We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artistic Rome”
Review of Margutta 54

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Margutta 54
Ranked #26 of 1,068 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Artistic Rome”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed for 4 night with a family of 4, including children, aged 7 and 9 years. The location of hotel is in a private court yard which was very quiet. The staff friendly and helpful. The room extremely spacious. The local restaurants- spoilt for choice. The owner has provided a helpful booklet which contributed to our enjoying Rome and the Margutta area. As with another review we could hear the rumblings of underground train which sounded similar to distant thunder. Didn't keep us awake but reminded us that we were is a major city of the world, because otherwise it was so quiet. If i return to Rome i will stay at Margutta 54.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    44
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
99
100
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This accommodation would be hard to beat! Via Margutta is a charming, quiet street in Central Rome. However, it is like a best kept secret and it is locals who walk this street lined with antique shops, art stores, tailors and great restaurants. Margutta 54 are luxury suites on this charming road but set back from the street in a large courtyard. The suites are spacious, architecturally designed, stylish and comfortable. A little paradise. You could stay here comfortably for weeks as it has space and all the necessities. We can't wait to be back and will return ASAP...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilly6556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Margutta 54, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

How kind of you to call our hotel “a little paradise.” My staff and I can’t help but feel the same way. I am so glad you were able to explore all of the wonderful art galleries, tailors and restaurants on Via Margutta. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rome when you return.

Kind regards,
Alberto Moncada,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our first trip to Rome so we were looking for a comfortable place to stay after a very long flight from California. We were pleasenly surprised how convenient this location was and enjoyed coming back every night to what felt like home on a beautiful queit street. We took advantage of the well equipped kitchen and enjoyed our breakfast at home which allowed us to sample a variety of italian cheeses, okives, breads and the famous mortadella from the nearby grocery store. We also enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the Babette restaurant which is on the property. Mia was great and gave us helpful tips on where to go and what to see, and both her and Precious where very attentive when we needed a couple of minor maintenance issues taken care of.

Room Tip: We stayed in apt A1/1 which was on the ground level and had no issues with any noise of any kind. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaniJ-111213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Margutta 54, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

I’m honored you called our hotel “home” on your first trip to Rome, and pleased you took advantage of our kitchen space to try authentic Italian treats from the nearby store. I hope you’ll consider staying with us on your next visit as well!

Kind regards,
Alberto Moncada,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Rome as we all know it to be is a city teeming with tourists. You will never have the city to yourself. Then, there is this street right in the middle of the city called Via Margutta of Roman Holiday fame. A quaint little street thriving with small stores and art shops. And then there is Margutta 54. Enter a gate from Via Margutta and you have Rome to yourself. Absolute peace and quiet.

My family of 5 stayed at this property from 24 -27 of October 2013. After carefully deciding where to stay while in Rome, we finally decided to billet at Margutta 54 because of the room size and the excitement of living in this type of a property. We weren't disappointed. Well appointed rooms and bathrooms with modern interiors. They were huge as well which I assume would be difficult to find in the heart of the city these days. There was a small kitchenette which comes by very useful if you decide to have some of your meals in the room.

But more than that was the experience of like having your own apartment with the comforts of all the luxuries of hotel living right in the heart of Rome. Differentiating it from a serviced apartment, rooms were located in several areas of the compound as opposed to rooms all located in one single apartment building. At least in the building where our room was located, the only neighbour we had was another room downstairs. Your are given two keys. The first key is for the gate to the entrance of the compound from Via Margutta and the second, the keys to your room.

Services are slightly different from a full serviced hotel. The concierge is only in Margutta 54 from 8 am to 8 pm. After which, all concerns will have to be coursed through their sister hotel, Hotel Babuino. Not to worry though, all our requests, whether they be through our concierge in the Margutta 54 or from Hotel Babuino were all attended to quickly. There is no gym and breakfast is always brought into your room. No hotel restaurant/coffee shop. But why worry about hotel food when all the cafes and restaurants are just a few steps away?

Location is prime. A few meters away from the Spanish Steps, Via Condotti, cafes, Carrefour Express…everything is really close by. If you need access to the Metro system, your nearest station would have to be Spagna which again is very near.

But of course this couldn't all have been this perfect to us if not for the personal touch of the Margutta staff. You're lucky if Martina will be there during your stay. She will be all that you would need for anything and everything.

There were some comments by other guests on TripAdvisor of subway rumbling heard from the rooms. This is true, but didn't bother me or any of my companions during our entire stay.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again on my next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SXMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Margutta 54, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review about our property and staff. I’m so glad Martina attended to all of your needs, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again!

Kind regards,
Alberto Moncada,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I found out about Margutta 54 on Trip-advisor and began doing some research. With only 3 nights in Rome on our first ever visit, I wanted to be very central to the main sights and attractions. We loved Margutta 54 as we could walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Piazza del Poppolo ...all the main shopping areas and many sights within easy walking distance. The Concierge gave us a list of good restaurants in the immediate area, some of which we tried and were not disappointed. The hotel is spacious and in a quiet neighborhood, breakfast can be continental brought to your room or a full buffet breakfast at their sister property a block away. The staff is very helpful and you feel like this is your own private apartment in a quiet courtyard setting in the heart of Rome....I could not stay anywhere else now and look forward to returning! Valerie L.

Room Tip: We booked the Junior Suite which is the least expensive of the 4 rooms, still with at least 500 squa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Margutta 54, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valerie,

It gives me great joy you felt our hotel was your own private apartment and courtyard in the heart of Rome. My staff and I strive to make our guests feel at home, and we’re happy to hear you’ll be staying with us on your next visit!

Kind regards,
Alberto Moncada,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
149 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We found this on Tripadvisor and booked it several months ago. My husband and I were in the junior suite. We arrived early in the morning from our cruise ship and were able to leave our bags at the desk until the room became available. The entire staff was friendly and helpful - we accidently took someone else's luggage leaving our cruise ship (oops) and Martina worked to resolve our mistake promptly and efficiently. The room was large, lovely, well-appointed and most importantly, clean. The location is fantastic - we felt like residents of Rome because our room was tucked away in a quiet courtyard but close to everything. We were welcomed with a free drink at the sister hotel, Babuino 181 the first evening. Pastries in the morning were also complimentary. The only negative is that it would have been nice for the full breakfast buffet at Babuino 181 to have been complimentary since the room wasn't inexpensive. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamat122963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Margutta 54, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

I’m so glad Martina helped you attend to your luggage and you enjoyed the complimentary pastries and welcome drink at our sister property. We will be happy to have you stay with us again!

Kind regards,
Alberto Moncada,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Initial opinion of the suite was great - aesthetically and location, but as stated in the previous review, the service was at best uneven - we had to ask for refills on shampoo, conditioner and nespresso pods (things you expect done as standard in even a cheap hotel let alone here). We asked for vatican museum and colloseum tickets to be booked, which was promptly done but for the same morning the following day. There is no luggage storage facility which we requested for the final day - our bags were taken to a sister hotel nearby and sat in front of the desk all day.
The room wasn't in the greatest state when looking a little closer - the electricity card panel fell off the wall at the slightest touch, the shower flooded more with each passing day, spilling over covering the entire bathroom floor on the final morning. There is no sound proofing between floors - we had a lie-in the first day due to a late flight, and could hear the flat above being cleaned through the floorboards. The underground seems to run directly below the building, so we had to rearrange some furniture to stop some rattling.
These were all relatively little things, and ultimately we had a good time as it was our honeymoon - a reason I didn't want to complain too much, but I feel our money would have been spent better elsewhere - this isn't cheap accommodation and I expected more.

Room Tip: Opt for one of the sister hotels nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Margutta 54, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I always appreciate our guests’ feedback and am glad you enjoyed our property and location. However, I am upset to hear some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. I apologize for the oversights in service, and I have taken up your comments with my staff in order to improve our level of attention. I’m also sorry your shower flooded – we have since fixed the issue.
I appreciate your honesty and hope you will let me know the next time you visit Rome, so I can personally oversee your stay.

Kind regards,
Alberto Moncada,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#23 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#295 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#261 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Campo Marzio
Fendi Private Suites
Fendi Private Suites
#576 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margutta 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margutta 54

Property: Margutta 54
Address: Via Margutta 54, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 1,068 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Margutta 54 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picasso, Puccini and Stravinsky all made Via Margutta their home. Now, you, too, can draw inspiration from Margutta 54, a unique boutique hotel on Rome's most beautiful, atmospheric street, located a stone's throw from the Spanish Steps. To stay at our collection of converted artist's studios, you have to be as "in the know" as a true Roman. So step off of Via Margutta into a private courtyard-a hidden secret on the gallery-lined street. Walk through the gates into a historic palace setting. And know that here, in the shadow of Picasso's studio, you're home. At Margutta 54, rather than a hotel client, you feel like you are living as an authentic Roman. Make yourself comfortable: enjoy the peace of the private courtyard. Indulge in the exclusivity of residing in an historic artist studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Margutta 54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margutta 54 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing