We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!! Go and Book it now! If you are going to Rome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maria-Rosa Guesthouse
Ranked #426 of 3,668 Rome B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING!! Go and Book it now! If you are going to Rome”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

At first, I was a little bit hesitant because I don't usually stay in guesthouses. However, since I was on a budget this time (it was not for "business," so it came out of my own pocket), I can say that I was really lucky to have found this place.

Positive comments:

-It was extremely clean.
-Sylvie is an amazing hostess/person; she is also a genius. I was debating whether I wanted to buy one of her photography works, but now, I regret that I didn't.
-The location is great!
-The restaurant/sight recommendations were insightful. It was my 4th time to Rome.
-The bar around the corner offered good pastries for breakfast.
-The rooms were well-designed. I liked the modernism and cosiness put together.
-It was very good value for what it was.
-It felt like it was home away from home.
-When I come back to Rome, I will stay here again.
-I lost my phone in a taxi cab, and she went out of her way to make sure that I got it back.

Negative comments:


There is none.


So do yourself a favor. Stop searching, and just book it here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    81
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
168
49
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I knew Sylvie and her beautiful Guesthouse from a friend and I confirm all the wonderful opinions...Sylvie is a special host, she knows very well Rome and she can help to find special and hidden place of the city; she is very kind!
Suggerisco il posto anche per turisti italiani o di passaggio che vogliono passare dei bei giorni al centro di Roma!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vale d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial Beach, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I arrived Rome without a reservation and was referred to Maria-Rosa Guesthouse and Sylvie. What good luck! The two-room guesthouse is delightful, peaceful, and quiet (on arrival I napped to the sound of gentle rain falling in the interior courtyard outside my plant covered window ledge).

Sylvie was a fabulous host who had all the right amenities in place and lots of knowledgeable advice on where to go and what to see. She really made my stay special and went out of her way to help. I truly felt like a guest in her home.

The guesthouse location in Trastevere (on the "other side of the river") is walking-distance convenient to central Rome and yet in a more quiet, neighborly part of town with terrific outdoor restaurants and shops.

Rome is ancient ruins, yes; but Maria-Rosa Guesthouse is the personal experience you seek in travel. Highly recommended. I hope to be back soon myself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Thanks so much for your hospitality & all the tips on places to go, Sylvie! The list of practical things (best coffee, best pizza, but also wireless internet, nearest supermarket, fav shopping street etc) was great, and I wish I would have had more time to explore the overview you provided of the artists from different eras whose art and architecture can be found all over the city. I love your place, with the art and your photography, and hope to come back some day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank veradenotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Sylvie is a fantastic hostess and provides unlimited advice on attractions, restaurants, you name it - she is there to lend a hand.
The guesthouse is in a very good location. Public transportation is close by. But in most cases you are within walking distance of most attractions.
If you do not mind sharing a bath with one other room we would without hesitation highly recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Thank you for a lovely place to stay in Rome and for all your fantastic hospitality and kindness. All of you made us feel at home and confortable. I also enjoyed reading about your grandmothers. Thank you for the recycling efforts in hope to help the earth and for letting us have the opportunity to recycle while we visited another city. Happy thanks to each of you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarau, Aargau, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2012

A cozy and quiet place and an individual atmosphere at a best location in beautiful Trastevere. It felt like having our own appartment in Rome even though we only stayed one night in this city. We definitely recommend Sylvies' place for longer stays.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Viola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#13 of 1,258 in Rome
2,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Le Stanze di Orazio
Le Stanze di Orazio
#154 of 3,668 in Rome
295 reviews
Trastevere
Arco del Lauro
Arco del Lauro
#19 of 3,668 in Rome
802 reviews
Trastevere
Casa Di Santa Francesca Romana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria-Rosa Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria-Rosa Guesthouse

Property: Maria-Rosa Guesthouse
Address: Via Dei Vascellari 55 | Trastevere, Historic Center, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #426 of 3,668 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free: Wi Fi, map of rome, tourist guide to rome's historic center, binoculars (for Sistine Chapel) & photo tripod (upon request), self-service tea (electric kettle), hair dryer & iron (upon request). Bicycles tours, Bicycles for rent, Laundry service, Fused glass classes, Italian classes, Shiatsu treatments, Original photos and postcards for sale. Linen and towels provided, Independent heating in winter, Fan in summer, 3rd floor (no elevator), No smoking ; English, French & Italian spoken ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maria-Rosa Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing