We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go only for the Tapas”
Review of Tapa Loca - CLOSED

Tapa Loca
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Rome, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go only for the Tapas”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Went here with some friends after getting tired of Italian food. paella was disappointing, kind of dry and the fish one was too fishy, the meat paella is much better. The tapas (papas bravas, spanish eggs, croquettas) and sangria were delicious, I would recommend coming here only for the tapas, as the spanish entrees were a bit disappointing. And the service was so slow and inattentive considering there were only two tables.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraCrisK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    110
    59
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“average, touristic prices”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

this small place is the only Spanish cafe on the area and near by touristic piazza. you can try if you dying for Spanish tapas.! otherwise lets try other local options.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Riguerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprising find”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I saw this restaurant several times while staying in Rome. However, what sold me was that it was packed with locals on both Saturday and Sunday nights. The locals weren't wrong, a great alternative to Italian food while in Rome. I had the Ropa Vieja, a salad, and Crema Catalana - all which exceeded my expectations in terms of authenticity and quality.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Township
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spanish food in Rome?”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

In the heart of Rome, right off Piazza Navona, is Tapa Loca. Last winter I spent a month in Rome. While wandering around the spectacle that is the Piazza at Christmas time I came upon this Spanish restaurant. Spanish food in Rome you ask? What a pleasant surprise. The food is great, the atmosphere is of old Spain and the service very good. I went back several times and was never disappointed.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank songino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“awful!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

just got back from this place. it was absolutely empty - shouldve been the first clue. they forgot my husband's food and some of mine and still charged us for it. i caught the charge for the dinner portion, and they corrected the bill. servers just lounged around. and while i didnt expect REAL nachos in rome, the salsa they served was made of ketchup and pickle relish with some spice and vinegar. just horrendous experience for our first night in rome.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maxfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tapa Loca also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing