We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Where Romans, Not Tourists, Live”
Review of Almes B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Almes B&B
Ranked #1,020 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stay Where Romans, Not Tourists, Live”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have stayed at Almes B&B on two occasions, last year as a couple and this year with our two teens. It is a great home away from home. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and well-appointed. My teens appreciated the free Wi-Fi. My husband and I appreciated the air conditioning as it was unusually hot in Rome this year. Emmanuela and her mother are charming. We especially love the great restaurants in the area and being the only tourists in each of them. You do need to be willing to walk a good 10 to 15 minutes, maybe 10 blocks or so, from the Metro, but it is so worth it to experience the authentic Rome.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    41
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
21
47
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Almes B&B is truly a gem! The owners are a kind, Italian family that made us feel completely welcome and well-prepared to navigate the city. This was SUCH a wonderful retreat to retire to at the end of an activity-packed day. So many nice touches that made this place wonderful, including heated towel rack, free snacks/drinks, excellent cleaning service, etc. It was only a tiny bit of a hassle to have breakfast be not exactly AT the B&B, but it was very close, delicious, and the restaurant owners were always friendly and helpful.

I really can't say enough good things about this place. It was WONDERFUL. Its location isn't the MOST ideal, but it is very close to the Vatican which was very convenient.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barcelona N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Cozy cute place, the large picture of Spanish steps next to our bed, the walk around the local area full of wonderful restaurants, the easy accessibility to all wonders of Rome, the beautiful b&b owner/family, ....etc endless list of good things, we certainly WILL BE BACK

Kerry & George

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Obourg, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We were blown away by the hospitality and comfort of the Almes B&B! Emanuela, her Mother, and her brother were all very nice and totally accommodated our large family! It was our family's first visit to Rome, and this was the perfect B&B. The rooms are well furnished, very clean, and very comfortable! Easy to get around from, close to good restaurants, and easy walking to Vatican City, as well as the Metro. (Both about 15 min walks) We will definitely return, and this will be our B&B!! (Feels like home away from home!) Thank you again to Emanuela and her family!!

Room Tip: All rooms have A/C, and SKY TV, and the 'Foro Romano' was the quad room--all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaytn70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette Or
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Great location close to the Vatican, just a 15 mins walk. there is bus service at street. Also a super market. Very helpful family. Great room with air and very clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This is a really nice family run business located maybe 10-15mins walk from the Vatican.

The family who run these apartmnets(only 3 rooms available) are one of the nicest we met in our 2 week journey through Italy. You can call them virtually at any time if you have any issues and they will be there in minutes.

The rooms are of good size and very clean & adequate and so represent good value for money. If your primary objective for Rome is the Vatican then this place is a no brainer but if you want to see the Vatican and also everything else the wonderful place has to offer then it's a fair distance from the other attractions. Having said that, the main tourist metro line is maybe a 10min walk and for approx 15 Euros you could use the taxi if your too tired to be bothered with the metro. Also, lots of local wonderful restaurants are close by for a nice dinner so you don't have to go to the centre every night.

We really did love the place, more so because of the family who treat you like family & would love to come back. We did miss living in the heart of the city at times especially when your tired and would like to sneak back for a quick nap but hotels in the city are frightfully expensive so it really depends on your budget.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We spent 4 nights in Almes. We had a great time there. It is very close to the Vatican. We used the public transport just a few time. The staff is very kind and helpful.
There are a lot of café's where you can spend your breakfast.
We loved it very much. It is a typical italian area in Rome.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rome
Prati
207 Inn
207 Inn
#825 of 1,256 in Rome
174 reviews
Hotel Clodio
#479 of 1,256 in Rome
389 reviews
Teulada Domus
#2,102 of 3,643 in Rome
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Almes Apartments
#8 of 14 in Frascati
1 reviews
Domus Mazzini B&B
#1,189 of 3,643 in Rome
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almes B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almes B&B

Property: Almes B&B
Address: Via Augusto Aubry 3, 00195 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,020 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let yourself be at ease in our home, in the heart of Rome and the Vatican...Centrally located near St. Peter's square and the underground Metro A line, Almes is unique in its love of hospitality and attention to detail. Characterized by elegant and almost fair-tale like furnishing, each room is distinguished from the other, by different tones and colours on the walls and fabrics and by the trompe d'oeil depicting the most famous sights of Rome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Almes B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing