We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean room, friendly services, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mok'house B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mok'house B&B
Ranked #18 of 3,762 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“clean room, friendly services, good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

room is clean and lovely decorated, good location to all the main sight seeing places and transport. Although wash room is outside the room, it is still very convenient since which is only use by us. There are some good restaurant, very good italian food and not expensive. With coffee making and refrigerator outside the room. There is a bar at the oppostion of the hotsel, some noise but acceptable.

Room Tip: Not easy to find, must google location first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelsey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mok'house B&B, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Thanks for your words! Come back soon to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    60
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
219
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Having used Tripadvisor in order to find a place to stay in Rome for a weekend break, I think it's fair to let people know what a great find Mok'house was.

Firstly, booking the room was made very easy for us. I emailed the staff using the address on their website and after a few emails, I'd booked the 'Fiat 500' room. All they requested was one night's fee as a deposit and for us to let them know nearer to our stay about our flight times so they could be in place to welcome us upon arrival.

Having used the Leonardo Express to get from Fiumicino Airport to Termini railway station, we were quite fortunate that the hotel was only a five minute walk from the station exit, as all of Rome's rain came in one afternoon.

When we arrived, Isabella was there to greet us and helped us take our baggage up to the top floor which, despite the four flights of stairs, didn't take too long.

The room itself looked just as it did in photos on their site and on here. Isabella gave us a guide to what was within walking distance and tips on how to get around the city, including local Metro stations. She was very kind and her tips and advice helped us throughout our stay in the city.

That was our only real communication with the staff as we spent every possible moment walking around Rome, other than notifying us that there was no rush to leave on our final morning because the room wasn't booked which was very helpful and let us enjoy our last few hours.

The room itself was just what we needed - a comfortable bed, powerful shower and a strong wi-fi connection. The '500' room, along with the 'Vespa' room are next to each other in the same apartment and are accessible by the same front door. The 'Vespa' was empty during our stay and upon reflection, we're not sure how different it might've been if we hadn't had the floor to ourselves in relation to noise. Both rooms share a communal fridge which was helpful.

Despite the location being great in regard to getting about the city, there's hardly any noise. Admittedly, we did go in November but even so, nights were very peaceful.

A great location and a very comfortable room is an ideal combination so I would definitely recommend Mok'house to anyone who is looking to do their own thing in Rome.

Room Tip: The '500' room has an en-suite bathroom whereas you need to walk past the '500' room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mok'house B&B, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello, and thank you for the wonderful review! It's a pleasure to read that you have been well and that you have enjoyed Rome in the best way. We greatly appreciate the help you have given us and that you give to other readers of Tripadvisor. Come back in spring so you can also enjoy the terrace on the roof! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Everything is perfect except no elevator which we knew before booking. We got the Fiat 500 room with private bathroom within the room. The other room Vespas has its own private bathroom but it is located outside the room. Please note that the room is located on 4/F of an old building. Very clean and comfortable room with balcony. Have to walk a few min to a cafe for breakfast (A crossant, a coffee + an orange juice). The restuarant around the corner, La Forchetta d'Oro, sugguested by Mok's House B&B is very good. We went there for 1 lunch and 2 dinner during our 3 night stay in Rome. The walking distance from train station is ok.

Room Tip: We got the Fiat 500 room with private bathroom within the room. The other room Vespas has its own pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WinnieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mok'house B&B, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thanks for your review! We hope you can come back in spring to enjoy better weather and the terrace on the roof!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had the Classic Apartment for a few rainy days in November-December. A big draw was walking distance from Roma Termini, since we came by train from Switzerland and didn't want to navigate any other transport on arrival at night. We expected a hotel room with a kitchen, but obviously hadn't done our homework - the apartment felt huge for the price! It's a bit dark, not much sunlight reaches down, but in winter time, who cares? We took the stairs to the roof terrace once, just to have a look - not much use in December, but probably awesome in summer.
The office on ground floor was a great resource, and every convenience was just around the corner. A lovely stay - and then we could walk to Roma Termini again to catch a train for Civitavecchia and our cruise to the U.S., but that's another story!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henkess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mok'house B&B, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thanks for your nice words! We hope you can come back in spring to enjoy the terrace under the bright roman stars. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Mok'house with my husband for 4 nights in the Fiat 500 room and could not have asked for a better place to stay on our trip to Rome. Great location, lovely area only a short walk from Metro or 10 minutes from the Colosseum.

Greeted on arrival, room was spotlessly clean, spacious, comfortable and decorated in style. Isabella pointed out places of interest and importance in the local area and recommended some places to eat and drink (as well as leaving talking us through their helpful Guest Guidebook). Check out was equally straightforward, we were able to securely leave our luggage to collect later in the day with no cost.

Stairs no issue (I was expecting a far more flights from people's reviews previously?!?) and Isabella was on hand offering to help carry luggage.

Breakfast great at local cafe, friendly and straightforward. Also even better no time constraints so can visit at your leisure.

When we return to Rome we'll be staying at Mok'house again. Thank you!




Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blunderkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mok'house B&B, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thanks to you! It's always a pleasure to read that our guest had a beautiful time at mok'house and in Rome. We're trying new restaurants, so come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

5 of us stayed at the Moka Classic Apartment. We were greeted with a welcome with plenty of information on the local area. We found the apartment clean, good facilities (1 shower room and 1 ensuite) and most importantly well stocked with Coffee! Great location, a short walk to the Colosseum. We would recommend staying the apartment, for the price you would be hard pushed to find anywhere with such a good location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chettle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mok'house B&B, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thanks for your nice words, the traditional "coffee" hospitality never fails! Come back whenever you like!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We only stayed in Rome for 2 nights so we wanted somewhere near Termini station and not incredibly expensive and found the Mok'House reviews. We stayed on the fourth floor in the Vespa Room. This is just a hotel room, not an apartment. The bathroom for this room is in the corridor shared with the next room but it is considered a private bathroom. The light in the corridor is motion activated but doesn't turn on when you leave the bathroom until you are almost at your room door. It was challenging getting up 4 flights of stairs with our bags but we travel light so this place is not for everyone. Despite a quick lesson on the coffee machine, I couldn't figure it out. Posted instructions would help. Even so, it was obvious to us that of all the places we stayed on this trip, these folks worked the hardest to make it a pleasant stay. The Breakfast side of the BnB is down the street at a cafe. It was continental and the pastries were terrific.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parishfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco S, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Mok'house B&B, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thanks for your words and your suggestions. We can't help with the stairs, but we'll write the instruction for the coffee machine and you'll find them at disposal if you come back to visit us. Just one clarification, the corridor is shared between the rooms, as well as the fridge and the coffee machine, but the Vespa bathroom, despite the position, is private, as the 500 room has its own bathroom inside. Thank you again for noticing our work, and come back whenever you like!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,467 reviews
Monti
The Fifteen Keys Hotel
The Fifteen Keys Hotel
#8 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,290 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Monti
Villa Spalletti Trivelli
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#20 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mok'house B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mok'house B&B

Property: Mok'house B&B
Address: Via di San Martino Ai Monti 38, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 3,762 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Mok'house B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique in its style, inspired to the Italian design and inspired by the espresso coffee pot (the "moca" in Italian), mok'house for us means "the house of hospitality", as we feel responsible for the success of your holidays and for the good memories that you will bring back home with you. When our guests do not want to leave, then we understand that we are on the right path.mok'house offers you all the charming and magical atmosphere of a hidden and genuine Rome. More than just a location, mok'house is a "concept of hospitality": you will understand our sense of hospitality from the very first e-mail to the last tip for the best gelato or pizza or how to avoid the long lines at the Vatican Museum. You will be sleeping in a typical building of the XIX century, in the heart of the most ancient neighborhood in Rome (Rione Monti), just a few minutes walk from the Coliseum and within walking distance of all main sights such as Trevi's Fountain, Spanish Steps and Piazza Navona (within 20-30mins. walking from our building). Also, a lovely bakery is located just across the street and restaurants, wine bars, supermarkets, banks and grocery stores are within our block. All you are looking for to have a wonderful Roman Holiday is here at mok'house and we look forward to have you as our guests to experience the real flavors and colors of the Eternal City. mok'house - Rome Suite Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Mok'house B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing