We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Building, Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B Palazzo del Duca
Ranked #2,295 of 3,617 Rome B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Historic Building, Perfect Location”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Palazzo del Duca in 2009 after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. We loved it so much, we've just booked it for 2013 as well. The location was what drew us to it but after having stayed there and relaxed over the amazing breakfast in the really beautiful common room we knew we'd go back there if we got back to Rome. We're very happy they have room for us!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, all fronting the street but the thick walls are incredibly soundproof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedE2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    13
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
49
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Alessandra, the owner (who does live on-site), was such a friendly, helpful host during our stay, encouraging us to feel welcome in her home and giving us lots of sight-seeing suggestions. Her warm personality and the awesome location were the best things about the B&B. It's pretty centrally located, so it's at most a 20- or 25-minute walk to everything you'll want to see in Rome. It's super close to the Piazza Navona, with lots of restaurants, and right next door to a fantastic gelato place. Our room was large and mostly comfortable (all of our beds in Europe were hard and this was no exception), and there was almost no noise from the busy street below. I wish the air conditioning had been more powerful, and it would have been nice if toiletries were supplied. But these are minor details and we still felt well taken care of. We had to leave early for the airport on our last morning and Alessandra made sure we had full breakfast and helped us arrange transportation. It's a neat building on a lively street, and staying here felt like an authetic Roman experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Amazing location, wonderful, helpful and enthusiastic hostess, charming if eccentric room.

The room I was in had an almost strangely unnecessary set of stairs to a bureau and a little chair and table. The bed was very hard, but I came to realize through my trip in Italy that this is pretty standard in Italian B&Bs. The wifi was very tricky as you are in a very old building with intensely thick walls.... This was a bit of a problem for me as I had work to do with files to upload, but it did eventually work--just not without it's stresses.
Breakfast was lovely in a fantastic shared room and the life on the street below an amazing entree to what Rome has to offer.
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epgiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level Contributor
232 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Beautiful B&B in a great location. Very clean and nicely furnished. A very good value w/a luxury feel. Located on a noisy street, but the rooms are so quiet you think you're in the country!! The owner doesn't live there so difficult to check in when you are traveling and not in control of your arrival time. We had to leave before breakfast but she provided us juice & croisants & access to coffee, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Located in a very old neighbourhood, this B&B lets you experience life in the old city. Narrow cobblestone streets, lots of night life, close walking distance to all of the major sites and great local restaurants make for a great holiday.

Alessandra, your local hostess, will provide you with guide books and advice to help with your plans. She will be there for breakfast, providing a full hot breakfast (which is totally unusual in Italy!), in case you have any questions or need directions.

You will share her historical family home and live like the long past cardinal to whom the house first belonged. High ceilings, big windows, hardwood floors and modern bathroom facilities!

Enjoy Rome while you stay at Palazzo del Duca!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed 5 nights here and grew to love it and our charming host, Alessandra. A native of Rome, she really perked up our mornings with her friendly tales and her knowledge of the city as we dined on lovely breakfast selections that included pastries, meats and cheeses, yogurt, fruit, eggs on request, and more. The street was perfect for walking and exploring the historic city center; we only used a taxi to get to and from the train station (25 euros). Our one snafu—quickly forgiven—was upon arrival when we waited about 35 minutes for her to arrive to let us in although we had apprised her 3 hours earlier about our exact arrival time. For our budget, it was a somewhat expensive stay, but we felt it was well worth the price for the superb location and the lovely host. Grazie! Tutto bene!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeTravel2Learn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Alessandra and Maurizio gave us a very warm welcome to their B&B right in the heart of Rome, in our favourite street. With only a couple of rooms, you can really feel like the apartment is your own.

The room was lovely, with amazing high ceilings and a small mezzanine floor, great little bathroom and painted ceilings.

Breakfasts were wide ranging, with continental on offer, and also the option of eggs and bacon.

It was the perfect B&B and definitely the best we have stayed in in Rome, and this was our 4th visit. It's not cheap, but for the hospitality, accommodation and location, it was great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
Hotel Teatro di Pompeo
#498 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Rome Accommodation Governo Vecchio
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora Donna Isabella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Antica Dimora de Michaelis
Antica Dimora de Michaelis
#329 of 3,617 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Governo Vecchio
Navona Governo Vecchio
#1,152 of 3,617 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
B&B Un Posto a Roma
B&B Un Posto a Roma
#542 of 3,617 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Palazzo del Duca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Palazzo del Duca

Property: B&B Palazzo del Duca
Address: Via del Governo Vecchio 115, 00186 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,295 of 3,617 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Palazzo del Duca 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo del Duca B&B is situated in a aristocratic Residence perfectly conserved, furnished with elegance and charm. The dwelling which houses Palazzo del Duca B&B was built around 1492 a few years after Christof Columbus had discovered America. Palazzo del Duca is a private and intimate B&B, where its manageable size allows a great refinement of detail. Our restaurant at the Colosseo "L'Invincibile ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Palazzo del Duca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing