We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good meal after a very long day”

Ristorante Da Giovanni
Ranked #1,154 of 12,134 Restaurants in Rome
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A good meal after a very long day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel staff and was not far from our hotel on Via Firenze. We had had a long day of driving and were looking for something good closeby. We arrived around 7:00 p.m. (walked) and were seated immediately. The restaurant seemed a little dated by its decor, but it's staff were friendly and helpful with our order. Our first course included spaghetti with tomato sauce, risotto with zucchini blossoms, and pasta. Our daughter had steak, roast potatoes, and a salad. My husband and I had roast chicken and potatoes with our meal. We ordered artichokes as our vegetable. We ordered a bottle of merlot with our meal which was very good as well. We enjoyed our meal and experience here. The cost was great too--about 54 euros for all three and the wine. It was a good end to our first day in Rome.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    180
    96
    34
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Simple but tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

we stumbled across this restaurant which has an old fashioned feel to it. The place was full and the atmosphere was therefore good. Lots of Italians in there. We ordered a starter and then both had the veal which was a relatively small portion so is really designed for having after the pasta dish. We then had a dessert which was very tasty. All in all a good meal where they do speak to you in Italian even if they know you are tourists which we liked.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fionad944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines, Colorado
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I never miss this when in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

My third time over a 5 year period in Rome. This ristorante was suggested the first time we were here and we always go back. Nice walk from our hotel. I get the feeling this has been in the family for years. The same two waiters that took care of us are still there. Same lady cooking in the kitchen. I get the feeling these two waiters have been here forever as well. Nice small neighborhod place. Love the prices, food and service. Really comfortable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
234 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“nice stop after the Vatican tours...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stopped in this place after fighting the crowds of the Vatican, St Peters Basilica and the museums. I recommend sitting outside. It is located right across the river from the Vatican so the location is excellent. The service was very good, the food was good and the price is moderate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice old-fashioned place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Leave excessive expectations and pretensions aside. Here you will find simple, but delicious food, time-tested Italian recipes, fresh high-quality products and great service represented by imperturbable aged gentlemen.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FunkyMonkey550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Da Giovanni also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Da Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing