We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not What We Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beau Site - Antica Residenza
Ranked #576 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not What We Expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I cannot in good conscience give the Beau Site a 4 rating. Maybe a 3.5 would be appropriate. Relying on TripAdvisor reviews, we booked thinking our last two nights in Italy before heading home would be luxurious. Not so much. It's located in a building housing businesses and I believe residences as well. You need to be buzzed in; there is no one to help you with luggage until you get it into the building's lobby and then you must carry them up some stairs to get to the elevator. The owner did come down to help us load it into the elevator. The hotel is located on part of the second floor of the building -- very small. The room was neat, but small, as is typical in most of Europe. Towels were not changed during our two-night stay. I would expect this from a 4-star hotel. A soap dish or small shelf in the shower would have been helpful, as would a robe hook. My husband noticed black mold in the grout in the shower; not cool. The breakfast room is pretty, but had no A/C and was very hot, even in the morning and consisted of pre-packaged croissants, and a few yogurts and some fruit in a bowl; a disappointing offering compared to other (3-star even) hotels we've stayed at in Rome. And the cappuccino was NOT good; how can that happen in Italy? Although located in a great neighborhood and with great air conditioning (thank goodness), and with a very nice, helpful staff, we felt as though we were a bit misled about this property, especially for the price paid.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PalmettoMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludovisi45, Proprietario at Beau Site - Antica Residenza, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving a review about us.

I believe I should answer to a few of your points, which I really disagree about.

First of all, the category of our business is not self-assigned: we call ourselves a Boutique Hotel and no category is reported on our official website, indeed.

Our Hotel is located on the second floor of a historical building and there's - as you said - an elevator. How can you complain about 5 steps before of that?
I came downstairs to help you personally, and that's something we always do especially if asked, even though honestly our "help-with-the-luggage service" is beginning by the time you get to our floor.

Furthermore, you complain about the size of our hotel, but saying your choice was made because you've read the reviews on Tripadvisor; I have my doubts about it now, because many of our guests review our place saying how small and private, but still comfortable it is.

The rules for the housekeeping are actually the same in every hotel, no matter what category or size: it's very easy to have your towels changed day by day. Leaving the towels on the floor is enough. On the other hand, if the towels look dirty, of course we're changing them. Otherwise, we just tidy up.

There is A/C in the breakfast room, most probably it was off because some other guest asked us to turn it off. You could've asked.

You said our croissants are pre-packaged: lie.
Every morning we're serving fresh croissants of the "Tre Marie" company (the best in Italy), that we're cooking in the oven 1 hour before the breakfast time.
"Some fruit in a bowl": second lie. A 50cm tower of three levels with a large variety of fresh fruit is on the buffet each morning. You mention "some yogurts", but don't mention all of the rest: cheese, two kinds of ham, three kinds of bread, two kinds of cereals, three kinds of sweets ecc.

You are the first person ever to complain about our cappuccino. Guests (even the italian ones) can't get enough of it, and some ask for it even three times in a row. I don't blame anyone for my personal tastes.

I believe no place in the world is perfect, and of course we don't think we are, but honestly many of our guests are giving us useful and constructive reviews which we appreciate and focus on because we want to get better. This is not one of them, I'm sorry.

Thank you anyway.

Regards

Fabrizio Ricciardolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    88
    24
    8
    11
See reviews for
41
213
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at Beau site which was a present from our children. As previous reviewers have said, it is a small hotel in the perfect location for seeing the sites. It was just a few minutes walk from the Spanish steps and also from the metro station. There were a variety of cafes, bars and restaurants within minutes of the hotel.
It was easy to get to from the airport using the train and metro.
The attention from the owners was brilliant as they were so helpful and friendly.
The room was a good size and kept very clean.
Overall, this helped to make a wonderful break and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarySta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludovisi45, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Beau Site - Antica Residenza, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the nice review.

We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and you're welcome to come back any time you'll visit Rome again.

Kind Regards

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

As noted by many other, Beau Site sits in a prestigious neighborhood, not far from many of the main sights. We found it easily accessible, with 24 hr concierge (which for those with late or early check in/out, is a must), and there is always someone there to attend to anything that you need. Beau Site is located on the second floor of a charming building, and after hours, you gain access by buzzing the hotel. This was never an issue as the doors would open within seconds of buzzing, and it provides a sense of security knowing that not just anyone can walk in. There are a lot of choices of where to stay when you go to Rome, but what makes Beau Site so special are it's owners and operators, Fabrizio, Linda and their staff.

Location: Beau Site sits between hotels and businesses. The neighborhood is very safe, and full of people is business suits. There are some nice cafes and restaurants nearby, and it is just a short walk to shopping (from Chanel to Nike), the Spanish Steps, the Trevi Fountain, and the metro stop.

Room: Large with high ceilings (as compared to others in Italy). It was clean and quiet, and even for a light sleeper like myself, we had no problem getting a good nights rest.

Service: We arrived at Beau Site hours before check in. We were able to leave our luggage, use the washroom to freshen up, offered coffee, and given a map, directions and suggestions of what to do. When we returned after some exploring and a lovely lunch, we were given a free upgrade and our luggage was already in our room waiting for us with a complimentary bottle of chilled water. Breakfast provides a good selection and start to your day. I cannot say enough about Fabrizio, Linda and their staff. They were always so helpful and cheery. They had no problems answering any of our questions and were a wealth of information. They even helped us book tickets online for the Vatican and the Coliseum, which saved us hours of standing in line. On the last morning, we had to leave the hotel by 6am to catch our flight. The staff called us a cab (which arrived within minutes) and they provided us with coffee and croissants before we left (thank you Paolo!).

You can tell that the people at Beau Site really care about their clients, and there is a personal touch that you don't often find. Thank you Beau Site for a wonderful day in Rome!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludovisi45, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Beau Site - Antica Residenza, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

I guess I can tell this is one of the most beautiful reviews we've read about us.

Your satisfaction with your stay and your comfort is our priority; we give very much of ourselves to Beau Site, and your joy with this place is worth all of our hard work.

Thank you so much for spending time writing such a lovely review, and thanks for choosing us for your stay in Rome.

We're really looking forward to have you here again.

Best Regards

Linda & Fabrizio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Pros:
- very convenient location in a very prestigious neighborood
- friendly, helpful and welcoming staff
- rooms have high ceilings and nice draperies
Cons:
- locals call it a residence, in fact, the taxi driver could not find it. It is not a typical hotel, it is a 7 rooms apartment on a single floor (2nd). You have to ring the bell at the door like you would do in a condo builiding (there are 4-5 floors in the building).
- shower tiles need deep cleaning
- the shower soap holder was broken but even if asked, was not repaired
- breakfast is basic (bread, cereals, etc...juices are on the chemically manufactured side) and you pay for extras: eggs were 2 - 3 euros extra
- paid way too much for the room (which develops vertically rather than horizontally thus restricing movement): note that it was booked in February and since then management/ownership has changed, so rates may be lower now

Service is in the details, it does not cost much ($) more to fix those details to make it an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moreoptions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludovisi45, Proprietario at Beau Site - Antica Residenza, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your careful review, we really appreciate it every time a guest is having suggestions for us.

Actually the ownership has changed since the half of March 2012, and we are running this place as better as we can, but know there's a lot to learn, yet.

To answer your question, I think there are some points that I might make clearer to you, to tell the difference between a Hotel and a B&B.

First of all, we are open h24. A B&B just isn't.

We have three different categories of rooms (3 Classics, 3 Deluxes and 1 Junior Suite). A B&B is restricted from law, because it can have a maximum of three rooms.

We are providing a 24/7 concierge service; a B&B doesn't instead.

Personally, I don't see any bother in the fact you have to ring to get in the Hotel (which is something that still depends on the time of the day), because there is always someone of our staff at the desk to open, and you don't ever wait more than 10 seconds. May I also say that another bigger hotel right next our door operates this way too, especially for the night time.

In the end, if the taxi driver couldn't find us, maybe it's not our fault.

I’m so very sorry for the problems with the shower and the soap holder: those things can happen sometimes, even if they shouldn’t.

Hoping to have you soon as our guest again, and to make you change your mind about the Cons, I wish you all the best and give you my kindest regards.

Fabrizio Ricciardolo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend in Rome. Beau Site was brilliant. Very nice hotel, in a fantastic location. A few minutes walk away from the Spanish Steps, shopping area and Trevi fountain. You won't find a better location. Hotel was very clean, room was great.

Linda and Fabrizio are very nice, and helpful. Before arriving, I had emailed them asking if they could find a florist to arrange for delivery of some tulips. When we arrived, Fabrizio upgraded our room and the flowers were already there, as planned. Thank you.

They had also kindly recommended locations and places of interest. Unlike large chain-hotels, Linda and Fabrizio provide a personal and welcoming touch to our stay in Rome.

I certainly highly recommend Beau Site.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiExPat2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Beau Site - Antica Residenza, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Tyler!

What a pleasure was helping you to arrange this sweet and romantic holiday you spent in Rome!

You and Sasha were very nice and it was great to have you both as our guests.

Looking forward to have you back here next time!

Cheers!

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

For starters, I would be surprised if anyone ever gives this place a bad review. The location is pretty convenient and is within steps of 2 major train stops and is within walking distance to shopping (via Condotti) and Rome sites such as The Spanish Steps and Trevi Fountain. The service is excellent. the owner is on-site everyday to ensure things are running well and is extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms are cleaned everyday and come with central AC and Cable TV. The hotel also has breakfast but if you decide to go out for breakfast there are places close by. My wife and I loved this place and plan on returning back there next year!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth_and_Miguel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Beau Site - Antica Residenza, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear Miguel,

Thank you so much for the nice words about us. We really appreciate your kind review, and both me and Fabrizio are very happy and looking forward to have you and your lovely wife here again.

Best Regards

Linda Vagnarelli
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I and two friends were looking for an overnight stop-over in Rome before joining a ship for a seven day cruise. My wife found the Beau Site on Tripadvisor.com au. The Beau Site is only a very small hotel with about only 6/7 double rooms. What a truly wonderful way to start our holiday..The owners were very helpful and welcoming, the rooms were very good size, clean and the bathrooms had been recently renovated. It was very quite at night and located in an up market part of Rome and is only about a 3 minute walk to the Spanish Steps. There are lots of reasonably priced places to eat very close to the Beau Site. Breakfast was provided and for Rome standards it was very good. Would we stop there when next in Rome ? MOST DEFINATELY. John and Linda McKeon Sydney Australia May 2012

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaLkMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ludovisi45, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Beau Site - Antica Residenza, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear Mr. McKeon,
Thank you so much for your kind review! It was so nice to meet you, your lovely wife and your friends! We hope to see you soon again and that everything is great for all your family.
Oh, and we're looking forward to go and have lunch at that restaurant we've been talking about!
Thank you again for the compliments and the good advices you gave us when you were here, we really appreciate them.
Best Regards
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
Hotel Ludovisi Palace
#341 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
Ambasciatori Palace Hotel
#287 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Berg Luxury Hotel
Berg Luxury Hotel
#266 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Sofitel Rome Villa Borghese
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Hotel Savoy
Hotel Savoy
#174 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Rome Marriott Grand Hotel Flora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beau Site - Antica Residenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beau Site - Antica Residenza

Property: Beau Site - Antica Residenza
Address: Via Ludovisi 45, 00187 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#151 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#251 Family Hotel in Rome
#276 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beau Site - Antica Residenza 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique place, where the guest is the center of everything, welcomed and pampered from the initial smile to the last goodbye, which always leaves a taste of sweet nostalgia to everyone.This is the daily experience at Beau Site, luxurious Boutique Hotel in Via Ludovisi, an elegant street in the heart of Rome, just a few steps away from the magnificent Villa Borghese, that links Via Veneto, birthplace of La Dolce Vita, to Via Sistina, from which guests will reach in a few minutes the most attractive architectural, historical and artistic sights, such as the stairway of Trinità dei Monti, Piazza di Spagna, Fontana di Trevi, Via del Corso and Piazza Navona. The beautiful building where our Antica Residenza is located was built by the famous family of Roman architects Busiri Vici and came originally with the idea of a private home; then, the tranquility, sophistication and exclusivity of the location suggested the restructuring of a portion of the building, in order to create a jewel of hospitality that could ensure class, privacy and relaxation.The elegant décor, the style of the impeccable service and the comfort of each of the environments create a charming atmoshpere that makes pleasurable and memorable even the shortest stay.The Beau Site is a residence which is historical, but still Hi-Tech: the free WiFi and the iPad, available to our customers, are just some of the small details that contribute to create a balanced union of style and efficiency.In the morning, in the Bow Window room (unique in its genre) the continental breakfast is served on a buffet full of sweet and salted meals, always fresh and accompanied by the best Italian coffee and typical products.A special selection of drinks was made by a Sommelier especially for guests of Beau Site, even the most demanding ones. All is provided by a special service in the Bow Window dining room, or in total discretion in your bedroom.Among the various services offered: LCD satellite TV, free WiFi access, free AirPrint, check-in online for flights, online "jump-the-line" bookings for the Vatican Museums, Colosseum, Borghese Gallery etc., send/receive fax, transfer to/from airports, city guides, bookings for tours, open top bus, personal shopper, car rental.Who’s choosing our Boutique Hotel Beau Site knows what he will find, but never expects what being in this unique place really means, until he discovers by himself, being pleasantly surprised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beau Site - Antica Residenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beau Site Rome
Beau Site Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing