We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice room in central Rome!”
Review of Gentes B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gentes B&B
Ranked #1,574 of 3,668 Rome B&B and Inns
Porto, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A nice room in central Rome!”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It was by need and chance that I've found the room, but it was a pitty that I couldn't find it sooner.

It is not easy to find the place, and that is not very nice... however, the availability of the staff to help is great. For this I give a 3 for identification and 5 for staff...

About the place itself is a shared place, 4 rooms with quite small bathrooms and shared (give a 3 for this). Every room has tv, a nice big bed, very confy, and wireless internet (good service!). (give a 5).

Breakfast is provided. Not a continental breakfast, however it gives everything we need to start a day with energy! :) It has a small kitchen (included in the living room) where you can cook small meals... it depends on what you want!

It is a very clean place and with good and friendly "ambiance".

The staff gives very nice tips about the surroundings and the best ways of moving around the city. (a very deserved 5)

About the price... it is not cheap (40 euros a nigth). That may be a bit pricy for the offer... (give a 3 for price)

I think it is a perfect place to go on a trip alone or in family (if you get all the family and take all the rooms... maybe). The overall opinion e positive. A global 4 over 5.

If you need, make it a first or maybe second option!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gestaltdenker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    30
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
40
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We booked the room 15 hours before our arrival and there was no problem with this at all, The staff was realy friendly. the breakfast was rich and delicious, with yoghurts, croissants, creamcheese, bagels, jams, fresh (staff) home-made coffee. We really enjoyed the location: the Colosseum and the Victor Emmanuel st. was only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The main train station Termini was also only 10 minutes on foot. The Manzoni metro station was only 100 meters from it, and we could reach everything in max 15 minutes ( Vatican, Termini, Colosseum, Circo Massimo, Spanish Steps, etc...) About the room: it was clean, minimalist but very comfortable, with a huge duble bed, TV, safe, linens, and towels.

We would definietly return one day! Don't miss the opportunity to stay here if there is a free room!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benceabalogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My friends and I were so happy that we discovered this little B&B. There were four us in our party and we had two of the three rooms available at Gentes. Stefano was very friendly and offered great advice for touring Rome. He also spoke English well. Everything was very clean and neat. The bathroom, though located outside the room, was still private and for our use only. Gentes is conveniently close to the Manzoni metro stop, making access to the city of Rome easy. I would suggest Gentes to anyone, especially if you are touring Rome on a budget, which we were.

Room Tip: The green room is only room with a bathroom inside. However the other room's bathrooms are direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2012

My mum and I stayed at the Gentes B&B at easter weekend, for my second visit to Rome, and it was perfect! Excellent value for money! When we arrived, we didn't know what to expect... it seemed small, like a little apartment. Stefano was there to welcome us, and he couldn't have been more helpful! :) Our room and the kitchen area was spotless, very clean and tidy! We were given a set of keys to let ourselves in and out... it felt like it was our own little home. I would definately stay there again! Can't fault it! :)

We travelled around Rome mainly via the Metro (underground), and the 'Manzoni' metro stop is just at the bottom of the road from the B&B. Once you arrive at the Termini, catch the Metro to 'Manzoni'.. it's only 4 euros for an unlimited 24hour ticket, or 1 euro for a 75 minute ticket. The metro takes just a few minutes to transfer between the Trevi Fountain, the Spanish steps, The vatican, and many other places.

In summary, I loved staying here, and i would highly recommend it if you are looking for very affordable, no-frills accommodation! :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed in the double purple room for 2 nights a couple of weeks back and I must say, it is quite spacious! Although it was private onsuite, the bathroom was not within the same room. Not much an issue though. The room and bathrooms were kept in very good condition and was sparkling clean. There are some minor cooking facilities like a stove, pots and cups etc at the living area which can be used if needed. Also, we were very happy with the services and helpfulness of the owners. They are always readily eager to guide you on transportation and good & cheap places to eat (local yet not touristy). 2 of which are just found between 3-5mins walk from the B&B. They helped us to book a slot for the Vatican City & Sistine Chapel, allowing us to skip the queue. (Note that you do not really need to stick to the booking slot times strictly. They do allow you to pass through as long as you show them the print out of your booking for that day) Lastly, our onwards train during departure was only around 4pm and appreciated that the owners allowed us to keep the room until we needed to depart & was helpful to booked a taxi and ensure that the driver does not rip us off! (We were ripped off by a shady taxi driver we took from Termini station at the proper taxi stand when we first reached. Recommend to always check beforehand & insist for receipt + take down their license plate). The only drawback was the soundproofing of the place which was slighly poor. Anyhow, this place rocks and I would recommend it to everyone intending on heading to Rome!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jermiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Sainte Marie, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2011

My stay at Gentes was very comfortable. The property is small, clean and modern, offering a nice breakfast daily. Its central location makes moving around rome convenient with walking to nearby attractions like the Colloseum. It is 2 minutes from the Linea A subway stop, which traverses the city and its many sites. The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful in making your visit to rome a memorable one. They were quite eager to help in giving directions, making reservations or offering advise in managing your roman holiday. I would recommend this B&B to friends and others who are seeking a no-hassle and modern accommodation for their stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Laterani Suite
Laterani Suite
#685 of 3,668 in Rome
102 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#371 of 1,258 in Rome
415 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,144 of 3,668 in Rome
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,258 in Rome
6,677 reviews
Campo Marzio
Condotti Hotel
Condotti Hotel
#95 of 1,258 in Rome
1,191 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Papa Germano
Hotel Papa Germano
#451 of 1,258 in Rome
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gentes B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gentes B&B

Property: Gentes B&B
Address: Via Tasso 155, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,574 of 3,668 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Gentes B&B 1.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gentes B&B is a few meters away from the second largest Basilica in Rome and a few minutes' walk from the main symbol of Rome, the Colosseum. The hotel is located in the heart of the capital's history: the popular Via Tasso, actually, is the site of the Historical Museum of the Liberation of Italy and even if is in a central position in Rome, is extremely quiet, because it's away from the main streets and protected by the building of the Scala Santa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Gentes B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing