We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for families.”
Review of Margutta 54

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Margutta 54
Ranked #29 of 1,100 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great room for families.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Quite location but close to Spanish Steps, taxi stand, Metro and restaurants. Our room was very large with plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 children. Room was clean with nice towels and a table the seats 4. Beds were comfortable and huge closets. TV didn't work and they sent someone to fix it and it worked for a few minutes but after that we could only get one channel. I really didn't care since we weren't in room to watch TV. Very helpful staff who helped arrange a guide for the Vatican and transfer to airport. The one drawback is there are no services at the location so if you want a gym, or restaurant or 24 hour on-site service, this is not the place to stay. But if your looking for great location with tons of room to spread out with family, that has a lot of character, stay at Margutta 54,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skimat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    45
    18
    5
    2
See reviews for
101
105
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location, one street away from Baubino, and a short stroll to the The Spanish Steps.

It is tucked away behind a locked gate, and the rooms are beautiful and well appointed. Not to mention that fact that the entire hotel smells amazing! The staff are helpful, and you feel like you have your own little Roman home for the time that you stay.

Taxis are easy to catch at The Spanish Steps, and well priced for those times you decide not to walk.

This is the perfect location from which to explore Rome. The list of places to dine (provided by the staff) is also fantastic, and worth working your way through. The can also book you car transfers should you wish - althought the taxis are great and a little less expensive.

Fantastic experience - we will be back!

Room Tip: Use the dinning guide provided - we had some amazing meals! Pack good walking shoes and enjoy R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileyC_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Rome can be intimidating with all that there is to see, do and eat. Travelling with two young children (8 & 10) can add to the cauldron! Margutta has a small collection of rooms and is tucked away in gravel courtyard on a quiet street near the Spanish Steps. Picasso used one of these rooms as a studio. The room was spacious for a family of four and has a large bathroom with sliding doors to make it functional for multiple users. For those looking for a neat, well designed stay that allows for a family of four, I recommend this place. But be aware that breakfast is served at a sister hotel approximately 1 NY block away. Breakfast is a decent spread with fresh fruit and fresh orange juice (on request), cold cuts and cheeses, warm eggs and sausages and packaged yoghurt and preserves with fresh breads, cereal and pastries. Tea and coffee as you like it. You are given a set of keys to the gate, the main door and your room as there is no hotel personnel post 6:00pm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnganaS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Margutta 54 for one night prior to getting on a cruise, which is a shame because we would have loved to stayed there for a few extra nights to enjoy Rome. The location is great since it's on a side street away from the traffic, but a short walk to Piazza Popolo and to the Spanish Steps. We arrived early in the morning and even though we were not supposed to check in until 3pm our room was ready and we were able to get refreshed after our flight. The room is really comfortable with an enormous bathroom. We enjoyed the continental breakfast at their sister property, which was very nice. The staff was very helpful with everything from tour and restaurant recommendations as well as making any other necessary arrangements. My wife and I are looking forward to another trip to Rome so we can stay at Margutta 54. Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rafa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This is the most difficult review I have ever written on Trip Advisor.

The Pros: Large stylish suites run by a team that go out of there way to do everything they can for you. They also gave us the best restaurant recommendation we have ever received in Italy - a place called Babette a 5 minute walk from your room.

The Cons: Our studio suite has the potential to be so much more but two major things hold it back...first the subway runs right under the room and if you are a light sleeper you will need ear plugs...second and more importantly there is a strong mildew odor in the room. They have tried to hide it with various scented oils but it does not work.

Also if you have a car you will need to park off site and that cost us an extra 18e per day plus cab ride to and from the hotel when we arrived and left...overall an extra 77e expense for our 2 day stay. Like I said it has great potential in a wonderful location but there are a few things that need to be worked on to make it great!

By the way if you need a knowledgable and friendly tour guide in Rome you will find no one better than Sonia Tavoletta. This is our second trip to Rome with her as our guide and she is fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jim2344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomeLuxurySuites, Proprietario at Margutta 54, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
"I am glad you appreciated our suites which you described as "stylish" and to hear our professional staff that was able to help you during your stay at Margutta 54.

I personally live on the property and don't agree with your noise complaint.
Most guests find our courtyard to be a sanctuary of tranquility from all the hustle and bustle of the center of Rome - which is only a few streets away.

Regarding parking we do our best to let our clients know where the most convenient solutions can be found.

I hope you will stay with us again in the future."

Alberto Moncada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for only one night at the end of our time in Italy. We wanted somewhere really special. The room was very large, well appointed and with a very generous-sized bathroom. Be careful in the bath. It's so big it's difficult not to slide underwater if you're less than 7ft tall. Perhaps it's designed for 2 people to sit toe to toe, thereby supporting each other! As others have mentioned, it's not a hotel but 4 suites in a private area of Via Margutta. As some others also mentioned, we were disturbed by any noise from the corridor, the cleaner's cupboard next door and the telephone ringing downstairs. Not something one expects for €360/night. Go to the complimentary evening drinks on the terrace at their property in the next street. We weren't offered this service, but had read about it on TA so asked.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic location. The suites are spacious and quiet with a modern look. The hotel is located inside a closed area (compound) and therefore is more private.
Very helpful lady at the front desk ...
The only downside would be the lack of restaurant services at the hotel..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,258 in Rome
502 reviews
Campo Marzio
Fendi Private Suites
Fendi Private Suites
#471 of 1,258 in Rome
37 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#309 of 1,258 in Rome
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margutta 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margutta 54

Property: Margutta 54
Address: Via Margutta 54, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 1,100 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Margutta 54 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picasso, Puccini and Stravinsky all made Via Margutta their home. Now, you, too, can draw inspiration from Margutta 54, a unique boutique hotel on Rome's most beautiful, atmospheric street, located a stone's throw from the Spanish Steps. To stay at our collection of converted artist's studios, you have to be as "in the know" as a true Roman. So step off of Via Margutta into a private courtyard-a hidden secret on the gallery-lined street. Walk through the gates into a historic palace setting. And know that here, in the shadow of Picasso's studio, you're home. At Margutta 54, rather than a hotel client, you feel like you are living as an authentic Roman. Make yourself comfortable: enjoy the peace of the private courtyard. Indulge in the exclusivity of residing in an historic artist studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Margutta 54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margutta 54 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing