We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best we had anywhere in Italy”

Gelateria del Teatro
Get food delivered
Ranked #33 of 986 Dessert in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Ponte
Description: Gelateria pasticceria cioccolateria artigianale solo prodotti stagionali freschi con laboratorio a vista
Reviewed July 10, 2016

We were walking back from the Vatican and stopped for lunch at a café tucked back in an alley. The café was the "sister" to this gelato place. On their door are articles from the many publications (both domestic and international) that have raved about them. I can see why. The gelato was awesome and I got a dessert as well because I couldn't decide. lol. The dessert was also delicious. Having experienced a range of gelato in all of Italy, none of it was bad, but this was definitely or favorite of them all! Make sure to grab a ticket outside to reserve your place in line. We missed that since we entered from the side.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Beckinator77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (2,691)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

453 - 457 of 2,691 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2016

We did a fast tour of three of the highest-rated gelateria in Roma: Gelaleria del Teatro, Giolitti, and Come il Latte, trying them back-to-back, while recollections were fresh. Giolitti was a major letdown, a total tourist trap; Gelateria del Teatro was at the other end of the spectrum ... extraordinary. We went for two of their artisanal flavors, Peruvian rainforest chocolate and Sicilian pistachio. No hint of artificial color or flavor. The chocolate was the most intense chocolate gelato or ice cream either of us have ever tasted. For ice cream, gelato and chocolate junkies, this was pure chocolate orgasm. The pistachio was intense, though a bit less so than the rainforest chocolate. Perfect balance of fresh pistachio and creamy gelato. Wow. Be prepared for a line, but it moves fast, and it is soooooo worth it.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LoveLuxTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

I had a gelato there a few months ago, enticed by the nuts, chocolate and other ingredients you can see from outside. I had to queue a bit then got served a quite tiny cone. Flavours were a little bland, not as strong and rich as you would be expecting while looking at those beautiful fresh ingredients. I won't get there again.

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mttrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

It is awesome Gelato, with a range of interesting flavours made on site. You can watch it being made through a window from the street.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank AndrewAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 5, 2016 via mobile

Loved this place! Went here twice on our trip. Loved especially the flavours with spices like mint (real mintleafs) and sage, they really tasted original and different.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank eveliinaheiskanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria del Teatro also viewed

 

Been to Gelateria del Teatro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2023 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.