We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rare Gem in the very heart of Rome - Head and Shoulders above the rest!!”
Review of Mario de' Fiori 37

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mario de' Fiori 37
Ranked #23 of 1,261 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A Rare Gem in the very heart of Rome - Head and Shoulders above the rest!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I honestly do not know where to begin and if I can give sufficient credit to the incredibly professional, courteous and efficient staff at the Mario de' Fiori 37, starting from the manager, Mr. Assem, and up to the housekeeping crew. Before addressing the staff, although they really set this establishment apart from the rest, I will talk about the hotel itself. Location could not be better - you are in the very midst of the heart of Rome, seconds from the Spanish Steps, minutes to the Pantheon, Navona, and Trevi Fountain, and just about every important piazza and street. The most exclusive shops are at your doorstep as well as an array of restaurants and eateries plus a pharmacy and a supermarket. Could you ask for more? The suites are impeccably clean, spacious, elegantly furnished and decorated, and equipped with all possible amenities that you could ask for, including a Nespresso machine with a wide selection of aromas that are replenished daily; not to mention a bucket of cold still and frizzy water in the lobby welcoming you in after walking the hot streets of Rome. The bathroom is of a good size and the toiletries are replenished daily and in handsome quantities. A contiental breakfast is included in the rate. Now, moving to the staff - and I will elaborate here to try to bring home how wonderful they are. We were originally staying at a great hotel but the location was not very good to my elderly mother and so we were roaming the streets of Rome late at night trying to find a more convenient location. We were so lucky to have stumbled across the Mario de' Fiori very late at night and were courteously and warmly greeted by Mr. Assem at their sister establishment Babuino 181. As the Mario De' Fiori is not manned at night, he asked his very polite and friendly assitant, Bernard, to escort us to one of the suites at the Babuino to give us an idea of what the rooms look like. We were impressed by the suite and more so by the reception we got from Mr. Assem and Bernard and decided to immediately book at the Mario De' Fiori. The following morning, and as we had not checked out yet of the original hotel, my husband and I took my mother to the Mario to see the rooms. After the tour, and despite the fact that we had already booked a particular room the night before, my mother liked a different one and the Mario staff were ever so kind and patient to let us change the booking. Not only did they do that, but it was the way in which they did it. They allowed us yet a second tour, and this time, the ever so professional Michela, who is a real gem, in a very elegant manner excused herself from the room to give us the freedom to decide in private. Simply wonderful! The room came with an extra sofa bed for my elderly mother but after the first two nights, she felt that her back hurt as the mattress was not too comfortable, and so she joined me and my husband on the king bed. We did not mention it to the staff as we felt they were really going out of their way to help. Despite that, my mother found that the entire sofa bed with the mattress were changed the following morning. How? The housekeeping crew noticed that she had not slept in the sofa bed the night before and gathered that she was not comfortable!! You would never find this at a big chain five star hotel and believe me, we are frequent travellers and stay mostly at five star hotels, but as Mr. Assem and the rest of the staff insist, the human touch and the personal relationship they establish with their clients is what matters most to them. They proved once and again that these are not just empty words. Just to show you how great they are, we had ordered lenses from Salzburg to be delivered to us in Rome but had given the old hotel address. Until the day of our departure, the lenses had not reached the old hotel. Superb Michela tracked down the shipment, located it at the Italian National Post and we reached an agreement with her and Mr. Assem for them to follow up with our original hotel, pick up the shipment upon arrival and fedex it to us in Nice, which was our next destination. Again, superb. They did pick it up, fedex it to us, and called us on our cell phone in Nice to update us on all the developments. Had it not been for them, we would have lost the lenses as shipment to our home destination would have been problematic and most probably impossible. We cannot thank the staff enough. So our gratitude and appreciation to the consummate professional and real gentleman Mr. Assem who sets the example to his staff, the great Michela, the wonderful Theodora who was extremely gracious and generous, full of helpful tips on where to eat, shop, have fun, and ensuring that our stay was as enjoyable as possible. Our thanks also goes to Marianna whom we did not get a chance to know as well as the others because she was on vacation during the majority of our stay, but who proved during our brief interactions to be very polite, professional and helpful. A big thanks also to housekeeping and to each and every person at Mario De' Fiori 37 for making us feel quite at home. We feel that we got to make new friends and not just stayed at a lovely hotel. When next in Rome, there is no shred of doubt in our minds that this is where we will be staying. We just hope that with their great service, they would not be fully booked for us to find a room there. We have already started recommending the hotel to our friends. What a real gem!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Shakers_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    110
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
82
317
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here for an overnight during our Italian vacation. We were only in Rome for a bit over 24 hours so this hotel was a great location. We arrived early, and we knew check in time was not until the afternoon but they were finishing up cleaning the room and said it would be ready in an hour! They provided a local restaurant for breakfast while we waited for the room to be cleaned.

We stayed in the roof top suite which is nicely layed out and big! It had a beautiful bathroom, comfortable bed, and plenty of closet space. We also had a good wi-fi connection.

We did have breakfast delivered to the room which was pricey but honestly it was equal to the price we paid at restaurant the day before and was food was good. There is a Nespresso machine in room, if you just need a morning coffee and then head out to the many local near-by cafes.

On to location! This hotel is conveniently located only about 2 blocks from the Spanish Steps. We walked all around to the Trevi Fountain, the major shopping avenues, and many, many piazzas! Rome can be a bit confusing with so may intertwining streets but we did a decent job! I think if we stayed longer we would have been pros!

Since we were only in Rome for a short for time. We woke up early and taxi'd to the Vatican and then to the Colosseum/Roman Forum. It saved us alot of time and we saw sites along the way!

One fun thing we did was take a horse and carriage ride located by the Spanish Steps. We did this on a whim at midnight and it was really cool to see Rome when it starts to "quiet down" We also saw more sites like the Pantheon and Piazza Nuovo. But like many European cities there are still many people out enjoying the sites and local cafes!

If you are looking for more of a boutique hotel, with friendly staff, and a good location, I would not hesitate to book!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cma5110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in July, and loved everything about the hotel. The location was perfect - one block from the Spanish steps, very close to the Metro, walking distance to both the Colosseum and The Vatican. It is surrounded by chic restaurants and shops, yet once you pass through the doors it's incredibly quiet and peaceful. The staff was very helpful from the moment I emailed them to book. They arranged a fantastic car service to pick us up from the train station on arrival and take us to the airport on departure.
The room - suite 3 on the second floor - was just lovely. It was very thoughtfully laid out, with hooks by the front door to hang your purse and umbrella, and small shelf to drop your keys. The bathroom was beautiful, the bed was extremely comfortable with beautiful linens, there was a fantastic walk in closet area with good storage and an espresso machine. The free wifi actually worked perfectly (not true everywhere we went). The whole hotel (while small) was spotlessly clean and very stylish. It had very strong air conditioning in the middle of July. It should not be listed under Bed and Breakfast as they don't serve breakfast, but when you're in the middle of Rome, there one million options and it's more fun to try something different every day anyway. I will return here whenever I come back to Rome, and recommend it to all of my friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Becky2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The hotel was sold as "Rome Luxury Suites". Our room was neither luxurious, nor a suite. We had the 1st room on the left on the 1st floor. Housekeeping was a poor standard, dirty coffee maker, dust and stones from the ceiling on the canopy over the bed, poorly vacuumed floor... Maintenance was poor - the large picture behind the bed was peeling off. IKEA form pillows and bedding. WiFi was poor or non existent. At 100 euro a night B&B for the room, we'd go back - Anything more and you're over paying. We booked through Mr & Mrs Smith - who were responsive to our complaints and apparently the owner has addressed these issues since our stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank premierneige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeLuxurySuites, Proprietario at Mario de' Fiori 37, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review on Mario de' Fiori. I would like to offer my sincere apologies that the room was not in perfect condition during your stay - it appears you were with us during a time of some maintenance at the hotel. Our Frette Bedding and our WiFi service are two of the amenities our guests most enjoy, so I hope you discussed any issues with our concierge while you were here. We have two other properties, Babuino 181 and Margutta 54, so please offer us the chance to demonstrate our normally high level of service on your next visit to Rome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at this wonderful hotel in June 2011. From the moment we arrived we knew we had chosen well. Attentive and helful staff helped us whenever we asked - they all spoke great English and had a can do attitude.. The room was really well thought out - a great blend of period (beams and shutters) and modern (trendy bathroom, flat TV, free wireless) with great things like a separata toilet, Nesspresso coffee maker etc.

The hotel is really well located with loads of cafes and restaurants within 100m. There are some great leather and shoe shops on the adjacent street and Spanish steps only 2 min away.

This will be the place we will always return to when in Rome.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubaiexpattraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Our hotel room was lovely, small, but well appointed and comfortable. The staff was very helpful making recommendations for restaurants and logistics. It was a perfect location -- just a few blocks from the Spanish Steps, yet it was quiet. We were able to walk everywhere. Overall, a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PelagicBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We spent in this hotel a few days during our trip to Rome. The main plus of this hotel - it was his place. It is great place - near the Spanish Steps, the main shopping streets, many restaurants and cafes, the main attractions of Rome within walking distance. The hotel arranged our transfer from the airport - thanks! We all liked it, we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jolochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,261 in Rome
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
Hotel Scalinata di Spagna
#55 of 1,261 in Rome
378 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,261 in Rome
724 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mario de' Fiori 37? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mario de' Fiori 37

Property: Mario de' Fiori 37
Address: Via Mario De' Fiori 37/b, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#99 Business Hotel in Rome
#155 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mario de' Fiori 37 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your cozy home in the heart of the city Walk through the door of this charming, 17th century townhouse and leave the tourist hustle and bustle behind. From the thoughtful touches to personalized recommendations, every aspect of your stay at Mario de' Fiori 37 reminds you that this is your home in Rome... One that's just a block from the Spanish Steps. With seven total rooms, your stay couldn't be more discreet in our luxury boutique hotel in the heart of Rome. Meanwhile, our helpful, attentive staff greets you like old friends and caters to your every wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Mario de' Fiori 37 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mario De` Fiori 37 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing