We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst accomodation”
Review of B&B Santa Croce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
B&B Santa Croce
Ranked #1,010 of 3,668 Rome B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The worst accomodation”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Don't even think about to reserve a room on this b&b, the owner is a cruk, taking advantage of the tourist naifity.
You won't get what is promisses even tho is written.
Stay away!!!
We supposed to have a room with large balcony, a/c, in room bathroom.
We got no balcony, no in room bathroom, no a/c and the kitchen is locked, so you won't be able to have a coffe during the day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    30
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Soriano nel Cimino
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked here after searching for a cheap B&B to cater for our family (2 Adults and 2 kids) at a reasonable rate for 2 nights in central Rome. We found this little gem! Really centrally located, spacious room, separate private bathroom, beautifully clean and well presented room and bathroom. The host was great, we arrived over an hour late due to traffic and we had to wait just 5 minutes for him to get to the B&B to let us in. Street parking right out the front for just €4 per day. He accompanied us to our room showed us the facilities, provided us with a map went through our location and pointed out places of interest and public transport. We asked for his recommendation for a family restaurant nearby and he recommended one just 2 blocks away. He then asked us what time we wanted breakfast and left wishing us a good night and happy stay. We went to the restaurant and enjoyed a good meal of delicious pizzas and seafood with drinks for just €70.
The next morning promptly at 8, as requested a delicious array of breakfast treats arrived, fresh brewed coffee, freshly squeezed juice, yoghurt, hard boiled eggs, toast, assortment of jams, spreads & cheeses and 4 fresh pastries! Way more than expected and what we experienced in the many other B&B's we've stayed in.
Got back from our first morning outing at 13:00 to find our room had been cleaned already and left nice and tidy and ready for us to have a relaxing rest before our evening wandering around Rome.
This morning again we were woken by the lovely maid promptly at 8 with another delicious breakfast!
If we had any complaint it would only be that they should get better pillows :)
We have had a wonderful stay and will definitely come back and recommend this great B&B to our family and friends!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivendoinItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I booked three nights at b and b Santa crose for a 40th birthday surprise for my boyfriend. First night we arrived was great. He told us that we would stay the first night in the suite and then in the morning we will change rooms. Thinking all he meant was to move next door to the double room we agreed that's fine, no problem. Next morning came...we had a tour at the colosseum at 1030 so agreed 930 we would change rooms. He came to collect us and without a word said walked us 10 mins down the road to a different b and b (not as nice at all) and left us there. We had already paid for three nights. When we asked and complained that this is not the b and b we paid for, what's going on. He pretended he didn't understand. We later got 50 euros back off him as he finally admitted he had double booked. Very disorganised, but with an explanation things would have been ok but nothing. Would definitely not reccomend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 642SarahA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santacroce1, Proprietario at B&B Santa Croce, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
For an unexpected, i could be a problem for a room on 29 and 30 April.
The Guest booking was March 28 to 31 and I knew that they celebrated the boy friend birthday.
Upon arrival I proposed to couple with clarity: I give you stay the first night in the "SUITE" (very very beautiful room) at the same price of room booking if you tomorrow morning move to another bb in a nearby building.
Given the great room enthusiastically accepted the proposal.
The next day at 8.30 have breakfast in our room and at 9:15 were ready with luggage closed for the transfer to the bb (so they were well aware that they had to move to the other building).
I have accompanied them to another bb and they have not made any comments.
After reception called me saying that the guest had gone to the Coliseum and at return they wanted to talk with me. AT 2 p.m. the girl . tells me, since the discomfort for the transfer, wanted a discount on the price of booking. After stating that the evening before had agreed to transfer, to close the problem, I proposed them to choose between a discount of € 50 or to return to BB SANTA CROCE. They said they wanted a discount of 50 euro and the issue was resolved.
This is the truth that certifies the transparency and fairness towards guests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I was there with a group of three friends last year and I had an enjoyable stay in Rome, capital of Italy...Maybe was the "fault" of Rome of having such a good time here... The breakfast is fair, the location is ok, just nearby a beautiful catholic church - if you go to the terrace you may touch the saint statues on the roof...

Room Tip: Ask the receptionist for a room up, up, up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkPanther67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

i stayed at this B&B back in may 2010 and thought it was lovely. i went with a friend and we stayed in the twin room, which was basic but very nice. the bathroom was shared with another room, but it was very spacious and very clean. i really liked the location, i felt safe and it is in a quiet enough street with a lovely typical (full of locals) restaurant up the road where we ate most evenings as it was so nhami and cheap. the B&B it is less than 5 minutes walk to the tube but you can also walk (about 10 minutes) to the colosseum. the breakfast is really lovely and the host very friendly. the only problem i had, were the mosquitos... unfortunately there are plenty of them in rome at that time of the year and i spent hours at night trying and failing to sleep as kept being bitten! maybe they could install some anti-mosquito sprays in the room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simplesmentealice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waconia, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Nice B&B. Good breakfast: coffee, tea, fresh squeezed juice, soft boiled eggs, yogurt, toast, pastries, butter, jams, nutella, cheese. All rooms have private bath (some attached to room, some across hall). Must take subway or bus to major sites, too far to walk, but subway stop is only a 5 min walk away. Owner speaks a little English, maid speaks none. Free wifi worked well.

Room Tip: They have rooms with 2 twin beds and some with a full size bed, also, some rooms have bathroom attac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at the B&B Santa Croce in May 2010 and had no complaints. The breakfast every morning was amazing and the rooms were very clean. We walked from the termini to the B&B, I think it was about a 10 or 15 min walk. We tried staying here again this year when we travelled to Rome but they were booked up, too bad! Definately recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfriesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#375 of 1,258 in Rome
415 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,111 of 3,668 in Rome
90 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#93 of 1,258 in Rome
1,190 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#460 of 1,258 in Rome
290 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Canada, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Santa Croce

Property: B&B Santa Croce
Address: Via di Santa Croce in Gerusalemme 91, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,010 of 3,668 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — B&B Santa Croce 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your B&B Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Santa Croce Hotel Rome
Bed And Breakfast Santa Croce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing