We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location......................not so great room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Santi Quattro al Colosseo
Ranked #744 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location......................not so great room!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I'm really not sure if the other reviewers stayed at the same B&B that I did! Location cannot be faulted.....open the window and look straight down the street to the Colosseum, amazing. Service was fantastic too......nothing was too much trouble for either Fabrizio or his staff of 2! The room however, that was a different story altogether. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the linen spotlessly clean, if a little old. The rest of the room though was dirty and in dire need of a good clean! Bedroom door didn't shut properly, there was a gap all the way down the middle between the two doors, which meant that the noise that our neighbours made when returning in the early hours of the morning came straight into our room. There is also a glass panel above the bedroom doors; again, if your neighbours leave the hallway light on when they come in, it wakes you up!! Street noise is very loud, and as the windows are single glazed, you hear everything from outside and this street has a lot of restaurants and bars! Don't think it is particularly good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BritInItaly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    64
    16
    6
    12
See reviews for
56
78
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Good service, ok Bed & Breakfast. Very good location only a block from Colloseum, and walking distance to Forum Romanum, Pantheon, Trevi Fontain, Spanish Steps, etc. Air condition and free wifi. Good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ragnar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom apt for 5 nights with two teenagers. Did not opt for breakfast as we wanted to try breakfast at different restaurants. There is no 24 hour service like a hotel but we called when we were at station and we waited for two mins and a lady came to give us keys. No problem And did not ask for money in advance. Rooms are good but ask for more pillows in advance. Aldo ask to provide clean towels every two days. Bathrooms were good with good shower. Bring your own shampoo of soap as they are not replenished regularly. The rooms are made everyday so that is good. Very close to taxi, colsse metro. Overall a good stay big gong expect like a hotel service. Will go back again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bana-Kuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at B&B Santi Quoatro for the third time on 23June 2013. The reason for our stay was just for an overnight before we went on a cruise. Again we had the warmest of welcome by Fabrice. We booked an apartment, but when we checked in we were given two separate rooms with en suite bathrooms. We are a family of four, two adults and two teenagers. The rooms were fine, with the most beautiful view over the Colosseum just down the street. Both rooms were comfortable and the bathrooms had showers. The B&B is really close to the Metro, only a few minutes away, and the taxi area is also just a few minutes away by foot. We were served breakfast, lovely friendly atmosphere. Will we stay here again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackspaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the B&B Santi Quattro al Colosseo in early June of 2013. The room was big, comfortable and when we put our heads out the window and looked to the right, we could see the Colosseum! The B&B Santi Quattro al Colosseo is ideally located and the room was quiet. Not only is the Colosseum just a five minute walk, the forum and the Palatine hill is right there. And it is maybe a 20 or so minute walk to the Pantheon. A walk you should do at night because the lighting is so beautiful. There are plenty of buses and a couple streetcars if you choose not to walk. Very convenient.

Right next door is a small Carrefour mini-supermarket if you need to pick up something. Around the corner is a fine enoteca, whose name unfortunately escapes me, and the proprietors of this B&B own a fabulous little restaurant/trattoria named Il Bocconcino right past this enoteca.

The owners of the B&B Santi Quattro al Colosseo Fabrizio e Tiziana are generally nice, sincere, professional, and helpful people. You will have to contact them to get keys to the outside door, to the B&B door upstairs, and the key to your room. It is really like having your own apartment right in the heart of Rome, literally steps away from the Colosseum. And the cost was very reasonable.

As I said, the owners Fabrizio and Tiziana are very nice and helpful people. And when we were leaving for the train station by taxi, Fabrizio gave me his cell phone number and told me to call if the taxi driver tried to cheat me. Nice touch!

I gave it a five-star rating even though it is not a fancy place, but is it is an excellent B&B. It is clean, friendly, and fun, but no fancy amenities. My kind of place and I certainly will wish to stay there again should I get back to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_Stainthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having read the reviews on here regarding access to the property I emailed Tiziana and she organised transportation from the airport which worked reallly well and ensured we didn't miss a minute of our time in Rome. The mini bus was 15 euros each but worth every penny (the driver was holding a name board). Fabrizio was there to welcome us and show us around our apartment, he also spent time going through a tour map and explaining that we could walk everywhere and should not spend money on transport.

The apartment was in a residential block, there were football boots outside one apartment on a window ledge! The room was a quadruple with a single room with en suite and a further room with double bed and small single and a further bathroom.

Breakfast was taken further down the road and was a good continental with superb cappuccino. Fabrizio asked every morning if we needed anything and requests were acted upon immediately. would definately go back.

The restaurant belonging to Fabrizio seved amazing food and was right next to our apartment block it was always busy compared to the other restaurants in the area. The menu is in Italian but is explained beautifully by the waiting staff, I would highly recommend.

See you again Fabrizio I will return as I threw my coin in the trevi fountain and would not stay anywhere else.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashkent
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

As previous reviewers have mentioned, you'll want to know what you are getting into with this place. There's no front desk, you need to call them to tell them when you'll be there, and there are no services: if you want to print out boarding passes, you'll need to pay at an internet point conveniently located directly below the apartment we stayed in.
Breakfast was fine if modest--just a few sticky croissants, some lunchmeat, coffee tea or hot chocolate. But they were friendly and everything was good.

The bad:
our very spacious apartment was a bit battered and on the shabby side.
You had to walk up two flights of very steep stairs.
No business center
No toiletries except for single large bottle of liquid soap in each bathroom.
I was a bit suspicious of the "credit card machine being broken" so we had to pay in cash. Suspect this is a tax evasion scam.
Was surprised not to be asked for any identification at all, suspect that's not strictly legal.

The good:
The location is amazing. You can see the Colisseum from the street and maybe from some rooms.
Fabrizio is a totally fun roguish Italian guy, and he responded right away when we finally figured out we needed to call him to get let into the place; this was our fault for not reading our booking information correctly.
The cafe directly under the apartment is really nice, and there are many, many restaurants in the immediate area, not to mention all the ancient Roman sites.
The internet point made up for not having access to a printer.
WiFi was free and worked great.
Apartment was very, very large, with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living room and eat-in kitchen. You could enjoy really settling in if you didn't demand utterly spiffiness.
And it was very clean.

I gave them an average for service: what service there was was cheerful and great--but you are not going to have a doorman, concierge, or full time information desk or business center.

For families: the plus is you have a ton of space and a full size fridge and are near everything. Minus is the stairs and the lack of amenities.
I agree with most of these reviews--this place could be for you if you know what you are getting into.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Hotel Royal House
Hotel Royal House
#706 of 1,256 in Rome
136 reviews
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#656 of 1,256 in Rome
58 reviews
Monti
Parco di Nerone
Parco di Nerone
#550 of 3,643 in Rome
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
B&B Second Floor
B&B Second Floor
#526 of 3,643 in Rome
192 reviews
Monti
No 9 Colosseo Luxury Suites
No 9 Colosseo Luxury Suites
#2,561 of 3,643 in Rome
19 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa 4 Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Santi Quattro al Colosseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Santi Quattro al Colosseo

Property: B&B Santi Quattro al Colosseo
Address: Santi Qattro 64, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #744 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B&B Santi Quattro al Colosseo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your B&B Santi Quattro al Colosseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Santi Quattro Al Colosseo Hotel Rome
Bed And Breakfast Santi Quattro Al Colosseo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing