We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel that feels like a home”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Margutta 54

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Margutta 54
Ranked #25 of 1,088 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A hotel that feels like a home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect, right behind the Spanish Steps.
It is a quiet street, a private street entrance.
The house is at the end of the street.
The room we had was a living room and bedroom. The living room has a couch, and a table and a kitchenette. There is no doorman or full service but you can have breakfast in a cute cafe about 2 blocks away. I definitely recommend it for a couple or a family.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Irishami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    44
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
96
98
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have just got back from a 4 nights' stay at the Margutta 54 staying at their largest suite. We are a family of 4 (2 grown girls) and had the sofa bed and an extra roll-away bed for the girls. We have stayed in other European hotels before and this is by far the most impressive in terms of space, charm, comfort and did I say space again. Everything worked - the separate rain shower feels better than any spa shower. What we loved about this hotel is that it is set in Via Margutta - one of the most charming streets in Rome. The walk through the courtyard with crushed stones, gives you a sense of arrival and makes you feel you are in the countryside. But the location is just incredible! You are right in the heart of shopping wonderland plus all the historic landmarks. This hotel suite made us feel so at home - it felt more like a resort hotel right in the heart of Rome.

Room Tip: If you are just a couple, do book either the superior suites or the junior suite. The Studio is too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hotel_snoop_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This wonderful hotel was recommended by our friends who had previously stayed here. The location is excellent, being in the sight-seeing vicinity. Spanish steps around the corner and Trevi fountain and Pantheon are only a short walk away. Being off a private driveway for the surrounding apartments' residents only, this small hotel is quiet and secluded. The staff are lovely and talkative, always stopping to say hi. The rooms are spacious and modern and are extremely clean. Room service was every day. Certainly was good value for money. The accommodation was clean, friendly and convenient, especially when travelling with kids. Definitely must stay here when in Rome.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calzetone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
686 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

This mini-hotel comprises just a few rooms and is located in an old courtyard just off via Margutta, one of the loveliest streets in Rome.

Like the other properties in this group (Babuino, and Mario de Fiori) Margutta has spacious, nicely-decorated rooms and big bathrooms. (Having to extend my stay unexpectedly, and coping with some sold-out days, I wound up staying in all three properties over a 10-day period. The staff of all three properties are ready to help guests at any.)

The property is very close to the Spanish Steps, and the courtyard houses residences as well as art galleries. A plaque commemorates Pablo Picasso as a previous tenant.

There are two drawbacks (which didn't bother me, but might matter to some travelers): there is no restaurant or common area; and the reception is deep inside a courtyard covered with pebbles (meaning that if you arrive by taxi at the front gate, you won't be able to roll your bags to the unit).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We chose Magutta 54 after finding it on Mrs &Mrs Smith and looking at the trip advisor reviews - it was a fabulous choice.

We don't like hotel chains and this was the complete antithesis. Gorgeous, huge room that smelled divine and had the best bed (amazing linen). Lovely roof top drinks at sister hotel Babuino 181 which is literally just around the corner. But the best thing is the location - walking distance to all the main attractions, smack bang in the middle of the best shopping area in all of Rome, fabulous art galleries and tiny little streets with ivy all over the buildings - very romantic and the height of chic.

One thing. We were in room 1 which was fabulous but very noisy in the morning when the cleaners arrived upstairs and guests checking out right outside our door. We were woken up by this noise at 8am on Sunday morning and was too noisy to get back to sleep.

We will be going back though and will stay in Margutta 54, just might ask for a room on the top floor!

Big thanks to the nice chap on reception at Babuino 181 for organising the cab, roof top prosecco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BronwynS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

What a treasure. Tucked away in a leafy courtyard on a quiet street of apartments, luxury fashion boutiques and art galleries, Margutta 54 is an oasis of calm. We stayed in the #3 room which was the smallest of the four apartments. Yet it had a large sitting area with sofa, coffee table and dining table, as well as writing desk. Amenities included a Nespresso coffee maker, kettle and small fridge. The bathroom with shower and deep tub was glorious. The staff, especially the lovely Martina and Patricia were terrifically helpful. Very handy to have the sister hotel on Babuino (a short walk away) for breakfasts and concierge services after hours. After a day of sightseeing and dodging the Vespas down narrow cobblestone streets, Via Margutta 54 felt like a chic sanctuary. I'd happily live there if I could!

Room Tip: only 4 rooms. #3 is the smallest but oversize by any regular hotel standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitesapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Not having a room available for the entire length of my stay at Babuino 181 turned out to be a blessing in disguise, because they moved me down the street to Margutta 54 - a house off a courtyard with a gate on a chic shopping street that made me feel like I had my own secret apartment in Rome. My room was enormous and was really a suite I could have stayed in indefinitely as it was so spacious and well-appointed. If you know your way around Rome and don't need directions or advice from the front desk every five minutes, this place is for you. If you are a first time traveler and need the support of an on-site concierge, you're still covered as you just walk down the block to Babuino 181 if you need help. The only problem with a room so comfortable is that is is tempting to stay inside and enjoy it when you should be out and about exploring a great city!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyminasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Mario de' Fiori 37
Mario de' Fiori 37
#24 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Campo Marzio
Residenza Canova Tadolini
Residenza Canova Tadolini
#278 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel Forte
Hotel Forte
#246 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Campo Marzio
Fendi Private Suites
Fendi Private Suites
#575 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margutta 54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margutta 54

Property: Margutta 54
Address: Via Margutta 54, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,088 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Margutta 54 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Picasso, Puccini and Stravinsky all made Via Margutta their home. Now, you, too, can draw inspiration from Margutta 54, a unique boutique hotel on Rome's most beautiful, atmospheric street, located a stone's throw from the Spanish Steps. To stay at our collection of converted artist's studios, you have to be as "in the know" as a true Roman. So step off of Via Margutta into a private courtyard-a hidden secret on the gallery-lined street. Walk through the gates into a historic palace setting. And know that here, in the shadow of Picasso's studio, you're home. At Margutta 54, rather than a hotel client, you feel like you are living as an authentic Roman. Make yourself comfortable: enjoy the peace of the private courtyard. Indulge in the exclusivity of residing in an historic artist studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Margutta 54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margutta 54 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing