowers.

The location is also good. You are within walking distance to the Colleseum and the Metro and bus stop is within a block or two from the hotel. It didn't take long to get anywhere in the city. We purchased Roma Passes when we arrived at the train station, and it was very easy to take the public transportation everywhere.

Frank was very helpful with showing us the lay of the city, recommending places, etc. He was also able to get us a driver to the airport on the day of our departure for a 6am flight. This was incredibly helpful.

The room we had did have ac, which was very nice because it was very hot in Rome. The building also has an elevator, so we didnt have to take four flights of stairs each time we came or went. The bathroom had a hairdryer, which was very convenient.

We would stay here again and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooklyn24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

Frank's was our first stop once we arrived to Rome from New York City. Frank sent us an email the morning of our stay while were on the plane en route to confirm our stay, which we obviously didn't check. As a result, Frank wasn't expecting us so he didn't hear us knocking. Thankfully, his nice neighbor called him on his mobile phone, and we got in to the place. Frank gave our room away, but lucky for us, the second smaller room was still available. Frank was very apologetic and nice. The room and place was perfect for us, very modern and airy, private and in a convenient location right off the metro and near Termini Station. For the price, it provides decent value during the high season and I would definitely recommend it to any my friends.

Just one piece of advice, if you stay here, be proactive and contact Frank yourself a day or 2 before your stay to confirm your travel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeeter73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#467 of 1,271 in Rome
299 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
6,962 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#111 of 1,271 in Rome
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Domidea Hotel
#224 of 1,271 in Rome
665 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#349 of 1,271 in Rome
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frank's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frank's House

Address: Via Lamarmora 11 | Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #573 of 3,742 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $65 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Frank's House is conveniently located in the heart of 18th Century Rome, right off the corner of one of Rome's main plazas, Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II. It's just a 5 minute walk from the central Train Station Termini, and the famed Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore, and just a 15 minute passeggiata to the Roman Forum and Colosseum.The multi-ethnic neighborhood of Esquilino, in which it is located, is rich in both diversity and vibrant city life. Nearby mass transit stops, including the Metro and numerous bus and light-rail links, also make it an ideal and easy location to base your Roman Holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Frank's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing