We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best aperitivo in Rome”
Review of Oppio Caffe

Oppio Caffe
Ranked #9,034 of 12,357 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $11 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Neighborhood: Monti
Description: Elegant dining room where the essence is expressed both in architecture and in the presentation of the dishes, you can share special moments with friends and family tasting the dishes and wines from time to time, the kitchen has to offer. A pleasant adventure in the world of taste with choice of meat dishes cooked on the grill, a wide selection of wines and selected domestic and foreign, cozy atmosphere of sophistication and service with attention to every detail. For those who want to enjoy a dinner with friends, or should celebrate a special occasion or want to surprise with an intimate dinner. Born in 2003, the Opium Coffee has developed over time a deep experience in the restaurant industry hard, achieving high quality in the dishes on offer and in the service thanks to the ongoing efforts of the whole staff. Open daily for lunch and dinner a la carte dinner and lunch, daily menus for children (for each plate paid by an adult there is a flat free for children). The booking is recommended and appreciated.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best aperitivo in Rome”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The service at Oppio caffé was wonderful. You cannot expect from all Italians to speak English but at this caffé they did a good job. We choose to do an aperitivo which is apparently typical for Italians. Basically it is a buffet between 18.00 and 21.00 with Italian specialties like lasagna, dulci, mozarella... In the Oppio, you pay 10 euros, you can visit the buffet once but you can take as much as you want on your plate and one drink of your choice is included. It is a good idea to taste a wider variety of goof Italian food in one evening. It is also has a nice view on the colosseum, so very romantic to do with a partner.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaximeMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,005 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    287
    195
    116
    219
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An expensive experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We went to Oppio Cafe in November 2011. Even though we specifically stated we only wanted to have a drink, the waiter showed us the way to the restaurant section. Presumably they can charge us more in that area than in the bar section. First red flag.

We ordered one medium orange juice and one large cafe latte. When they say large they mean it. I got a mug of coffee large like a pint of beer at Oktoberfest. Never really expected a coffee like that. Sounds like a deliberate ploy to justify the €12 price. The orange juice was €8. They added the 10% service charge so we were left with a €22 bill for two drinks. The drinks were nothing extraordinary either.

It's not unusual to pay expensive prices for poor service in Rome but we really felt like we were being screwed.
Maybe the place is safe if you are Italian, otherwise tread carefully. While the place is briefly mentioned in the Guide du Routard, that should not be taken as an endorsement.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Attempted rip off and very poor chicken burger”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

While we were happy with the location for lunch before we visited the Colosseum, and thought the food looked reasonably priced (although the soft drinks were steep) cosnidering it was so near to one of Rome's greatest tourist attractions, we were incredibly disappointed with the stringy piece of old, tough chicken that they claimed was a chicken fillet - not a chance! Neither myself or my daughter could get close to finishing and ended up making chip sandwiches. Still we were ok about it all until, after asking for the bill and paying we waited for our change. And waited and waited. A €50 note for a €38.50 bill. When it did arrive it was quickly dumped on the table and was €5 short. The waiter had dashed off, so I caught up to him in the restaurant and instantly he apologised and gave me the correct money. It was all so obvious and disappointing and lost him the tip I was about to leave.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gweg275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent view for a romantic drink”
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We were searching for a place to take a drink before going to the restaurant and we found this "caffee" near the Coliseo.
The location is ideal. It is located at 50m from the Coliseo, and from the terrace you have an amazing view.
The service was also very gentle, and the fried calamari we took were excellent.
The price for such a location is reasonable.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soso1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
117 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bad food, nice view of the colosseum.”
Reviewed April 3, 2011

We asked for pasta and they didnt have, there was only lasagna and we didnt like it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bliblo75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oppio Caffe also viewed

 

Been to Oppio Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing