We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid location”
Review of Pace Elvezia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pace Elvezia
Ranked #901 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Splendid location

Wonderful location, in the middle of everything in Rome: behind the hotel the Vittorio Emanuele monument and the Trajan’s column; near the hotel Palazzo Colonna via della Pilotta, Quirinale, Via dei Fori Imperiali; Fontana Trevi and Piazza di Spagna at walking distance; a nice bar and restaurants very near. Nice staff at the hotel, the breakfast was OK, the room also OK (but no hot water at 9h. in the morning twice in 5 days). Splendid view from the terrace, probably a very pleasant place to have breakfast… but not in December. A taxi station just behind the hotel, very convenient. An ideal hotel for tourists who want visit Rome walking and enjoying beautiful views everywhere.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silvisly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 100 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

I am surprised at the negative reviews I read about this hotel. I am a very frequent traveller and I learnt how to adjust expectancy in line with the city and period I'm travelling. In Rome city center you should expect hotels in old historical buildings where things maybe a bit old fashioned and old style.

I stayed at Elvezia for 2 nights with my wife and our 10 month old baby. Everything was very good from the first minute we arrived. THe reception staff was very friendly and gave us a very good room with a baby cot .

THe location cant be better, 5 min walk to Cliseum, 10 min to PAntheon and 12 to PIazza NAvona. Internet at rooms, good breakfast friendly staff.

What else ?...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GokhanOzkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our poor experience began with check in and the lack of attention from reception staff. Our room was between 2 elevators however the only room with a balcony. It was a hot day and the air conditioner did not work. To open the window is possible but the noise from the traffic is unbearable. The decor is very old. To sit on the toilet one had to position their knees under the wash basin. The only satisfactory result was when we complained and moved to a back room with working air conditioner. Plenty more hotels in Rome

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank Loney60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Pace Elvezia is ideally located near so many of Rome's attractions that you will find it most convenient. The staff is friendly and helpful (but think twice before taking their restaurant suggestions: Claudio suggested Grill & Wine, but it was not the best place nearby.) The top floor of the building has a lovely terrace with great views. It's a wonderful place to relax and take in the vistas after a busy day at the Colosseum, Forum, seeing the fountains or the Vatican....

The rooms and especially the beds are WAY past their prime. The beds were visibly saggy in the online photos but I thought that they could not really be that bad - but they were! They must be 50 year old beds and the mattresses half that age.... The bathroom was OK but needed a major overhaul as there were patches etc. that made it feel just this side of seedy.

The breakfast was fine, plenty of variety. The gal in charge of replenishing the buffet and bringing coffee or tea to the tables was not great at checking back to see if we needed more to drink (one cup of coffee is not enough when you're battling jet lag).

How to rate a place like this? It is probably 2 or 3 star quality, but in a 5 star location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryPope-Handy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Brilliant location, just a stroll to most of the major sights. We even had a birdseye view of the marathon from our balcony! The major winning feature is the roof terrace. Once we had got our bearings we realised that not only could we see the Roman Forum and the Colloseum but also St Peters and the Vatican City. An unbeatable spot to sip wine and take in the views and the sunset. On the downside the interior of the hotel was more 'faded glory' than 'shabby chic' but we were travelling with friends who shared the same opinion as us, which was that at least it had a bit of character and didn't have the blandness of a 'chain' hotel. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast choice was generous, and I think that if the place had a facelift it would be even more popular.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scrumhalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel location was great- it is only a short walk to all of the major highlights of Rome. The rooms were spacious; however, one of the pillows on the bed appeared to be blood stained and it also looked like there was blood splatter on the wall. Either way, the hotel rooms could use some major updates.

Room Tip: Request a room on a low floor as the elevator is VERY small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Please save yourself from a terrible experience. This hotel says it's 4 stars, no way. Peeling wall paper, stained rugs throughout, walls crumbling, moldy showers and sinks are the amenities here. Upon arrive we were unhappy and asked to see other rooms. We looked at 4 and found the same, or worse in the others. They set the air conditioning to only go as low as 20•C! This place is a property of Leonardi Hotels, be careful to avoid.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank baileymoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
Hotel Pace Helvezia
Hotel Pace Helvezia
#390 of 1,272 in Rome
690 reviews
Trevi
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#332 of 1,272 in Rome
658 reviews
Trevi
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
Comfort Hotel Bolivar
#295 of 1,272 in Rome
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trevi
Cosmopolita Hotel
Cosmopolita Hotel
#303 of 1,272 in Rome
1,324 reviews
Monti
Hotel Gallia
Hotel Gallia
#707 of 1,272 in Rome
403 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Genio
Hotel Genio
#423 of 1,272 in Rome
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pace Elvezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pace Elvezia

Address: 104 (Piazza Venezia), 00817 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trevi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #901 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: $100 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Pace Elvezia Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing