We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay with breakfast at the rooftop.”
Review of Ciak Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ciak Hostel
Ranked #367 of 1,165 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We booked a dorm room for 4 people and were allocated to another location just 5 minutes walk away from the main hostel. We took a bus from termini station or if walking, it would take about 15-20mins. The place wasn't bad though, it's spacious and there were lockers in the room. We were given the room on the second floor with our toilet on the third floor. Haha, sounds weird but we are the only ones who have access to the toilet. There is a rooftop and that is where we have our breakfast. The lady at the reception was very nice as she gave us information regarding traveling to certain attractions and returning to the hostels. A supermarket is just around the corner as well as a great place for gelato.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enyawnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 175 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2011

Nice hostel.
We stayed in the room on the ground floor. It was a little bit noisy and poorly ventilated.
The bathrrom was nice, except for the shower box - the smallest one that i´ve ever been.
About the staff we couldn´t know them at all. The breakfast was ok for the price.
The location is the only thing that i didn´t like. Near from the train station but far from the city on foot.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Dont be put off, Ciak hostel may be hard to find or seem at little odd at first. Its well worth finding- if not for the friendly staff & complimentary pasta or the oldest gelato factory just around the corner. The location is great. 15 min metro ride to the Vatican, walking distance to main terminal & coliseum. The rooms and linen were nice and clean. Great inexpensive option for a visit to Roma.

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aforamaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I would like to recommend Ciak hostel in Rome which is located close to Termini station and you can also easily get there by train and subway from Fiumicino airport. The hostel consist of dorms and some suites which are located 500 meters from the main part of the hostel. The staff is friendly. Breakfasts, internet and sometimes Italian pasta are provided free of charge.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krrnadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

The best thing about Ciak Hostel is that its comfortable and neat and tidy. Guess what...the reception manager is an Indian...added bonus. The rooms and loos are clean - basic but very clean and comfortable.

Advantages:
Great Breakfast. Choice of toast, various spreads, tea, coffee and more.
Lovely cosy kitchen open 24 hours
Hi Speed Internet
Friendly Staff
Friday Night Party....free pasta and a certain type of wine for guests!!

Disadvantage:
Far from main attractions like the Vatican or the Trevi Fountain. Only the coloseum is walking distance - that too a 20-25 min walk.
Lift doesn't work...and taking luggage up 3-4 floors isn't easy my friend!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanikamittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed in a private room which was located in a separate building around the block. The room had a pretty balcony overlooking other backyards and balconies. The bathroom had really big windows and a lot of natural light which was nice. The beds were decent, and the free internet was okay but really slow. The roof top terrace was nice and internet worked quickest there.
There was a bit of an ant problem, although they weren't in the beds, they were along the sides of the floors.
The location wasn't great at all. The sidewalks and roads were messy, broken, covered in garbage & graffiti and carried unpleasant smells.
The hostel is pretty close to most of the main sights, making for a cheap cab or a 15-20 minute walk.
It wasn't a terrible stay, but I'd definitely try staying somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ninawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Con pocas camas
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Rodrigo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Freedom Traveller Hostel
Freedom Traveller Hostel
#157 of 1,165 in Rome
272 reviews
Esquilino
Alessandro Downtown Hostel
Esquilino
Palladini Hostel Rome
Palladini Hostel Rome
#56 of 1,165 in Rome
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Generator Hostel Rome
Generator Hostel Rome
#9 of 1,165 in Rome
233 reviews
Esquilino
The Yellow
The Yellow
#15 of 1,165 in Rome
980 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#449 of 1,271 in Rome
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ciak Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ciak Hostel

Address: Viale Manzoni 55, 185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #367 of 1,165 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range: $32 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Ciak Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ciak Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing