We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rome”
Review of Hotel Best Roma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Best Roma
Ranked #806 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Rome”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was perfect. Staff friendly and helpful. Location was great, near tram stops, Metro and buses. Also near walking distance to historical places. The elevator was small but that is normal in Italy. We were in the last floor and they have a roof patio. Room temperature were great. Room was clean everyday. The cleaning lady was super because no dust under bed and she took care of my luggage. Rooms has not big closet, but again this is normal in Italy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina31954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    190
    107
    48
    41
See reviews for
73
281
17
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Firstly this hotel has the advantage of being in Rome, which is without doubt one of the most beautiful cities we have ever visited.
The first room we were given was very small for two adults and a child and had twin beds, so we asked if they had a room with a double bed. The next day we were moved to a lovely large room that was like a mini suite. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were delightful, friendly and extremely helpful. The front desk staff explained where to go and how to get there and gave us a map that was invaluable. Even if you have a guide book, take the map!
To avoid disappointment or raised expectations, I would say this hotel was more of a top-end three star than a four star. The breakfast buffet was adequate if you got to it early enough and limited if you were late (proper orange juice in real glasses and not sweetened juice in plastic ones would have been nicer.) The terrace was lovely, and I noticed some of the rooms also had a balcony overlooking the courtyard, which made up for them being small.
Also, the hotel is slightly out of the city centre, so there are not many restaurants, and is a short walk to the tram stop or the metro station. This would only be a problem for someone with limited mobility. On the upside, it means that is that it is away from the inevitable crowds and city centre noise. It is also convenient for the main train station and the express shuttle to the airport or elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard are quieter but may be smaller. Some of them have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girlwithapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The hotel is a boutique hotel I'd say rooms are well presented and new, it was just a shame about the size of them. Everything else was good though. If the room had been a little bigger we may well have saved there longer

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I've never travelled Europe so was surprised to find that my room was very small and basic. Apparently it's to be expected in Rome. My shower was a bit strange and did not shut properly so when I came out, I had created my own indoor swimming pool on the floor, but this was not a big deal. My room was always very clean and the staff especially on the front desk were very helpful and friendly. Upon arrival I was given a map by the receptionist who told me all the ways of getting to the important sights including transportation which was a godsend. That map never left my side. The breakfast buffet was adequate and we found the custard croissants highly addictive. We sat outside in the courtyard and ate our breakfast - we were never rushed to finish. I'd say that this was a 3 star hotel. In terms of getting to places, our nearest metro was Manzoni which is less than 10 minute walk and it took about 20-35 mins to get to the Colisseum by foot. Not many good restaurants around the area, but it is very close to Roma Termini which rather helpful if you're travelling elsewhere in Italy or going back to the hotel. Please leave in good time, because that station is huge and we nearly missed our train to Florence.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013

A very un imposing exterior hides a delightful little hotel of excellent value for money. The staff were extremely helpful in explaining the best ways to get around from walking, metro and bus. We walked to the colosseum in about half an hour and from there to the Trevi Fountain, Pantheon and various churches. The only time we used the metro was for the Vatican. Rooms although quite small were well presented with clean sheets every day, also the courtyard was a real asset with small bar and coffee. We felt well looked after and relaxed.

Room Tip: Noisy main rd. so choose a room at the back if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fran t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haslemere
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

A delightful Hotel, very clean, well run, extremely helpful staff. Breakfast limited but more than sufficient and very pleasant sitting out on their small patio in the sun.
Our room was 'bijoux' but a good shower and always clean.
Very limited TV which was a little disappointing after a long day walking.
You should be aware the hotel is not central to the sights of Rome but very convenient for the Airport Express Train and very close to the Red Metro line and about a half hour walk into central Rome.

Room Tip: I couldnt comment but our room was at the backside so quiet compared to the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magwaqone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Overall, this is a good 3.5-4 star hotel. The hotel looks small from outside but it's quite nice from the inside. The rooms are small, but I think you should expect that when in Europe. There was a little chandelier on the ceiling of our room and thought the long curtains were a nice touch to the room. The bathroom was ok but the stand up shower was quite small. There was breakfast available but it could be better. The staff was very helpful and friendly. They were willing to answer any questions and make recommendations for nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Latinum
Hotel Latinum
#607 of 1,258 in Rome
222 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Villafranca
Hotel Villafranca
#510 of 1,258 in Rome
898 reviews
Gambrinus Hotel
#285 of 1,258 in Rome
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Invictus Roma
Hotel Invictus Roma
#740 of 1,258 in Rome
239 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
Hotel Emona Aquaeductus
#422 of 1,258 in Rome
407 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Donatello
Hotel Donatello
#333 of 1,258 in Rome
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Best Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Best Roma

Property: Hotel Best Roma
Address: Via di Porta Maggiore 51, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #806 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Best Roma 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The HOTEL BEST ROMA is located in the heart of Rome, between the Colosseum and the cathedrals of San Giovanni in Laterano and Santa Maria Maggiore, at a short distance from the Roman Forum, the Trevi Fountain and the stunning Piazza di Spagna. Completed in September 2008, this fully renewed four-star hotel combines beauty, quality, and style in such a way as to complement the glorious city around it. The HOTEL BEST ROMA is the perfect place to stay in Rome, thanks to its welcoming atmosphere, the elegance of its premises, its lovely terrace and inner courtyard. Our staff will provide you with flawless service, and will be very happy to meet your requests. Fully refurbished and made with attention to the smallest details, the HOTEL BEST ROMA offers its guests antique-style rooms with air conditioning. Amenities include satellite LCD televisions, DVD players (on request), writing tables, Wi-Fi connection, minibars, and direct-dial phones. In our marble bathrooms you can find bathrobes, slippers, phones and hair dryers. The HOTEL BEST ROMA also offers you peace of mind in terms of security and privacy for you and your family, with modern anti-intruder systems, 24-hour staff, safety deposit boxes, soundproofing and fire alarms. The HOTEL BEST ROMA provides its guests with Wireless Internet connection in every room and in all common areas. Guests can enjoy a complimentary continental buffet breakfast each morning. The hotel is located within a set of very charming gardens, offering its guests a place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. Guests can also access a magnificent outdoor terrace to enjoy the tranquility of a warm Roman evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Best Roma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing