We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not your average hostel!”
Review of Blue Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Hostel
Ranked #1 of 1,068 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not your average hostel!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A group of us stayed in 2 rooms and were pleasantly surprised to see that this place felt much more like a hotel than a hostel. There are just a few rooms set aside for Blue Hostel in this conveniently located building, and the 2 we stayed in were really pretty, clean, and comfortable. The owner is really nice - he met us out front and helped us with our bags, gave us a great map of Rome with some favorite restaurants and shopping spots marked, in addition to all the tourist sites. We needed an extra room last minute for our last night and the owner was able to get us one in the same building through the hotel for the same price. Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MR3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirmecobio, Owner at Blue Hostel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your beautiful review!
I have to say that you were very nice guests too!!
It was very very nice to meet you in Roma, hopefully I will see you again in the future?

Ciao!
Ercole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    77
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
220
45
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Super location, good walking distance to all the main attractions. Rooms were simple, yet clean and comfortable. On arrival, we were given a detailed map and recommended restaurants (I don't know if I would agree with some of them though) !! The map was extremely useful throughout our stay. Good walking distance to the train station.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz87_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Room was very nicely decorated. Service was good. Marchelo greeted us & helped us out with our bags to level 3. They even have a cork opener just in case any visitors buy cork wine bottle. Very thoughtful.
However, because it is a wooden hostel so there is not much sound proof. You could here people coming back to their rooms, footsteps from top, etc. Not so suitable for light sleeper.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had just had a horrible hostel experience so we were pretty nervous.The owner met us at the door and helped us up the stairs with our bags.The owner assured us that 'Blue" was not your average hostel. He was extremely helpful and gave us a map of Rome which he made himself and added suggestions for food and shopping. The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable. The sign is beside the door on the wall so it is very easy to miss. The location is great and not too far from the train station. Our belongings were safe because we needed 4 keys to get to our rooms. If I return to Rome I definitely will book this hostel again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirmecobio, Owner at Blue Hostel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Ciao!
Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it!
We would love to see you again at Bluehostel soon!
Take care!
Ercole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Blue Hostel is in a great location, easy to access Metro station, great places to eat etc. What really made it special for me is the entire staff, from the beginning of the booking process Ercole was quick to respond to e mails with numerous questions, when we arrived they made us feel welcome and appreciated. Thank you very much. Until we meet again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

They describe this as 'the hostel that is more like a hotel' and we couldn't agree more. Ercole was a very attentive host, taking the time to talk through an incredibly useful map with everything you could need highlighted. The location is perfect for someone who wants to stay just out of the hustle and bustle but still near to everything. The room was beautiful, two small balconies, a gorgeous bathroom and a small fridge. Being a hostel, breakfast is not offered but there is large supermaket two minutes away and countless cafes to get breakfast. Make sure you get down to the famous Giolitti, with every flavour ice cream you could imagine. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Blue Hostel and would definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmylieNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I just loved this room as soon as soon as I saw it, full of charm, quiet and spotlessly clean. I ran the front bell of the building and Hercules the owner came down and met me and carried my bags up to my room. From the beamed ceilings, the shuttered window overlooking an internal courtyard and rooftops and the modern bath everything was great. Hercules provided me a map he had printed up with all of his recommended places to visit and eat at - I went to a number of them and all were excellent. Hercules really does seem to care about his hotel guests, their comfort and enjoyment of the city. I felt very safe both in the area of the hotel and the hotel itself, coming back one night around 11:30pm by myself. I think the price was very good for the location and amenities and am so glad I switched hotels after seeing this hotel highlighted on a Frommer's Budget Travel email a couple of months before I left. One word of caution to some is that my room was four flights up, no elevator, but Hercules or whoever is on duty will take care of carrying your luggage when you arrive/leave. Also a real nice gelato store with nice people a couple of doors from the hotel towards the church.

Room Tip: I had the end room which was very quiet, the room at the front end of the corridor that has the heav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenaraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,546 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,040 reviews
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
The Fifteen Keys Hotel
The Fifteen Keys Hotel
#8 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Monti
Locanda al Viminale
Locanda al Viminale
#26 of 3,617 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Hostel

Property: Blue Hostel
Address: Via Carlo Alberto 13, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,068 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a former convent built during the 17th century, with an amazing location between Santa Maria Maggiore, Termini Station and the Coliseum, Bluehostel provides fantastic double or triple rooms.Every room at Bluehostel has en-suite bathroom and shower, air conditioning, Lcd TV, free wifi and wooden floors.The rooms are daily cleaned and tastefully refurbished and are decorated with excellently preserved traditional ceilings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing