We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find in Rome”
Review of La Piccola Maison

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Piccola Maison
Ranked #15 of 3,743 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel was clean, comfortable and newly furnished. The bathroom was large and newly renovated. It is conveniently located, close to Metro and the Via Veneto. I would avoid the Via Veneto for dining and try Giorgio's suggestions. He was extremely helpful and gave us a wonderful tip for a pizza restaurant- which was fantastic .They do not serve breakfast but there are so many options in Rome that it is easy to source yourself. The welcome bottle of Chianti was a lovely touch, plus the bottles of water in the fridge.
This will be my choice when next I am in Rome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FHolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (836)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 836 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

Really enjoyed my stay at La Piccola Maison. Giorgio and staff could not have been more helpful. It is is a great location 2 doors from the Via Veneto and a block to the Metro. You can walk to museums, the Spanish Steps, Piazza Navonna, Trevi Fountain and great restaurants. The Colesseum, Roman Forum and Vatican are also walkable. Located in a residential apartment building, my room was comfortable and clean. There is no restaurant, but there are two hotels within 1/2 block where you can have breakfast or there are many cafes and restaurants nearby also.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms with ensuite bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globalphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

This was the BEST place we stayed in when we were in Italy. We randomly found this place and the reviews seemed great, so we went for it. It was better than we could have hoped!
 
Giorgio, the host, was amazing - incredibly friendly and helpful and we felt at ease with him. As three girls traveling alone, this was a big comfort! We used their 50 Euro taxi service that he offered, which was worth MORE than every penny. The taxi driver was there with a sign at the airport and got us to the hotel safely and comfortably. As we arrived at about 10:30am (way earlier than check-in), he upgraded us to an apartment at no extra charge because the 3-person room was not clean yet. This room was AWESOME. It had two bathrooms, two bedrooms, a kitchenette area, a sink and a fridge. There was also a hot plate, which we did not use. Giorgio left us with a map with food recommendations circled and every single restaurant we ate at was delicious! They were also more "for the locals" which is what we wanted. It was perfect!
 
We had some questions for him the next day and he sent over someone to help us as he was busy. She also was very helpful, though there was a larger language barrier, and she spoke with Giorgio about some questions she didn't know the answers to. He sent her back with more food suggestions and a bottle of Chianti. So nice!
 
The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked great. (It was very hot outside!) We heard hardly any street noise and the building made us feel very safe. (The deadbolt was intense. It was an operation to open/lock the door every day, but we liked that!) The hotel is in a perfect location - within close walking distance to nearly everything. The Colosseum/Palatine Hill was a little farther but we liked walking (especially after all the delicious food!) and it was worth it.
 
I will for sure stay here again in the future! The only negative thing I would say about this hotel is that the floor was a little dirty as it was cement-like. However, it was definitely not a make-it/break-it situation and everything else was so great, we didn't mind!
 

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mynameisnotandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I just came back from a trip through some European cities. I loved my stay in Rome at La Piccola Maison. The room and bathroom are clean, modern, comfortable and spacious. You get a key to the front door, the door of the hotel and your own room; the building looks like a normal building from the outside and not like a hotel. This really makes you feel like you are 'living' in Rome for a little while.

The owners are lovely people! Very helpful and I believe they will do pretty much anything to make sure you have a pleasant stay.

The location is perfect, most of the sights in Rome are walking distance. You're right in the heart of Rome. Almost on Piazza Barberini and Via Veneto and really close to the Spanish steps and the Trevi fountain (from where it's only a short walk to the Pantheon and Piazza Navona). I felt really safe in the neighbourhood, both during the day and the night.

Especially for the price you pay here, I don't think you can get any better in Rome!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose_TravAdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I were there in late August for a week. These guys are the nicest, very helpful in getting what you need. Location is central, and you can basically walk anywhere to see all the amazing sites. I'm totally recommending this to anyone I know heading out to Rome. Thanks to Mara, Ricardo and Giorgio for making this such an awesome travel experience for us ! D+S.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damian-August
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I recently stayed at La Piccola Maison with my mother for 3 night. The location couldn't be better. It's only a short walk to many points of interest such as the Spanish steps and Trevi fountain. Barberini train station is also very close meaning it is very easy to travel to further locations such as the Vatican. The tourist bus stop is also very close as are many great places to eat. Considering the location this place really does offer good value for money.

The rooms are a good size, very nicely decorated and absolutely spotless. The staff are very friendly and helpful. From the first day we arrived we were helped with our bags, given a map of the city and informed how to best visit all the places of interest. We were given tips of where to eat and shop and were made to feel very welcomed.

I would defiantly stay here again and recommended it to everyone. I'm a frequent traveller and haven't felt this happy about a hotel in a long time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoraMundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We wanted an apartment instead of a traditional hotel room and we found the perfect spot! La Piccola Maison was fabulous. Centrally located for walking and right in the subway and bus lines. We felt just like we were living in Rome. 7 minutes to the Trevino fountain, 5 minutes to the Spanish Steps, 10 minutes to the Pantheon, it was perfect. Don't be afraid, book it!

Room Tip: First floor room is still up a few steps. Economy kitchen, dining area, living area, free wifi, two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,270 in Rome
6,964 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,270 in Rome
3,037 reviews
Trevi
Arpinelli Relais
Arpinelli Relais
#12 of 3,743 in Rome
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prati
QuodLibet
QuodLibet
#3 of 3,743 in Rome
1,197 reviews
Gianicolense
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
B&B La Duchessa A Roma
#1 of 3,743 in Rome
485 reviews
Campanella3
#8 of 3,743 in Rome
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Piccola Maison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Piccola Maison

Address: Via Dei Cappuccini 30, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Ludovisi / Via Veneto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 3,743 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $66 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Piccola Maison is located in one of the most elegant areas of Rome, the famous Via Veneto. The location is ideal (historical center) and the rooms have been completely renovated. Easy walking distance from major sightseeing spots and main sites of interests (the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Villa Borghese, the Pantheon, etc.). The modern style and the fresh design make the place the best choice for anyone who wants to be in a prestigious atmosphere with convenient prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Piccola Maison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Piccola Maison Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing