We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dem Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dem Guesthouse
Ranked #410 of 3,735 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

After reading reviews from TA, We decided to stay here for 3 nights during our stay in Rome. Glad we made the right decision as termini station is so near us it only take less than 5mins to walk there. Rooms are clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful. One thing that I think can be improve is to change the bed sheet to something with a higher thread count, bed sheet is kinda rough but other good points compensate for this.

Like many mention here it may not be easy to find however it was effortless for us. What we did was use google map to search and print screen the location onto our mobile/tablet before our departure. Location is safe and not dodgy like some mentioned. I will highly recommend Dem Guesthouse for traveller looking for cheap, value for money and good location place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lordohs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    195
    49
    16
    11
See reviews for
81
232
43
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Dem, and it was great!! clean room and friendly service, close to Termini and a bunch of good restaurants.
It was not easy to find at first since there is no sign outside.
The wifi signal was not very good from our room, but no big deal. They gave us tickets for free breakfast on a restaurant near the hotel; it was only a croissant and capuccino, but it was the best capuccino I've had in my life :)
I would definitely stay at Dem again, recommended!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank skull08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The benefit of the location of the Dem Guesthouse can't be overstated: the Stazione Termini, just a few minutes away by foot, is where the inexpensive busses from the airport drop you, where the two underground train lines in Rome meet and cross, and where many city busses begin their routes. Our room was clean, the staff helpful and friendly, and the expresso/cuppucino/latte machine available 24 hours a day in the kitchen area. Besides at check-in and in the morning, there is no staff on site. Three keys get you into the building, the guesthouse on the ground floor, and your room. There is free wi-fi and air condioning. There are cooking facilities in the kitchen and a small fridge in each room. Each day the stock of fruit nectars, milk, tea biscuits, nutella, and jelly are replenished in the room. There is a nice television in the room but no English language stations, at least any we could find the first night. Breakfast is sparse: sweet croissants, corn flakes, and very sweet cocoa rice crispies accompany the coffee machine. There are supermarkets in the train station where you can more fully stock your fridge to supplement breakfasts and evening snacks. The guesthouse is in the middle of what must be Rome's Chinatown since there are many Chinese restaurants within a couple of blocks. But if it is typical outdoor Italian restaurants that you want, there are literally dozens within a few blocks. We enjoyed three hour dinners in these every night for about $25-30 a person with two courses, dessert, and a small bottle of house wine. The Dem Guesthouse is in no way the height of luxury, but suited our needs very well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msinger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I arrived late in Rome and need a place to stay overnight so I can catch the train to Naples! Dem is very close to Station Termini, just 5 mins walk and located in a safe neighborhood. It's a bit difficult to find as it is in a residence building. The room is clean and with enough space to walk around. They provided crossiants and coffee (capsule style) for breakfast but you can get any hot breakfast for under 5 euros in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wang_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel was near the Termini train station, so it was very convenient. The rooms were modern and clean. The breakfast was average, but the coffee maker in the common area was really nice. The staff was extremely helpful. We lost our camera and they helped us with our search. Rome was one of my favorite cities on our 3 week tour of Italy. We were married in Florence and we spent our honeymoon in Rome, Venice and Milan. This hotel was great. There are several good restaurants within walking distance. Thank you, again, to the excellent staff!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TangiPryor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Dem Guesthouse was the perfect place to stay in Rome. It is conveniently located a block away from Termini Train Station which is the main hub of the city. It was also very clean, with AC and Fredricka at the concierge desk was incredibly helpful. We did not have a cell phone so she helped us with out communications etc. They have a few locations all within a block or two of each other. I think it is important to note that Dem Guesthouse does not have it's own hotel building which made it difficult to find initially. We found out that Dem is actually a converted apartment in an apartment building that is made into hotel rooms. There is a front desk in the apartment and each room is separate with a lock and key so it feels and acts exactly like a hotel. The accommodations were great! I would recommend the Dem Guesthouse to anyone - especially those who are travelling on a budget and are looking for somewhere clean, safe, with WiFi and great location!

Room Tip: I don't know how many rooms are available in total. Our room was located in the front of the apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just stayed for a night. The room was very clean, as was the bathroom. Best thing about it was its location... Just a 5 min walk from termini. Breakfast was just packaged cereals, biscuits etc provided in a basket in the room. You can make coffee yourself and there are fresh croissants in the kitchen in the morning which you can help yourself too. As we were just staying for a night and had to catch an early morning flight, we didn't give it much thought, however, for a longer stay it would definitely be nicer to wake up to a good breakfast. If you are just looking for a clean bed and bathroom, then its a good place to stay. One negative, we were told that if we check in later then 10 pm, we'd be charged extra for that as it is there policy. However, when I emailed them that it was not mentioned at the time of booking, they backed off.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sar_saq8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Teti
Hotel Teti
#283 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Charter
Hotel Charter
#447 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Esquilino
Serena Hotel
Serena Hotel
#360 of 1,292 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Sweet Home
Hotel Sweet Home
#234 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Esquilino
Flowerome
Flowerome
#696 of 3,735 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Esquilino
Bed and Breakfast Smart
Bed and Breakfast Smart
#83 of 3,735 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dem Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dem Guesthouse

Property: Dem Guesthouse
Address: Piazza Manfredo Fanti 38, 00185 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino , Castro Pretorio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #410 of 3,735 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dem Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dem GuestHouse is an exclusive group of hotel facilities, all of them very recently built . It is composed by 4 "GuestHouse", there is no a main house and annexes, each house is independent from the other. Located in the heart of the city they are all 5 minutes walking to Termini Station. Rome's main public transportation node, where you find national rail, buses terminal, two subway lines and links with both airport of Roma: Fiumicino and Ciampino. For these reasons the Dem GuestHouse results the ideal solutions for both tourist vacation and business travelling the residences are strategically located at the core of the city centre in Via Filippo Turati 48, Piazza Manfredo Fanti 38, and Via Rattazzi 22, all 150 meters far from each other, just minutes away from some of Rome's most breathtaking and major history sites like the Coliseum, Piazza di Spagna, Piazza Navona, the Trevi fountain. The newest Dem Tiburtina GuestHouse of Via Teodorico 22, is located next to Tiburtina station the second main station of Rome, just 4 subway stops from Termini station. All our room's decorated with a modern design combine maximum elegance and comfort, always aiming to guarantee our guest a tranquil and pleasant atmosphere, Each room is equipped with: Air conditioning system, LCD TV set (21/26"), Mini fridge, Wi-Fi and cable internet connection, Electronic safe box - Soundproofed windows. Even the bathroom, in each room, contribute to create an high quality atmosphere, providing: shampoo, bath foam, hygiene courtesy set, towel, slippers, hair dryer machine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. and Booking.com so you can book your Dem Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dem Guesthouse Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing