We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Moses Fountain
Ranked #583 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel...”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have recently stayed at the Moses Fountain Hotel as a birthday present from my boyfriend and i can't say a bad word against it. I can't comment on the price as i do not know how much it was for the three nights that we stayed.

We stayed in the blue velvet room and it was very large and spacious, we had views on the road and then a pretty building that was lit up at night. You would not expect the hotel to be where it is; entering through a side door and walking up concrete steps to the courtyard is a nice touch. You don't feel like you are staying in a hotel, rather your own home from home. You get a free mini-bar, coffee and sky to watch in your room.

Location: Close to the tube and walkable distance to everywhere. (Spanish Steps are about 10minutes away)

Service: Andrea was such a credit to the hotel, she gave great information and let us leave our bags in the room until 6pm when we left for the airport in the evening. Breakfast was always a delight. Only random thing was that you get salad with your breakfast. Reception are available on the phone to help give dinner reservations and any information that you need.

Such a a lovely hotel. I couldn't recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Have a look at their website as each room has a theme and they are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarissa87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    78
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
273
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London,UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 night at the Moses Fountain hotel recently and can't praise it enough! The location is simply superb, very close to Piazza Republica, Termini, Spanish steps, Trevi fountain, etc. and lots of buses go very close to the hotel which is a huge plus.

The rooms and bathroom were extremely hi-spec and super clean and spacious. Wi-fi was super fast and we even had a brilliant nespresso machine in the room. The breakfast in the morning was also very good - freshly squeezed orange juice, toast, croissants with various spreads, fresh fruit, tea/coffee and even salad! They start serving breakfast from 8.00 onwards so was never an issue with timing and it's very pleasant to eat out on the terrace, weather permitting.
The minbar is free and again a huge plus! Overall, we used to look forward to coming back and relaxing in our beautiful and cool room after a tiring day outside.

The only thing is that this hotel is quite quirky in that there is no reception and no full time staff..there's a maid in the morning who makes breakfast and makes the rooms, etc. This was absolutely fine with us as we're pretty seasoned travellers but if you need hand holding then this might not be the place for you. Also there's quite a few steps to go up to the rooms so might be a problem for travellers with heavy baggage.

From our experience though, we loved it and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rivaldoisgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

A jewel in the heart of Rome...large, clean, contemporary room with king size bed. Fun courtyard breakfast. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Not too difficult to find. Good communication throughout reservation process. Smooth check-in. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Stayed in the turtle room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicagonicksud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, and simply cant say enough about it. After seeing reviews noting the difficulty finding it, I was prepped with a map, picture, and phone #. Didn't need it. The taxi driver had trouble but I spotted the door right away. Had about a 10 minute wait, as I arrived a bit earlier than expected. My room - or apartment - was just up the first set of stairs. Lovely foyer w/desk, decent size bedroom (king), a sitting room, and decent bath with awesomely deep 2person tub. A nice table and chairs for breakfast or to bring dinner back. A lovely retreat from the hectic city outside. Close that heavy wooden door and you're in a different world. Bonus in room espresso machine was my fav amenity. Highly recommend to those not needing a full service place. Owner Andreas is a lovely man who can give you great ideas about where to eat and what to do (besides the obvious
Rome sights). I travel solo and like to be left to find my own way, so this was the perfect place for me. If you want 24 hour full service, it may not work for you. The only thing not my fav was breakfast...not enough fruit and i prefer fresh bread.

Helpful?
1 Thank Carole137
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We decided to book this hotel based on its location from the Santa Susanna church for our wedding day. We booked the superior room and the apartment (bridal party). The rooms are very beautiful, comfortable, clean, spacious and had so many unique and interesting design and features. The staff is very welcoming (warm smiles), friendly and accommodating. The staff is very responsive to our emails when we were in the process of setting-up and determining how our vendors (make-up stylist and photographers) can get into the hotel on our wedding day. As soon as we arrived, we were welcomed warmly, given a tour and explanation of features about each rooms and suggestions where the stylist could set-up. We were upgraded to the their best room simply because they found out we were staying for our wedding. (I absolutely love Theresa's Sofa room, especially the bathroom and shower.)

We were assured that they have staff informed and available early in the morning to welcome our wedding vendors into the hotel before I could even ask the question. Furthermore, they to let us know that we can contact them anytime if need any assistance for wedding day (etc. extra chairs) and had direct phone numbers store in the room phone directory.

The morning of the wedding I was informed right away when my vendors arrived. We were suppose to check-out of the apartment the morning of the wedding, but were unable to with the time constraints and chaos of preparation. They were very understanding and we were able to do the check-out procedures and settle the bill on the apartment that night instead without any consequences.

The staff would rush to our calls (seriously running up and down the stairs) out of breath and sweating just so they can answer our questions in person as quickly as possible. We've stayed at luxury hotels and five star hotel in other countries and I've never met people more accommodating and welcoming than those who work at the Moses Fountain.

We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and we plan to stay here again when visit Rome future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ichigonokisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We books this based on reviews.. Our room was a large two room unit, one complaint is that the sofa was horrible.. If the owner reads this, you really could do better than that.. The location is perfect, twenty minute stroll to forum, and two blocks from termini. The rooms have full cable, lots of English stations, which is a hard find. Bed is comfy.. Breakfast starts at nine, not eight.... If you are looking for pampering from a staff this is not your place. Owner is around in the morning and evening, and that is about tit besides the maids.. He is very nice, and helpfull. I would recommended this hotel to all, but if you are not seasoned traveler and this is your first time in Rome I would stay at a hotel with a better staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGMAUGIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We booked this hotel on the strength of its reviews on this site and it exceeded our expectations. It is a wonderful place and the location was better than we anticipated.

Our trip was tarnished by a missing suitcase, but the staff worked hard on our behalf to get it back to us.

We stayed in the cardinal room which was really comfortable and the steam room was very welcome at the end of a day's sightseeing.

If (or when) we return to Rome, this hotel will be top of the list.

Room Tip: They are all so different by Funky Cardinal was fabulous and has a good view over the busy streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ploddy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#122 of 1,291 in Rome
1,234 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#150 of 1,291 in Rome
914 reviews
Gambrinus Hotel
#281 of 1,291 in Rome
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
Hotel Boutique Nazionale
#214 of 1,291 in Rome
321 reviews
Esquilino
Target Inn
Target Inn
#396 of 1,291 in Rome
268 reviews
Parioli
Hotel Villa Duse
Hotel Villa Duse
#205 of 1,291 in Rome
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moses Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moses Fountain

Property: Hotel Moses Fountain
Address: Via 20 Settembre, 98/L, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#108 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#275 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moses Fountain 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please contact the property in advance to communicate your arrival time. For arrivals after 14:30, you will receive a code to access the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Moses Fountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moses Fountain Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing