We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B for sighseeing visit in Rome City”
Review of Almes B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Almes B&B
Ranked #1,020 of 3,645 Rome B&B and Inns
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming B&B for sighseeing visit in Rome City”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

A most enjoyable weekend spent in Rome with family. The Almes B & B was just charming and perfectly located in a quiet neighborhood and in walking distance to the Vatican. We were so well looked after by the owner who advised us well on local restaurants. We would all definitely return and recommend on to friends.

Room Tip: There were 6 of us on this trip and as there were 3 rooms we had the whole apartment to ourselves, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyce k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    41
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
47
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

The B&B looks exactly as it appears on the website, just charming. It's situated in a lovely residential neighborhood that is an easy walk to the Vatican. There's a supermarket at the end of the cul-de-sac and a few small restaurants nearby. The rooms are small, as to be expected in many European lodgings, but they were well-appointed. There were snacks in the fridge for us, which was a nice touch. The bathroom amenities were very good quality. Our hosts were so helpful and even arranged for a car to come get us to take us to the train station. One tip: the B&B is NOT well marked. When you get to the address, you'll see the doorbell pad. On the left of the pad towards the bottom one doorbell is marked "ALMES" and that's the one you want.

Room Tip: We wanted to stay in the room with the mural of the Roman Forum because that's my husband's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mermaid929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

From start to finish our stay at Almes B&B was great. Walking distance to the Metro and Vatican City. Quiet neighborhood but close to things you want to see. Air conditioning unit in the room was very nice ... free wifi too! Breakfast was at a cafe around the corner and the service there was very quick and friendly. Highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Rome. I would stay there again in a minute! Thank you

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMcB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Almes B&B in Rome had tasteful accommodations in walking distance to Vatican City.
The rooms were decorated with landscapes of Italy and the fine linens were a heavenly touch for sleeping. Each bedroom had it own bathroom.
A great location at a great price managed by a lovely family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Medilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

There are so many wonderful things to say about the Almes Bed and Breakfast. A very charming family runs this small B&B that is in the Vatican area. We felt we were more in a Roman neighborhood then in a tourist area. The rooms are comfortable and clean, with free WI-FI and air conditioning. Breakfast was offered at a little cafe around the corner with fresh squeezed orange juice. A couple evenings we took the B&B's recommendations for restaurants in the area and were more then pleased. It is a pleasant 10 to 15 minute walk to the Metro. I highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast, and I would stay there again in a New York minute!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived late in the evening and at first had a difficult time finding the place. It was about a 10 minute walk from the closest metro. Once you're on the correct street, you need to look for the "3" next to the door. And press "almes" on the pad. Immediately, the owner of the b&b came across the street to greet us and let us in. I felt bad arriving so late without letting them know but they were happy to have us. No complaints at all. I think it's a wonderful place. The room we stayed in wasn't horribly big, but got the job done. Also, the owners don't speak great English but wasn't a problem for us. I would stay here again next time we go.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveldigger8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have stayed at Almes B&B on two occasions, last year as a couple and this year with our two teens. It is a great home away from home. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and well-appointed. My teens appreciated the free Wi-Fi. My husband and I appreciated the air conditioning as it was unusually hot in Rome this year. Emmanuela and her mother are charming. We especially love the great restaurants in the area and being the only tourists in each of them. You do need to be willing to walk a good 10 to 15 minutes, maybe 10 blocks or so, from the Metro, but it is so worth it to experience the authentic Rome.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
Hotel Clodio
#477 of 1,257 in Rome
389 reviews
Almes Apartments
#8 of 14 in Frascati
1 reviews
Domus Mazzini B&B
#1,187 of 3,645 in Rome
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanella3
#8 of 3,645 in Rome
369 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#388 of 1,257 in Rome
408 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,202 of 3,645 in Rome
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almes B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almes B&B

Property: Almes B&B
Address: Via Augusto Aubry 3, 00195 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,020 of 3,645 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let yourself be at ease in our home, in the heart of Rome and the Vatican...Centrally located near St. Peter's square and the underground Metro A line, Almes is unique in its love of hospitality and attention to detail. Characterized by elegant and almost fair-tale like furnishing, each room is distinguished from the other, by different tones and colours on the walls and fabrics and by the trompe d'oeil depicting the most famous sights of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Almes B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing