We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic end to a fantastic trip”
Review of Taverna Varrone

Taverna Varrone
Ranked #659 of 12,367 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Prati
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic end to a fantastic trip”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

My sister and I dined here after reading reviews on TripAdvisor. It was to be our last night in Italy and we wanted to have a more sumptuous meal to celebrate. The waitress (presumably the daughter of the owner) was extremely friendly and explained each dish to us. Throughout the course of the meal we asked for the menu several times to order more food and each time she was pleasant and polite and always had recommendations ready.

The food was really really good, especially the mixed seafood platter we ordered. i also particularly enjoyed the egg square noodle pasta with fish. The sauce was excellent.

All in all, excellent food coupled with excellent service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tabitha t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    81
    36
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scottsdale, az
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Delightful Dinner!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

On our first night in Rome, our hotel suggested Taverna Varrone. From the second we appeared on the stairwell, Taverna Varrone treated us like they treat their neighbors. We were invited in, sat down at a table of our choosing and immediately asked what we'd like to drink. Along came a Lemon soda for my son and a carafe of Vino Rosso for me. It was heaven. The pizza was perfect; spicy Italian sausage, and my plate of meats and cheeses was delicious. The Limoncello was amazing, as was the gelato. In fact, I noticed the owner GIVING a large bottle of limoncello to a foreign visitor who stopped by while we were eating.... obviously the couple had dined at the restaurant several times over the past week and the owner insisted that the woman take the bottle...no money was exchanged; it was lovely to witness. This place is 5 minutes from the Vatican and this part of town is peaceful and lovely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We kept coming back for more”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were staying just around the corner from Taverna Varrone for 11 days and ate there almost every day. Like others have commented the food was simple but very good.
We had the spaghetti and clams about 5 time between us. I guess we keep going to a good place once we find it and after a day of running around Rome you don't want to deal with a new place that you may not like. I can't think of a thing that we tried and did not enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ehrlichdieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Family run with father and daughter the face of the restaurant . Meals are simple and flavoursome;and of a good size. Their pizzas could easily be shared between two. They are of a thin base and topped quite generously.
After three weeks in Turkey, I appreciated their beef steak at 14 euros. But as for most of their meals you need to order sides.
The complimentary limoncello was delightful .
Basically, well done

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeriatricJypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Simple but good”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Found totally by accident when strolling Via Cola di Rienzo on the way from Castroni (delicacy shop, must see!). Simple place, lots of locals, good wine.. That's what I like! If you are in just for a quickie, try the vegetable soup. If you want pizza, you must wait for the evening. Service is fine, the waiter was really patient with us (we had lot to ask) and also brought us sample of wine (be aware, that jug of red house-wine is twice as expensive as white)!
All in all, I am really glad we found Varrone, location makes this place worth visiting when being around Vatican.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Varrone also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Varrone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing