We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Hotel and Service I have ever experienced!”
Review of Cesare Balbo Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cesare Balbo Inn
Ranked #398 of 3,668 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
“The best Hotel and Service I have ever experienced!”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have had the opportunity of traveling to many places around the world, from Indonesia and Cambodia to Spain, Dubai, and France. Never have I experienced such wonderful service! The staff was eager to help in any way they could; whether it was directions, carrying our luggage, or making sure we had a good laugh for the day! Everyday they made sure we were enjoying our stay and were seeing the best sites Rome had to offer (how to beat the crowd, where to go, where not to go, etc). I cannot thank the owner enough! You can bet if I am ever in Rome again, I will be staying at Cesare Balbo. I HIGHLY recommend staying. Oh, and the cherry on top of the icing?... PERFECT location. Easy to walk to restaurants, bars, sights, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    78
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
72
82
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hostel was located conveniently close to visit all the main sights of Rome. The hosts, Luca and Glen couldn't have been more friendly and knowledgeable. Their knowledge and advice on all aspects of our visit contributed considerably to the enjoyment of our stay. The room was very clean, comfortable and secure. Travel to and from the hostel to the airport was arranged through our hosts and proved to be extremely useful when visiting an unfamiliar city. We would recommend this establishment to anyone on a budget and would stay at the Inn again on future visits to Rome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMorMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Best aspect of this hotel are the hosts, Glen and Lucca, and the location. With directions and a map, provided on the site, you have to be an idiot to not find this fairly easily. An easy stroll and two 40 lb backpacks, it took us about 15 minutes to find this hotel from the Termini Stazione. It was nice not to have to hop on a metro right after hour plane and train ride.
Sure, there is no big neon sign pointing to the hotel... it is part of a residential building after all. Lots of hotels in Europe are like this, and you just need to use your streets smarts and look for the address numbers on the building.
I found the rooms fairly spacious and just enough room. Bathrooms are tight, but expected since it is Europe after all.
Location was great. Central and away from the throngs of tourists in Piazza Navona and Trevi Fountain. It takes about 10-15 minutes to walk to either of those when you figure out which way to go. The Colosseum is just down the hill street and around the corner.
It is located among other residential buildings so you will find a lot of great little local eateries, restaurants, and cafes in the area. Just walk around, explore, look, and try everything. I felt more like a local there than walking around anywhere else.
The metro is also a few minutes away.
Glen and Lucca were so helpful with directions and suggestions on where to go, sightsee, and eat.
I have to say the one downside would be that you can often hear people coming and going but really, only during waking hours. Otherwise, it was pretty quiet through the night. You will definitely hear some street noise, but not to the extent of busier neighbourhoods.
As for people complaining about the breakfast. It's not bad. You get a packaged pastry, toast, and a capuccino. I'm not sure what kind of spread people were expecting, but if you want a big breakfast, get yourself up in the morning and go out. Rome is beautiful in the morning.
Value for money and location... I would come back here for sure.

Room Tip: Try to request a room at the far end away from the main door. It's quieter and you won't hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexcga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hostel itself was really nice, clean, safe, cozy... with splended location (1st floor in beautiful well-maintained and quiet building, total privacy,) and friendly staff. We have definetely planned to return to Rome and stay at the same place again. This intention was later re-confirmed once the owners helped us out and sent us the things we have forgotten in the room. If you find this review suspicious due to high incidence of superlatives, do believe me! Prolly the best place to stay in R.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hajinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Although not the easiest place to find as there are no hotel signs outside the building, this was a very pleasant place to stay due to its proximity to the station and many of the major tourist sights. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful and the room was spacious and comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was served in the room and was adequate without being special. We had to pay extra due to a late check-in so if staying there again we would aim to arrive before 6pm. The owner recommended two nearby restaurants where locals eat and we tried them both - both were excellent. Overall this was very good value for Rome and we would consider it another time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoMick40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We booked this hotel from other reviews on Trip Advisor - so thanks for that! It was wonderful for exploring the ancient part of the city on foot. We often returned to the hotel in the early afternoon for a bit of a rest or to dump our stuff. Very close to the blue line Metro (only one stop to the Terminus).

Both of the staff members that we interacted with were great. Both speak excellent English and were very helpful. Since it is a small business, there is no one on the desk 24/7, but Glen was usually around in the morning and there were cell numbers where people could be reached 24/7.

Downside: bed was hard; continental breakfast was mostly biscuits (although there was a juice box and coffee); and the internet connection (free) was sketchy in the room (so I sat in the hallway at times, when I really needed to stay connected). I heard someone else complain about the number of keys that you needed (5), but that's the way it works in an old building.

Overall - felt very secure (two women traveling; one experienced international traveler and one first time) and we were really pleased with the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctkingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The location is excellent - very near colosseum and metro stations. The rooms were a decent size, air-con worked well and both they and the bath-rooms were clean.
The staff were helpful too and let us leave our bags there after we checked out.
It would be good if there was a fridge to keep milk, drinks etc. in the rooms and so that you could actually have milk in your tea and coffee. Also, the hostel world description says there's a café but there isn't.
Finally, breakfast was poor: it consisted of cheap packaged slices of toast, hot drink, sickly sweet juice, and cheap packaged croissanty briochey things. I understand that this counts as breakfst in Italy - it was the same in other hostels and hotels I stayed at - but for an Englishman it is nothing more than a not very tasty snack.
It was a decent place though and these criticisms aren't major.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fridgebridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Leone
Hotel Leone
#432 of 1,258 in Rome
55 reviews
Monti
I Capocci
I Capocci
#93 of 3,668 in Rome
182 reviews
Monti
Colosseum B
Colosseum B
#331 of 3,668 in Rome
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
B&B Calamatta
B&B Calamatta
#71 of 3,668 in Rome
277 reviews
Monti
Rome Downtown Accomodation
Ludovisi / Via Veneto
DG Prestige Room
DG Prestige Room
#80 of 3,668 in Rome
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesare Balbo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesare Balbo Inn

Property: Cesare Balbo Inn
Address: Via Cesare Balbo 43, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #398 of 3,668 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cesare Balbo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cesare Balbo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cesare Balbo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing