We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$202
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$217
$187
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Barocco Hotel(Rome)
$389
$317
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$229
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$191
$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$611
$397
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$217
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Navona(Rome)
$200
$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
$337
$286
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Palazzo Naiadi(Rome)
$447
$404
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (468)
Filter reviews
468 results
Traveler rating
375
79
13
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
79
13
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflights of stairstrain stationgave us a mapno liftwithin walking distancesmall fridgenespresso machinelovely roomcomfortable bedmain attractionsair conditioningstay there againgood sizeroma terminiquiet at nightpleasant stayexplore rome
Filter
Updating list...
265 - 270 of 468 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I’ve visited Rome several times, but the last one was the best thanks to our stay at The Blue Hostel.
The position of the hostel is simply unique, walking distance from Termini station (Rome’s main station) and from the main highlights of the city: right after the corner there is the outstanding Basilica di Santa Maggiore!
The neighborhood is lively and it’s perfect to dive into the authentic Roman life.
The rooms are cozy, and very well furnished, with a particular attention to small details; although our room was a little bit small, it made feel us at home and not in an ordinary hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aqu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived at Blue Hostel after finishing a cruise, and only stayed one night before flying out the next day. The proximity to Termini was a primary factor in our decision to stay here. We were pleasantly surprised by the coziness and cleanliness of the room and modern bathroom. There was even a tea kettle and hairdryer in the room. The hop-on, hop-off bus stop is only a short distance, so getting around the city from here is easy! The cafe just at the corner was a nice dinner spot, and are also open early (5AM) for breakfast. The hospitality was great, and the room was quiet.

A couple items of note:
- This hostel is in a historic building that is NOT handicap-friendly. If you have any mobility issues, you should consider the climb required (up 3-4 stories) to your room.
- The bed is very hard. While this is certainly desirable for some, we found it extremely uncomfortable (Think futon - minus the cushy mattress).
- Bring detailed directions when arriving. The signage is VERY small (4x6 inch sign flush on the building), and we had some difficulty finding it. The numbering of the street is not intuitive, so pay attention to the landmarks. Piazza Santa Maria Maggiore is the nearest landmark, if you are arriving via taxi. it is only a block or 2 from there.

Overall, it was a nice place, and I would consider staying there again. It is kind of like staying in a friend's spacious spare room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ESWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirmecobio, Owner at Blue Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you so much for your review!
The room you have stayed at has a very expensive hand made mattress, very hard but super comfortable!
However you are right, maybe it's not comfortable for everybody, while someone loves it and ask me where they could buy one some others find it very hard.
That's why we have decided to change it!
We are also improving the signage!
Thanks for all these suggestions! We really appreciate and encourage suggestions, it's the only way to improve really!
I hope to see you again in Rome to try the new mattress .)

Ciao!
Ercole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

this is a first class private room hostel, located 5 mins walk from the train station. a renovated convent, with modern shower room and a lovely bedroom, telly (not that you'll have time to watch it) hair dryer, tea and coffee. perfect location to walk to most of the top must see sightseeing spots. Ercole and Marchelo (i hope i spelt your names right?) will help you with any information you need, friendly hosts indeed. you can't go wrong staying here, hope to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mellyblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The room was very pretty, clean, and cute. The room service was also very friendly, as well as the guy that runs the hostel. All in all, we had a great time there, and we recommend it to everyone. The Rome is absolutely beautiful, and we had a great Valentine's Day vacation in Rome.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogo00gogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirmecobio, Proprietario at Blue Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you very much for you kind words of appreciation!
Hope to see you again in the future. All the best!
Ercole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The standard of the room in this hostel was very good indeed. Large comfy bed with extra pillows and quilt. Clean towels and a hairdryer in the bathroom. The decor in the bathroom was of a very high standard with a great shower. Towels were replaced every day when the room was cleaned. There was a tv and a small fridge if you wanted to keep your own drinks. There was also a selection of travel books in the room. Marchelo who checked us in was very helpful and gave us a lot of information on how to get around, where to eat etc. The hostel is not suitable for disabled guests due to the 3 flights of stairs. Don't be put off by the hallways, this after all ia a very old building and once you get in your room it more than makes up for the halls. I have stayed in many hotels around europe and this hostel was of a much higher standard than some I have stayed in. Also a great location right next to the Basilica of St Mary Major and a short walk from the train, metro station. Only down side was that we arrived quite late and took some time to find it because the sign is very small ( its on the left hand side of the street about half way down )

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mirmecobio, Proprietario at Blue Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic feedback.
It makes me feel so happy! I sincerely hope to be your host again in Roma!
Ciaooo!

Ercole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews