We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“while in Rome”
Review of B&B Alexander

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B Alexander
Ranked #1,304 of 3,643 Rome B&B and Inns
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“while in Rome”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The B&B Alexander is a short walk to the main train station in Rome. It was easy to find, had a small lift to the 2nd floor and was clean. There was no street noise, and we had comfortable beds. Our hostess spoke English and provided a simple but satisfying breakfast. The owner was very helpful as he tried to locate my missing suitcase during our 3 days in Italy. (It eventually came to me in Cinque Terre!!). Our room was small but had a bed that promoted sleep...or was it the September heat or the miles of walking?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nyceone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    21
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have family trip to Rome and after few days of the selection we pick up the BB Alexander. We arrived at the room in the afternoon and Mr. Barbone, great gentlemen, was waiting. Immediately, he gave us the basic instruction and keys of the main entrance door as well as room. Room was clean and comfortable with nice bathroom. In the room you have small fridge and electrical kettle. Breakfast is great including eggs, milk, jam, honey, juice, coffee, cheese, tea as well as other things and logically croissants. BBA is located in very peaceful area but still near Termini (bus/metro station), 5 minutes walk. In addition, in the area you can found restaurant, small market and other shops. In the general we highly recommend the BB Alexander as the place to stay and accommodate. In addition, we express our sincere gratefulness to Mr. Barbone and house lady.

Best Regards!

Mahir with family

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mashke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

While traveling with my girlfriend, we are always looking for places that fit at least three of the following four criteria: 1) safe area (top priority), 2) reasonably priced, 3) clean & cozy, 4) good location. Luckily, B&B Alexander fit all four!

PROS:
- Very clean & cozy (beautifully remodeled)
- Great location - 5-10 minute walk away from Terimini Station & Repubblica Metro Station
- Friendly staff & family (the father of the owner, who's Air Defense medals are beautifully decorated in the halls, is one of the nicest person we've met thus far)!
- Air conditioning, room safety vault, & free wifi!
- Close by lots of restaurants, convenient stores, and money changer places.

CONS:
- Noise travels very easily (thin walls?).
- Shower area is extremely small, but this wasn't an issue for us.
- The bed itself is bit on the lower quality side.
- A little on the pricer side, but keep in mind lodging in Rome is not cheap, and besides staying in a hostel, B&B Alexander is easily your best bang for your buck!

I HIGHLY recommend this place.

Room Tip: Book early! Space is limited at B&B Alexander!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoJunky86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed there for a night... Requested for early check in @ 6am and they were expecting us.. Small and cosy room.... Shower area is very small and if you are about 1.75cm and above, you may have some difficulties using the shower area...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ee Von L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2010

As girls traveling alone, my sister & I wanted a B&B experience, for economic, safety, friendly more personal service, & accessibility reasons. This place provided it all to an excellent degree.

The room was spacious & comfortable (Tulipano room) with a balcony that opened to the rear and allowed us to let the morning air and sunshine in. It felt very Italian, as we enjoyed our delicious continental breakfast, served promptly and complete with cappuchino, juice, croissants and our first introduction to the delights of Nutella. The B&B was nicely laid out, with the lobby being a large hallway & welcome desk connecting the 5 different rooms. The rooms were quiet and private, and the place not only looked, but smelled clean (which I appreciated) -- and was kept very clean. It was a well-designed B&B, giving more space to the rooms, which were nicely & tastefully appointed in "happy" colors, by the architectually trained owners. My sister and I would only liked to have seen bigger pillows (which is a very American preference, I know). The beds were on the firm side (which we prefer), with televisions and seating area in each room. There is an elevator which lets you off in front of the B&B, so no problem getting your luggage upstairs to the second floor.

The place is extremely well situated for getting around Rome. My sister has a hard time walking (due to bad knees) and this B&B is very well located close to the main Metro and bus center Termini Station). It was a short walk every day and night to get to a bus or Metro to go to where we needed to go around the city. We would go out during the day, then get tired, come back and take a nap and then start again after dinner, around 9 pm in the evening to go to some of the piazzas and sites and we could do that comfortably without having to walk far. (The bus system from Termini Station is great for getting around.) We felt like this B&B was located on the right side of Termini Station in an area we felt very safe in, no matter the hour. Some people feel that the area around Termini Station is questionable, but for two girls who have been to New York City and London, it was very much like being near 42nd Street or Grand Central Station, with a big city, 24-hour a day kind of feel. We never felt unsafe walking to or from this B&B, even coming back after midnight. There are people walking around all the time. As well as nice, but reasonably priced restaurants (with delicious Italian food) within a block of this B&B. Listen to Enrico's recommendations on the website.

Other advantages: Each room has a little refrigerator and there is also a grocery store 3 blocks away (which we used for bread, wine, sausage & Italian cheese sandwiches for a couple of nights ) and a laundry place 1 block away (which conveniently washed, dried and folded our clothes for us for the next part of our trip).

The price for this B&B was very easy on our budget, and with the convenience of traveling around on the bus and Metro system (since many trains and buses pass through Termini Station), we were able to free up resources to spend more on the sites and even were able to buy a few trinkets to take home to the family.

But I also cannot say enough about the way we were welcomed and cared for by Enrico and the staff there. It was nice to know someone was watching out for us and interested in how we were every morning as he presented our breakfast, checking in as to how our visit was going, or if we needed any help or guidance. Enrico made us feel like famiy, advising us as he would his sisters on things to see and places to avoid or times when we should be more cautious. We had an early morning flight and he arranged for a driver to take us to the airport, costing a little more than a cab at the nearby train depot, but worth it at 4 am. Not only is he handsome, intelligent, and sweet (with a smile that could light up the block - but that's a girl thing) but he takes great personal pride in his B&B and that is evident in how well the place is maintained. Enrico is committed to making sure his guests feel comfortable, are receiving good hospitable service, and are well cared for. That attitude made us feel very much at home.

This B&B is an excellent value for the money, well located, and when you top it off with the high quality, personal service, my sister and I must say that La Corte dei Fiori is a place we would recommend highly. You will have a lovely, convenient, and delightful stay.

And when you get there, tell Enrico the two school-teacher sisters from Texas say Hi! and someday hope to return. J.C. & Marguerite - Texas USA

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTexasGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 31, 2009

B&B Corte dei Fiori is located a short walk from the train station and two metro stations. Every important place can hence be easily reached from the B&B. Rooms were clean, appartments seem to be renovated recently and breakfast in the morning served in your room.
Only negative point I could think of for this B&B is the bed: for sure I have slept better in other places, and I would recommend the owner to invest in new beds so in order for me to be able to give the full 5 star ranking to this B&B during a next visit to Rome.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conraad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2009

I had vowed never to stay in this particular street again after a bad experience further down the road 3 years ago. I gave corte Dei Fiori a go based on Trip Advisor reviews and their website photos.

I was pleasantly surprised. The Rooms are located on the second floor (with elevator) of an appartment building 5 minutes from the station. You are greeted by Enrico who helps with luggage and gives you the keys to the front entrance gate, the B & B and your room. We didn't see Enrico again but his partner, a Romanian girl, made served us breakfast in the room each day. We had the Tulipano room which was very spacious with a new bathroom, great shower and very clean. The only critisism would be that if I were running this B & B I would use better quality linen/pillows matteress. The pillows were the cheapest Ikea pillows - completely flat once you put your head on it! This aside we were very happy with the service, room and breakfast povided for the price.

Corte dei Fiori is an appartment that has been converted into separate rooms. Don't expect hotel service but if you are looking for a clean, modern central location this may be it.

We normally stay in Via Cavour near the Colosseum and paid 90 euro per night in September with no breakfast but booked here because couldn't get in at the other place. Was glad that we did. Very close to the station if you have luggage. We even found a parking spot outside the place when we arrived by car!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luluPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#84 of 1,256 in Rome
2,436 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,219 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,256 in Rome
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
Residenza Alexander
Residenza Alexander
#295 of 3,643 in Rome
79 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#382 of 1,256 in Rome
408 reviews
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,202 of 3,643 in Rome
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Alexander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Alexander

Property: B&B Alexander
Address: Via Calatafimi 19 | Termini, 00185 Rome, Italy (Formerly Corte dei Fiori B&B)
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,304 of 3,643 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Rome, few meters from the Termini train station and major tourist attractions of the capital, the B & B Alexander is a new property located on the 2nd floor (with elevator) of an elegant period building. The prime location allows guests easy access to major attractions of Rome, either on foot or by bus or subway (Repubblica stop). Nearby: ◦Piazza Venezia ◦Spanish Steps ◦Villa Borghese ◦Palazzo delle Esposizioni ◦Basilica of St. Mary of the Angels ◦Baths of Diocletian ◦National Gallery of Modern Art ◦Opera ◦Porta Pia ◦National Library in Rome ◦Coliseum Very close to Rome by night: Via Veneto, Via del Tritone, Fontana di Trevi and the main roads to the main shopping.The rooms, all with private bath, furnished with wooden floors, are equipped with every comfort: ◦LCD TV ◦Mini-bar ◦Coffee and tea ◦Air Conditioning, Heating ◦Wireless Internet (WI-FI) Guests, including in the price offered ◦Breakfast Room (on request) ◦Assistance tour / Ticket. Bathrooms offer showers and hair dryers. The linen and towels are changed every 3 days for long nights. Room cleaning is done daily. In the morning a hearty breakfast will be available in the living area, with the possibility to request the service in the same room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your B&B Alexander reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing