We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Locanda San Cosimato
Ranked #525 of 1,091 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Silkeborg, Denmark
1 review
“Excellent location”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The location is excellent. You live "with" the romans, they drink their coffee at the cafe downstairs, they buy their flowers, fruits, vegetables, meat and fish at the market in the piazza just outside your windows and after the market they play with their children at the piazza. 200 meters from the hotel is the lively Maria piazza, 100 meters in the other direction are cosy restaurants and small shops. The neighbourhood feels secure. The old city is within easy walking distance, 15-20 minutes to the Pantheon. The room was VERY small, but with A/C and a fair bathroom (small). Be aware that no one at the restaurant that manages the B&B speak anything but Italian.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    37
    20
    12
    10
See reviews for
12
41
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was difficult to locate after bring dumbed off by the taxi. It is located next to a bakery. It has a green door with a small sign. Go to the second floor and look for another sign for the B&B. The rooms are very small and basic but clean. Room service daily and a small breakfast. Breakfast is 3 doors down and offers pastries, cafe, OJ, and cereal. All in all very basic, but good for the price. Location is great for restaurants and shopping. All attractions within 20 min walking distance. Beware the bakery stays open late and can get quite noisy with the very thin walls.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmoore002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

A very good location in Rome, easy to walk into the city from this spot, with many different restaurants and bars just around the corner. This was my second visit here to this hotel. Very lively square at night. Room is very small and very basic, but adequate for a short stay, when all you just want is to dump the bag and get outdoors and into the nightlife. Room rate had gone up by Euro 10 to Euro 90 per night from previous visit, which is probably high for what you get, but thats Rome!. Cafe downstairs was very handy and reasonably friendly if you try out your italian. Breakfast in the morning is relatively basic but you can eat as much as you want.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Very conveniently located in Trastevere, Rome within easy walking distance to public transport, lots of great restaurants and bars.
Small rooms but clean and with everything necessary for an easy stay.
Breakfast is served in the downstairs restaurant.
Good security.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k3rryh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2011

I stayed for three days in the Locanda hotel and found it very over-priced for what it offers, The rooms are incredibly small, there is only the space for a bed (I had to jump over the bed to be able to shut the windows), noisy (the walls are in paper), the breakfast is minimalist, the staff unfriendly and unsmiley even when you speak decently Italian, there is no lobby and no services of any kind. Overall, it is clean and well-located but I will certainly look for a nicer place in the area for my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleo222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rome hotels

Rugby
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Had to go to the Cafe to be shown to our room. The girl was quite freindly. We had asked for twin room, but ended up with a double and they were unable to change this as fully booked. It wasn't the end of the world though as we were out and about til very late each night and could have slept on a washing line, saying that though, the bed was comfy, but could have done with another pillow. The girl that showed us the room got us some more coat hangers when we pointed out that there was only 1 in the wardrobe and agreed that we could store out bags til 6pm on the day of our departure.

This isn't a hotel as such, it is like living with the locals, but didn't actually see any of the other people living there. The rooms are on the 1st floor and the building feels very secure. Our room (no 3) was quite small but was bright, had modern furniture and a newly fitted bathroom with decent shower cubical and a hairdrier. It over looked the square that has cafes, market stalls and a florist surrounding it. The sheets and towels were replaced daily.

If you are looking for a touristy place with no true Romans around, then head towards the centre a bit more and pay twice the price. It you want to be with the locals and feel the real Rome vibe, then stay here. It was a little noisy at night due to the small cafe below...just talking and them packing up at midnight, but a lot less annoying than traffic noise, horns and sirens, which there was none of. We paid 100 euros a night for the room, including a basic, but fresh and filling continental breakfast that is served til 10.30am.

As in any, City there were a few down and outs around but not the pestering type, they were too drunk to stand, let alone do me any harm. We were two 30 something women and didn't feel threatened once. They were few and far between though.

When facing the building, if you take a left and walk for about 2 mins (or anywhere in the area) you will come across a maze of narrow cobbled streets full of character and eateries and small piazza's. It is easy to get lost, so take a map, but that's part of the fun. A great place to sit and people watch. There is some graffiti on the walls, but this is common in Europe unfortunantly. People of all ages mingled together. Prices here are cheaper than in the centre too!

Within 5 mins walk is a tram line and lots of bus stops taking you all over the City...get a 4 euro day ticket from the tabaconist near the hotel and get on and off as you wish...get it stamped in the yellow machine 1st on the bus to validate it, then you don't have to show it again, unless checked. If you wish, you can walk to all the sites within an hour max, some sites are a lot, lot nearer. There was a public transport strike on our 2nd day, but still managed to go to at least 3 or 4 main sites. You get to see a lot more when walking too.

A great place to stay for someone who wants to see the sites without breaking the bank and without feeling like a typical tourist. Great to sample the culture of real life Rome.

Hopefully I will be able to go to Rome again, and this is where I will be staying!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meowbinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We booked on Expedia and it was not cheap: $140/night, but when we arrived no one was there.

The neighborhood of Trastevere - although called charming in the Lonely Planet guidebook, was dirty and scary. The piazza the hotel was in was scary and looked like projects.

The "hotel" - if that's what it could even be called - was inside a run down building that looked like it was falling apart. The doors were filthy and truly looked like a place you would find prostitutes. No one answered the door when we arrived, which in the end was probably a blessing. We went to a nearby internet cafe to book a different hotel.

I would never recommend that anyone stay at this hotel, nor in the neighborhood of Trastevere. It's not charming at all. There are many other places in Rome that have a local flavor without being scary.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bodhi_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Ripa145 B&B
Ripa145 B&B
#1,478 of 3,642 in Rome
77 reviews
Trastevere
No photo provided
Trasteverooms La Bernardon
#2,272 of 3,642 in Rome
2 reviews
Trastevere
Trastevere Dream House
Trastevere Dream House
#298 of 1,091 in Rome
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Casa Vacanze Nonno Giulio
Casa Vacanze Nonno Giulio
#2,652 of 3,642 in Rome
3 reviews
Trastevere
B&B Courtesy
B&B Courtesy
#2,392 of 3,642 in Rome
5 reviews
Trastevere
Torripa Resort
Torripa Resort
#2,398 of 3,642 in Rome
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda San Cosimato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda San Cosimato

Property: Locanda San Cosimato
Address: Piazza Di San Cosimato 63, 153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #525 of 1,091 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Locanda San Cosimato 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Locanda San Cosimato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing