We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate Hotel”
Review of Hotel Midi Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Midi Rome
Ranked #1,124 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel itself is a decent enough location, 10-15min walk from Termini, main station where coaches drop off from airports. 15-20min walk to the Coliseum. There were plenty of places to eat around the area

Hotel itself is very basic, and outdated. There was a lot of damp on the walls in the bathroom, shower tray fills up when showering but doesn’t overflow.

The walls of the rooms are thin! We were able to hear next door coughing and talking really loudly on the phone past midnight. One of the lamps on my side of the bed was not working, overall was a roof over our head.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Midi Rome
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 88 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the building on the right of the hotel Midi.
The hotel room was quite new, the air conditioner worked so well. There was also a hair dryer, not new but it worked anyways.
The bathroom was clean and was equiped with a lot of towels.
However there are 3 points that i dont like much.
First the hotel is a little far from the train station Termini. The routine from the station to the hotel was not difficult to find but long and was extremely dirty. There is another way to reach the hotel that from Termini you can take the metro A to the station Manzoni then walk to the hotel. This routine is cleaner.
Secondly, the bathroom, there was no carpet in the bathroom so each time we stepped out from the shower, there was water everywhere. The toilette paper was not placed next to the so it was inconvinient.
Thirdly, the reception staff. The staff for the day were ok. The first day we arrived there, the guy who did the check in for us was extremely kind. He gave us a map and explained where to go in rome, where to pay and where the supermarket was.... But there was an old guy who workedfor the night, he was extremely rude. He doesnt speak english so When we asked for the wifi code, he couldnt understand and finally told us that we couldnt access the wifi from our building. So we stayed 2 days without internet.
That´s all i think. Despite of these inconvenience, the hotel is good for such a price, we paid 84eu for 2 nights so 20eu per personne.

Thank Linh N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great little budget hotel just down from Central Station. If you have a Rome Pass you can take the tram to just 1 block away, save the walk especially in the Summer heat.

Rooms are small but functional. Had TV, big wardrobe, desk, safe mini fridge. Bathroom had all the amenities, fresh towels each day, soap, shampoo. Wifi was available in the public area. There is someone always available 24/7 and were always very helpful. When we arrived the gentleman took the tourist map and indicated all there was to see, which metro or bus to get to them. Also you leave your room key with them when you leave, so you don't lose it, plus when you pick up the key on return they unlock the door to the hotel rooms, which is a separate entry to the reception / Public area. So it feels more secure then anyone being able to wander into the hotel areas. The windows were great, when opened the noise of the street outside was loud, but once closed almost all the noise were shut out. The air conditioning worked perfectly so even in the summer heat the room was cool.

Only minor issues that I can really say was that the bathroom looked like it was in need of renovation. It was obvious that the facilities were getting a bit old, the seals around the shower was worn and the shower head had a leak. Just little things that was in need of replacement, but everything functioned perfectly, so it didn't affect our stay.

All in all, a great budget hotel in a great location for a great price. Don't expect a 5 star resort hotel, but it is the perfect base for your Rome adventure, leaving you plenty in your wallet to spend on more important things.

Also highly recommend La Taverna Italiana, the restaurant just around the corner from the hotel. 5 Days there ate dinner there 4 nights, great food, great service and good prices.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nice1stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was very close to the central station though you still have to walk for 15 mins from the main entrance. Room looked like newly renovated and luckily I had a room with a balcony! And it was very nice stay.
Just few things were not working - TV, light and aircondition.
There is a nice restaurant around the corner which is rated good on trip advisor.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 night stay as it was so cheap I was expecting it to be a hovel but we were very suprised....not the best breakfast toast cereal coffee tea orange juice and cake ??? Better than nothing ...clean room bed made every day lovely shower very small bathroom tho .....very comfy bed ...2 negative points can't sleep with window open too load and all staff are very misrable looking

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jog111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Before booking this hotel I read the reviews here. Mixed, as they always are, in particular I was very worried by the one titled 'hell hole'! However when I got there It was perfect for someone on a tight budget.

Room: Single bed, spotlessly clean, comfy. There was a small fridge; useful for bottles of water as there is no kettle. No hair-dryer but hey, I never use hotel ones anyway, they are rarely good enough for my barnet!

Bathroom: Sparkling white, I suspect it was new. Shower is small but great shower pressure and plenty of hot water.

Breakfast: Toast with a selection of jams ect, cake, cereals, coffee, juices. What more do you want when you have been stuffing your face with pasta the night before!

Staff: Every member of staff was multi lingual and ever so helpful.

The area: It is great for walking to all the main attractions and the station is 10 mins away, but it is not a desirable area. I didn't feel terribly safe at night, but the hotel is secure as you have to buzz in and 24 hour reception.

Overall it was a good hotel for the price I paid.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Went for 4 nights to Rome during Easter break. Rubbish breakfast only had it one morning . Rooms were small, no wifi. Shower was too small but clean. Location was the only good thing about this hotel as its 10 min walk from termini station. Good food places near the hotel and reasonable . Although at night it can be bit dangerous walking back to the hotel , seems like a tough area.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
SHG Hotel Porta Maggiore
#574 of 1,267 in Rome
388 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#377 of 1,267 in Rome
422 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,136 of 3,712 in Rome
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,809 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#442 of 1,267 in Rome
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Midi Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Midi Rome

Address: Via Giovanni Giolitti 415, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,124 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Midi Rome 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Via Giovanni Giolitti, the Midi Hotel is a short walk from the central train station, Termini. With the bustling markets of Piazza Vittorio Emanuele only minutes away and the magnificent facades of the patriarchal basilicas of Santa Maria Maggiore and San Giovanni in Laterano just streets away, some of the most important landmarks are within easy reach.With a welcoming environment and a clean, bright décor, we strive to create a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere both within the sanctuary of your own room and while you're enjoying a delicious breakfast and drink in our enchanting garden bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Midi Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing