We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great apartment/ suite in a perfect location in Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Margutta 54

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Margutta 54
Ranked #24 of 1,067 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Millbrae, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great apartment/ suite in a perfect location in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our first trip to Rome so we were looking for a comfortable place to stay after a very long flight from California. We were pleasenly surprised how convenient this location was and enjoyed coming back every night to what felt like home on a beautiful queit street. We took advantage of the well equipped kitchen and enjoyed our breakfast at home which allowed us to sample a variety of italian cheeses, okives, breads and the famous mortadella from the nearby grocery store. We also enjoyed a wonderful dinner at the Babette restaurant which is on the property. Mia was great and gave us helpful tips on where to go and what to see, and both her and Precious where very attentive when we needed a couple of minor maintenance issues taken care of.

Room Tip: We stayed in apt A1/1 which was on the ground level and had no issues with any noise of any kind. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaniJ-111213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Margutta 54, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

I’m honored you called our hotel “home” on your first trip to Rome, and pleased you took advantage of our kitchen space to try authentic Italian treats from the nearby store. I hope you’ll consider staying with us on your next visit as well!

Kind regards,
Alberto Moncada,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    43
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
95
98
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Rome as we all know it to be is a city teeming with tourists. You will never have the city to yourself. Then, there is this street right in the middle of the city called Via Margutta of Roman Holiday fame. A quaint little street thriving with small stores and art shops. And then there is Margutta 54. Enter a gate from Via Margutta and you have Rome to yourself. Absolute peace and quiet.

My family of 5 stayed at this property from 24 -27 of October 2013. After carefully deciding where to stay while in Rome, we finally decided to billet at Margutta 54 because of the room size and the excitement of living in this type of a property. We weren't disappointed. Well appointed rooms and bathrooms with modern interiors. They were huge as well which I assume would be difficult to find in the heart of the city these days. There was a small kitchenette which comes by very useful if you decide to have some of your meals in the room.

But more than that was the experience of like having your own apartment with the comforts of all the luxuries of hotel living right in the heart of Rome. Differentiating it from a serviced apartment, rooms were located in several areas of the compound as opposed to rooms all located in one single apartment building. At least in the building where our room was located, the only neighbour we had was another room downstairs. Your are given two keys. The first key is for the gate to the entrance of the compound from Via Margutta and the second, the keys to your room.

Services are slightly different from a full serviced hotel. The concierge is only in Margutta 54 from 8 am to 8 pm. After which, all concerns will have to be coursed through their sister hotel, Hotel Babuino. Not to worry though, all our requests, whether they be through our concierge in the Margutta 54 or from Hotel Babuino were all attended to quickly. There is no gym and breakfast is always brought into your room. No hotel restaurant/coffee shop. But why worry about hotel food when all the cafes and restaurants are just a few steps away?

Location is prime. A few meters away from the Spanish Steps, Via Condotti, cafes, Carrefour Express…everything is really close by. If you need access to the Metro system, your nearest station would have to be Spagna which again is very near.

But of course this couldn't all have been this perfect to us if not for the personal touch of the Margutta staff. You're lucky if Martina will be there during your stay. She will be all that you would need for anything and everything.

There were some comments by other guests on TripAdvisor of subway rumbling heard from the rooms. This is true, but didn't bother me or any of my companions during our entire stay.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again on my next trip to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SXMX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Margutta 54, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review about our property and staff. I’m so glad Martina attended to all of your needs, and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again!

Kind regards,
Alberto Moncada,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

I found out about Margutta 54 on Trip-advisor and began doing some research. With only 3 nights in Rome on our first ever visit, I wanted to be very central to the main sights and attractions. We loved Margutta 54 as we could walk to the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain and Piazza del Poppolo ...all the main shopping areas and many sights within easy walking distance. The Concierge gave us a list of good restaurants in the immediate area, some of which we tried and were not disappointed. The hotel is spacious and in a quiet neighborhood, breakfast can be continental brought to your room or a full buffet breakfast at their sister property a block away. The staff is very helpful and you feel like this is your own private apartment in a quiet courtyard setting in the heart of Rome....I could not stay anywhere else now and look forward to returning! Valerie L.

Room Tip: We booked the Junior Suite which is the least expensive of the 4 rooms, still with at least 500 squa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Margutta 54, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Valerie,

It gives me great joy you felt our hotel was your own private apartment and courtyard in the heart of Rome. My staff and I strive to make our guests feel at home, and we’re happy to hear you’ll be staying with us on your next visit!

Kind regards,
Alberto Moncada,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level Contributor
132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

We found this on Tripadvisor and booked it several months ago. My husband and I were in the junior suite. We arrived early in the morning from our cruise ship and were able to leave our bags at the desk until the room became available. The entire staff was friendly and helpful - we accidently took someone else's luggage leaving our cruise ship (oops) and Martina worked to resolve our mistake promptly and efficiently. The room was large, lovely, well-appointed and most importantly, clean. The location is fantastic - we felt like residents of Rome because our room was tucked away in a quiet courtyard but close to everything. We were welcomed with a free drink at the sister hotel, Babuino 181 the first evening. Pastries in the morning were also complimentary. The only negative is that it would have been nice for the full breakfast buffet at Babuino 181 to have been complimentary since the room wasn't inexpensive. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamat122963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Margutta 54, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

I’m so glad Martina helped you attend to your luggage and you enjoyed the complimentary pastries and welcome drink at our sister property. We will be happy to have you stay with us again!

Kind regards,
Alberto Moncada,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Initial opinion of the suite was great - aesthetically and location, but as stated in the previous review, the service was at best uneven - we had to ask for refills on shampoo, conditioner and nespresso pods (things you expect done as standard in even a cheap hotel let alone here). We asked for vatican museum and colloseum tickets to be booked, which was promptly done but for the same morning the following day. There is no luggage storage facility which we requested for the final day - our bags were taken to a sister hotel nearby and sat in front of the desk all day.
The room wasn't in the greatest state when looking a little closer - the electricity card panel fell off the wall at the slightest touch, the shower flooded more with each passing day, spilling over covering the entire bathroom floor on the final morning. There is no sound proofing between floors - we had a lie-in the first day due to a late flight, and could hear the flat above being cleaned through the floorboards. The underground seems to run directly below the building, so we had to rearrange some furniture to stop some rattling.
These were all relatively little things, and ultimately we had a good time as it was our honeymoon - a reason I didn't want to complain too much, but I feel our money would have been spent better elsewhere - this isn't cheap accommodation and I expected more.

Room Tip: Opt for one of the sister hotels nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Owz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Margutta 54, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I always appreciate our guests’ feedback and am glad you enjoyed our property and location. However, I am upset to hear some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. I apologize for the oversights in service, and I have taken up your comments with my staff in order to improve our level of attention. I’m also sorry your shower flooded – we have since fixed the issue.
I appreciate your honesty and hope you will let me know the next time you visit Rome, so I can personally oversee your stay.

Kind regards,
Alberto Moncada,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
183 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Margutta Suite we stayed in was beautifully appointed and had lots of wonderful features including a blackout shade for the front door and Nespresso machine. And, the location near the Spanish Steps off a private access road was amazing. However, there was no mention of stairs or no lift for upstairs suites on their website at the time of booking and the service throughout the stay was uneven. The wifi worked best near the window -sometimes not in other parts of the room - and one day wifi stopped throughout the hotel including at the check in desk. Staff is only on-hand during day-time hours. Those who want a more full-service hotel experience might look to their property down the road.

Room Tip: Use 'black out shades' by front door to muffle sounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaylaartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeLuxurySuites, Direttore at Margutta 54, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words about the features of our Margutta Suite. I’m pleased to hear you also enjoyed our location. I am however apologetic that we did not adequately communicate about the lack of a lift on our property, and that our Wi-Fi service was shaky during your time here. We have since amended our Wi-Fi, and in the future, we will try to better communicate about the stairs leading to our upper-level suites.
While our staff is only available from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m., our concierge at our sister property is more than happy to accommodate any of our guests’ needs throughout the night.
I appreciate your feedback, and hope I will be able to personally oversee your stay the next time you’re in Rome.

Kind regards,
Alberto Moncada,
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Perfectly situated meters from the central art district of Rome and 2 minutes walk to what Rome offers best, fountains, steps, piazzas and shopping. The location of these private suits is what really makes them special. Once inside the gated community of these suites you feel like Rome is a million miles away and you can really relax the luxury style of these suites. With large lounge spaces and relaxing spa baths, these suites will allow you to forget the busy and tiring streets of Rome until the next day of exploring. There are some very cosy eating spots in Margutta lane and the street comes alive with live art shows and events.
This is a cool place to stay if you want to combine luxury accommodation that is extremely private and quite in one of the busiest cities that still leaves you only meters from the action and sites when our keen.
Enjoy

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#273 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Fendi Private Suites
Fendi Private Suites
#559 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#263 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margutta 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margutta 54

Property: Margutta 54
Address: Via Margutta 54, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,067 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Margutta 54 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picasso, Puccini and Stravinsky all made Via Margutta their home. Now, you, too, can draw inspiration from Margutta 54, a unique boutique hotel on Rome's most beautiful, atmospheric street, located a stone's throw from the Spanish Steps. To stay at our collection of converted artist's studios, you have to be as "in the know" as a true Roman. So step off of Via Margutta into a private courtyard-a hidden secret on the gallery-lined street. Walk through the gates into a historic palace setting. And know that here, in the shadow of Picasso's studio, you're home. At Margutta 54, rather than a hotel client, you feel like you are living as an authentic Roman. Make yourself comfortable: enjoy the peace of the private courtyard. Indulge in the exclusivity of residing in an historic artist studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Margutta 54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margutta 54 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing