We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Moses Fountain
Ranked #556 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed4 days in the Moses fountain in March 2012. This hotel is very special andthe concept of it is very interestingl. Beautiful decor in our room, excellent service from everybody from the concierge to the room service. The advices we received were excellent, the decor unforgettable. Everybody made us feel good. Perfectly located. We will choose this hotel again for sure and will remember the truly warm hospitality. You won't regret your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 361 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

The fact that the facade of the hotel is a giant fountain is the coolest, but it's somewhat inconvenient that there is only someone available at the property until 2pm. The room was a good size for Rome and the bathroom was huge and had Etro toiletries. Def. a plus! There is also a well-stocked and FREE minibar filled with pringles, fanta, Peroni, water, etc. that was a lifesaver as we got over our jet lag and acclimated to the Italian meal times. The location is convenient for the metro, but strangely, there aren't a lot of restaurants close by. We ate at Target one night, and while they seemed really put-off and annoyed with tourists, who could blame them, the food was still very good. Cacio and Pepe! We walked down to the Trevi Fountain area most of the time for meals and shopping because the area around the hotel is very quiet. On our last day we arrived back after a long day at Ostia Antica to find we had no towels, no toilet paper, and an empty fridge. We had to call reception and were told it would be "very difficult" at that time since it was after 2pm. But about an hour later the owner himself showed up with a bag of t.p., towels and snacks, and he was very apologetic. I understand that accidents happen, and he handled everything quickly and appropriately. The other weird thing is that while there is wi-fi, you either have to hang yourself and computer out the window or sit out on the terrace to get it to work. I don't think it would be a big deal in the summer, but it was a bit chilly when we were there.

Room Tip: -Be prepared for stairs. Lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank govinda8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

The short: Contrary to their marketing, this is not a hotel, but still, this is a cool dwelling in Rome.

The positive:
1. Extremely cool concept - staying in a fountain in Rome
2. The room was exceptional with large comfortable bed, plenty closet space, large and cool bathroom, great balcony, tv with loads of channels, free wifi, free minibar and a nespresso machine in the room.
3. Great restaurant recommendations!

The negative:
1. Even though we sent our arrival times in advance and were there at that exact time, we had to wait 30 minutes on the street and we had to call 3 times before any staff arrived at the "hotel".
2. As we were checking out Sunday morning we had to pay on Saturday. We were informed of this as we received breakfast. Less than an hour later they knocked on our door and requested the payment, which was then made in the hallway with me in my pyjamas and robe feeling extremely uncomfortable. Unprofessional beyond belief!
3. (Empty) Toiletries were not replaced and the nespresso capsules were only decaf.


We did not expect a hotel, nor did we want to stay in a traditional hotel.The negative aspects of this place reflect a total lack of professionalism, which you could accept when staying in someones house, but not when you pay for your accommodation. Despite this, I would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Olivia81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Moses Fountain Guest House, March 2012. We stayed at the "Swanky Cardinal" - the red room. A spacious beautifully designed room with a unique bathroom and a tiny terrace overlooking the busy junction below.
The room is nice and lit, perfectly equipped, warm and pleasant. There's a free minibar they stock with light drinks and an espresso machine in the room.
Breakfast was never the same in the 3 days we stayed there - but it always included a small bowl of fruit salad, another one of vegetables (no dressing, on the 3rd day we got olive oil), great cappuccino, toasts, croissants, and a bag with biscuits and crackers to take with us along the way.
The shower is really big and uniquely designed. The hosts take big pride of it.
As for the location:
The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the Termini station, which allows you to take the train to and from the airport instead of a taxi. There's a 2 minute walk from the hotel to the Republica metro station (the line goes to the Vatican). It's about 10 minutes to the Piazza Barberini, 15-20 minutes walk from the hotel to the Spanish Steps and about the same distance to the Piazza Venezia. Slightly longer walk to the Colosseum. During the day the area around the hotel is very busy. At night it's a lot quieter which makes it a good place to rest. However, if you're looking to stay in the middle of everything with a variety of restaurants right below - this is not it. We loved our stay at the Moses Fountain and may consider staying there again. But if you are not a walker - take into consideration there's a climb up the stairs to your room (no lift) and that at the end of a Rome walking day the last 10 minutes walk to the hotel through a relatively dormant area could be really exhausting.

Room Tip: We only saw our own room - the Swanky Cardinal, the red room. It was beautiful, spacious, pampering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mom_of_s_n_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2012

My colleague and I have been traveling around the world practically every week for the last six months. We have each stayed in perhaps over two hundred hotels over our respective lifetimes. We can say, without hesitation, that the Moses Fountain Hotel, was the most wonderful hotel of all time. The hotel was like a sanctuary from the outside world. From the moment we arrived, we were warmly greeted by Emma and Jean who helped us with our luggage and made us feel right at home. The rooms were perfectly appointed with dramatic ceilings. The fridge was stocked with a nice variety of free beverages. The rooms were spotless. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the television had hundreds of channels. The shower and bath were perfect. The water temperature was just right. There were abundant towels and robes. There was a roomy safe for valuables and closets with a perfect amount of room for suits and dresses along with an ironing board. The breakfast was beautiful and the freshly squeezed blood orange juice was an all time favorite. This hotel is flawless as well as reasonably priced. We cannot say more positive things about any hotel anywhere in the world. The hotel is perfectly well situated. It is a 5 minute walk to the Metro and a 10 minute walk to the train station. There are wonderful restaurants in close proximity. If these rooms were for sale for a permanent residence in Rome, they would make perfect apartments. This hotel is a must stay for anyone visiting Rome.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MitchellKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed at The Moses Fountain Hotel for 2 nights and were really happy with the level of service and the details in the room. The added bonus of a turkish steam room in the bathroom was a 1st, but is needed after a full day in Rome! The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The little extras like the free mini bar and Nespresso machine were also well received. The staff were very friendly and helpful, including out late arrival and helping with our bags. It is a little hard to find but is another interesting feature of the hotel! We would definitely stay again and would recommend to others!

Room Tip: We stayed in Theresa's Room - highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Just returned from a four night stay at the Moses. fountain in Rome. Hotel was beautiful and our room felt very private given that they were no guest rooms adjoining on any wall. After walking round Rome all day it was fantastic to return to a double sized rain shower and steam room! Having this extra certainly made the hotel and we made very good use of this facility. Etna toiletries were lovely, even as a woman I didn't even need to use my own!

The staff at the hotel we very friendly, helpful and gave good tips about Rome. The hotel was a little tired around the edges but the quality of the bathroom, the service and the privacy definitely made up for this. This is not the hotel for you if you want 24 hour service etc but if you want a homely private environment I would recommend it!

Room Tip: Upgrade you room! The superiors are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curlygurly2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Gioberti Art Hotel
Gioberti Art Hotel
#125 of 1,271 in Rome
346 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Mascagni
Hotel Mascagni
#137 of 1,271 in Rome
968 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Palladium Palace
Hotel Palladium Palace
#236 of 1,271 in Rome
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Residenza A
Residenza A
#544 of 1,271 in Rome
205 reviews
JC Hotel
#434 of 1,271 in Rome
277 reviews
Esquilino
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Milton Roma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moses Fountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moses Fountain

Address: Via 20 Settembre, 98/L, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#108 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#272 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: $76 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Moses Fountain 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please contact the property in advance to communicate your arrival time. For arrivals after 14:30, you will receive a code to access the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Moses Fountain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moses Fountain Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing