We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommended for budget travellers”
Review of Guest House Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Guest House Rome
Ranked #1,685 of 3,642 Rome B&B and Inns
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely recommended for budget travellers”
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We spent there 3 nights. The location is very convenient. The room and bathroom were of a good size, clean and adequately equipped (IKEA style). Marco was very helpful. Everything for a modest price. We will visit again if we have an opportunity.

One minor problem: the room overlooks a noisy street (nothing strange or unexpected in a city like Rome) and the windows are not quite sound isolating, so the street noise was hearable at nights. Earplugs recommended...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mk2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    27
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
53
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

Stayed here from Nov 22 to Nov 27. Guest house was in a very convenient location near Termini Station. Room size was good. Mario was accommodating and helpful. The problem started on the 2nd night with bedbug bites. Got progressively worse on the 3rd and 4th night, to the point where I went to the hospital to confirm that it was in fact bed bugs. Really put a dent in the vacation. The owner moved us to another room for the last night, however the bites were severe and my requests for a refund - even a partial refund have gone un-answered. Also, they denied that it was due to bed bugs which I found very upsetting when I had proof from the hospital in writing.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicklx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guesthouserome, Proprietario at Guest House Rome, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
We are sorry to read this review and - to protect our good reputation - we must say that there are no bed bugs in our guest house. On the medical report - which we saw - they wrote about "punture di insetti", which in italian could mean insects, flies, mosquitos. In the same room, there was another person travelling with the guest, and she got non bites at all in four nights, no one. We had many guests in the same room for weeks and weeks before, and we are having guests now, without any problem. We did not move the guests to another room; they asked for the change, and we accepted to satisfy the request, of course. We still are very sorry for the misfortune our guest had in Rome.
Sincerely, Guest House Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

We had a great stay at the Guest House Rome. Marco is lovely and extremely helpful man. He provided us with a map of Rome and advised us of the must see places and how best to reach them.

The room was very modern and clean, as was the private bathroom. The room had air conditioning and a television.

Breakfast was a help yourself style, with tea, coffee, milk, cereal, toast (sort of like little crackers rather than bread), spreads and biscuits. The biscuits are delicious!!

The location is next to Termini Station, so close to the regional trains and the metro, and both local buses and sightseeing buses also had stops here too.

The area looks a little "rough" but we never felt unsafe. There are lots of delicious restaurants within a few blocks.

We would definitely recommend the Guest House Rome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi_Shaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

The apartment is in a normal residential buidling, it doesn't look much from the outside but don't worry about that. The apartment is very nicely decorated, you walk in a small hall then there are three bedrooms from that and a communal kitchen. You obviously can make drinks as and when and there is a fridge so you can always buy some food on your travels. Breakfast is pastries and cereal and this is all in the kitchen so you just go and get it when you want and leave your pots on the side. The maid comes around 9am and tidys the kitchen and bedrooms.
Marco the owner, met us and showed us the keys for the doors etc, he also gave us a map and advised us on where was good to go.
I orginally thought we would use the metro alot, but to be honest we only used it to go to the vatican as its the otherside of city and also when our feet hurt from walking. We managed to walk everywhere and wasn't a problem following the map. To get a a sense of distance, its about 15-20min to the colloseum.
We got a tour from outside the colloseum which was £56 for two of us. We got a tour round the outside with history, then queue jumped (believe me you don't want to queue), then we went inside and then got a tour of the forum which lasted about an hour. I think this was a good buy.
Overall this was great for us, and Marco was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danandbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I stayed in Guest House for three days . I went in Rome to attend a seminar .
The stuff of the hotel was very friendly . The location was good . I reccomend this property for the friendly environment and the location which is situated.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Guest house Rome is in a great location...across the street from Termini Station. Most big sights of Rome were within a 20 min walk or closer. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The owner of Guest House Rome, Marco, was nice and helpful. When we arrived, he got us settled in and then sat down with us to talk about the sights of Rome. He gave us a map of Rome and showed us the best ways to get there. If we find ourselves in Rome again, we will definitely stay at Guest House Rome.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillnryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We recently enjoyed a three day stay at GHR. We arrived in Rome by train and it was easy to walk ourselves and our luggage to the guest house. To travel around the city we walked to some sites but it was useful to be near public transportation to take metro back home at night. We also took the bus to Tivoli and enjoyed a hop on/hop off bus tour of Rome which both are conveniently located. To go to the airport, we used the car service Marco suggested and it was perfect! The surrounding area isn't posh but we never felt unsafe. The room and bathroom were perfectly adequate and clean; having the kitchen available to make one's own breakfast is a time saver in the morning. All in all a good value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetroFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#282 of 1,256 in Rome
1,268 reviews
The Guesthouse
#674 of 3,642 in Rome
31 reviews
City Guest House
#2,633 of 3,642 in Rome
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Rhome Terminal
Rhome Terminal
#1,111 of 3,642 in Rome
93 reviews
Prati
CdR Guest House
CdR Guest House
#1,291 of 3,642 in Rome
13 reviews
Esquilino
Aenea's B&B
Aenea's B&B
#2,741 of 3,642 in Rome
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Rome

Property: Guest House Rome
Address: Via Enrico Cialdini 14 | scala D - interno 9, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,685 of 3,642 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Guest House Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House Rome is a completely restored apartment of a 19th century building located in the city centre.Just one minute walk to the Termini train station and easily accessed by the adjacent Leonardo da Vinci Fiumicino Airport rail link, Guest House Rome is attractive to the week-end visitors as well to business community.The place – a flat on the fourth floor with elevator - has been designed with modern-day freshness and through its minimalist elegance it offers a peaceful, relaxing environment for busy souls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Guest House Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing