We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aklesia Suite B&B - Colosseo
Ranked #965 of 3,752 Rome B&B and Inns
Moscow
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a very good place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Traveled with my wife in December 2012. We had no previous experience with B&B so cannot compare it to others. Our choice was based on Tripadvisor comments and we are not disappointed. What we learned from Tripadvisor is that one is just to concentrate on thorough analysis of negative remarks (which spoil the overall rating of a place) - in many cases people complain about things out of human control or just tend to exaggerate things. Thus we were prepared to minor inconveniences such as street noise, basic breakfast and climbing steps.
A couple of points from our personal experience: 1) firstly we fully agree with all others commending Aklesia and Gianfranco for the human touch they add to their business 2) we got a free map of Rome from Gianfranco (we lost 15 minutes at Termini station trying in vain to locate a tourist office) 3) Gianfranco kindly provided us with the must-see itinirary which we strictly followed and which saved us a lot of time.and ensured most effective sight-seeing 4) our room (Golden View) had a WC equipped with automatic sewage pump which was an unusual experience 5) Aklesia gave us directions to the bus at Termini r/w station (2 stops by the tube from Colosseum) which goes to Fiumicino airport and costs as little as €4 per person. It took us only 35 minutes to get there. The service seems to be run by individual entrepreneurs therefore the price is very competitive compared to €7 by TrenItalia shuttle and €14 fast train.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_the_Traveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
94
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our staying at Aklesia was amazing, we loved our red room it has so many character specially the little attic and the bathroom. Akelsia and Gianfranco were the most wonderful host ever, we didn't plan anything in advance but with they helped got all the information we needed, yet the location was awesome, we walked almost everywhere and saw Colosseum everyday like it was in our backyard. We'll definitely go back again!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleReusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

From the beginning process of booking our room to leaving, everything was smooth and friendly as can be. Aklesia was more than welcoming to us, offering advice on nearby restaurants and sites, and attending to anything we needed right away, even without us even asking.

The room was comfortable and we had a cool view of the Colosseum from our window, having stayed in the blue room. I'd say the only drawback of the entire room was the shower, low pressure but other than that I couldn't say anything bad at all.

We would definitely return and stay again when coming to Rome, the location was perfect and close to public transportation, we could get anywhere we needed within 10 minutes, except the airport, haha. I even enjoyed the 77 steps to the B&B which so many people mention here, considering I was on vacation and probably needed the exercise anyway. Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djtronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Everything about our stay with Akelsia was above and beyond what we expected -- from the hospitality, to the location, to the amazing view of the Colosseum right outside our window. The room was very comfortable and clean, had a nice bathroom, and oh, did we mention the amazing view? The soundproof windows are great, but the neighborhood is quiet anyway and we had no problem sleeping with one of the windows open. Aklesia provides you with food in the morning to get your day started and is more than willing to do whatever she can to make your stay the best it can be. Her English is very good, and she is very knowledgeable about the city. The neighborhood is safe and within walking distance of every major site. Thank you, Aklesia, for the wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the smallest room and it was still big enough for us. We don't need a ton of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Aklesia was a very gracious hostess. Rooms are lovely (but if you are a light sleeper, close the windows). only caveat - you do need to climb 3-4 flights of steps (77 steps total). Not a big deal for us, and Aklesia and her husband will definitely help with any heavy luggage, and there are nice views once you are "up there". great location near the Colosseum. don't miss the St. Clement church next door (archaelogical dig under the main level). also relatively near the subway (and train station) if you want a break from walking all over.

Room Tip: We stayed in the blu room which was lovely; there is a larger suite also. nice views from all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a fantastic stay! We can' t say enough about the beautifully appointed room, good food and a great location. Gianfranco and Aklesia are extremely nice, warm and caring people. They both showed us such hospitality and care that we felt very much at home. We also received great recommendations for nearby places to eat. We will definitely stay here again and would highly recommend!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

When we first arrived at Aklesia b&b it felt like a strange location, an obscure door on a corner, however we were taken upstairs (no lift!) to an amazingly beautiful room. The room was huge, well equipped, perfectly clean, great balcony, lovely air con, and views straight out on to the colosseum a 5 minute walk away. The best and most interesting room we stayed in during our trip around Italy.
The location and surrounding area turned out to be perfect - of course the colosseum but also the bohemian, relaxed feel to the bars and restaurants all around.
Aklesia couldn't do enough for us, a gracious host who wants to help you make the best of your stay in Rome. She has fantastic advice on local restaurants - take it as we had some of the best food ever at local Luzzi. It was amazing.
Breakfast was simple yet everything you need.
Tip for Rome: book the Vatican and colosseum online beforehand and save yourself some hellish queues - we felt like VIPs skipping the mammoth queue at the colosseum!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsCantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Li Rioni Bed & Breakfast
Li Rioni Bed & Breakfast
#305 of 3,752 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Monti
Colosseo Panoramic Rooms
Colosseo Panoramic Rooms
#42 of 3,752 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Monti
Colosseo Panorama
Colosseo Panorama
#1,024 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Tullia & Prisca Relais
Tullia & Prisca Relais
#428 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Monti
B&B Lost in Rome
B&B Lost in Rome
#826 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Monti
Colosseo 28
Colosseo 28
#2,264 of 3,752 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aklesia Suite B&B - Colosseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aklesia Suite B&B - Colosseo

Property: Aklesia Suite B&B - Colosseo
Address: Via Labicana 85, 00184 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #965 of 3,752 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aklesia Suite B&B - Colosseo 2*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aklesia B&B - Suite Colosseo Bed&Breakfast is located in the heart of Rome, a few steps from the Colosseum.The B&B, that rises at the third and last floor of an Art Nouveau building without elevator, is located next to the wonderful ancient churches and monasteries.Aklesia B&B - Suite Colosseo Bed&Breakfast strategic position will allow you to easily reach all the important tourist sights: Fori Imperiali and all the archaeological area, the churches of San Giovanni in Laterno, Santa Maria Maggiore, San Pietro in Vincoli, San Clemente and Santi Quattro Coronati. Shopping area is only a few bus stop and 10 minutes walking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Aklesia Suite B&B - Colosseo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing