We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Relais Piazza Del Popolo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais Piazza Del Popolo
Ranked #48 of 1,067 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at the Relais our first night in Italy. Its really more of a B&B than a hotel - our room had 2 beds and a very large window overlooking the street, which we loved. The bathroom was very modern and large and the breakfast cappucinno and croisants were delicious. We were treated very well by Rosey, who ran the front desk. Even with her limited ability to speak English, she was warm and extremely helpful (extremely!!). The only reason I did not give this 5 stars is that we were also supposed to stay here on our last night in Rome - and upon arrival learned that there was a problem wtih the facilities and they made arrangements for us at a different hotel...they sent me an email to let me know in advance - which of course I was not checking while on vacation. The treated us very respectfully and walked us to the new hotel, so the transfer was wonderful....however the hotel that they put us up in was a complete dump, rat trap so it essentially ruined our last nght in Rome. We advised Rosey our our displeasure, and we received a small credit for our inconvenice - more importantly she advised they would be looking into NOT partnering wtih this other hotel in the future. Realis is a wonderful place to stay and Rosey is an absolute charm.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NinNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    37
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
61
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We just returned from Rome after a fabulous 4 night stay. We stayed at Relais Piazza after reading other travellers recommendations and we were not disappointed. The location is fantastic. You are in walking distance of all the major sights and attractions and if you don`t want to walk there is a metro stop right outside the door. We flew to Fiumicino Airport and the transfer was easy...4 euros from the airport on the bus to the metro station and then a very quick journey on the metro to the hotel. The rooms are very clean, modern and comfortable with air conditioning. The service we received at breakfast from Rosie was excellent and she catered well for my gluten free diet. We would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you like a spacious room choose a bigger room as the standard rooms are fairly small but I believ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

This hotel is localed conveniently between the Vatican and the Colosseum - within a half hour or so walking distance to both if you walk directly there. Walking to the Colosseum will take longer, however, because there are many attractions along the way that you will want to see - the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, War Memorial, the Ruins and more (charming side streets to explore). The Borghese Park is only a one block walk and the Piazza Del Popolo is just across the street. The hotel itself is only 7 rooms, clean and comfortable. The rooms are small be adequate. The elevator is quaint, the old cage type - it only holds one person and their luggage - two people without luggage and is tucked down a back hallway that can be hard to find upon first entering the building. Breakfast is simple - coffee and danish but very good - served in a small dining area. We enjoyed our stay because it was centrally located. Make arrangements if you are going to get there early or late as Rosi only works from 8 until 5.

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms all on the 4th floor (3rd floor in Rome)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodyGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We just came back form Rome 2 days ago and we are really pleased with the hotel, it was very clean, very minimalistic decor and considering the size of the rooms in Europe, the size of the room at the hotel was really good. We really appreciate personalized attention that we received from Rosi SHE IS GREAT, with an excellent attitude ! The location of the hotel is superb right next to the metro.

If I go back definitely I`ll stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

We visit Rome on February 2012… after the looking through booking.com we booked a room at the Relais Piazza Del Popolo.
Hotel is located really close to the Metro and main road but no noise at least not in our room. Room was ok size as we really did not need bigger room. Good staff (well one person was doing breakfast and reception) and also the rooms where ok even though tv did not work in our room, again no bother lots to see in city. Location is good near to Vatican City and also the old Rome town which we walk to both. There are really nice local Italian restaurants which we found nearby.
We checked in late, you need to make a request as the reception is not 24h via e-mail or phone. Also the building where the hotel is, are privet residence properties and other businesses so it was a bit hard to find the entrance and then the hotel in that building. Breakfast is really poor so don’t relay on it to much.

Overall its ok please

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SyleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We just spent our last four days in Italy at this hotel. It was a great place to end our trip. The hotel is a bit hard to find but the porter at the building door was very helpful in that regard. It is in a large building overlooking a busy street but was nevertheless very quiet. The room was large, modern and very tasteful in decor. This small hotel is run by a pleasant couple who go out of their way to be helpful. The breakfast is the standard Italian fare, not extensive but adequate. The location is very good, not actually on the piazza del Popolo but just through a gate in the old city wall on Piazallr Flaminio. It is extremely convenient to public transit with a subway, tram line and several bus lines just outside the door and a taxi stand within 100 yards at the Piazza del Popolo (in Italy taxis can't typically be flagged down on the street, only doing pickups at taxi stands or in response to telephone calls). Our room was near reception (32) and unlike some other reviewers we had no problems with WiFi. Overall a very good experience and we will certainly return here on future visits

Room Tip: Room 32 has good street view. Others look into a courtyard which I couldn't see so can't com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

The Relais Piazza Del Popolo is an excellent place to stay while in the beautiful city of Rome. It is located right by the Metro station and in front of the Piazza del popolo. Everything is so tidy & in place and our host Rosi was so charming & helpful. The only problem was that Wifi was not available in the rooms far from the reception but otherwise, everything was perfect.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Parioli
Casa Montani - Luxury Guest House
Campo Marzio
Da Me Suites
Da Me Suites
#50 of 1,067 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Parioli
Locanda di Piazza del Popolo
Locanda di Piazza del Popolo
#2,107 of 3,736 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Ripetta 25
Ripetta 25
#12 of 1,067 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Monti
Nazionale 51
Nazionale 51
#10 of 1,067 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Parioli
VICO Rooms&Terrace
VICO Rooms&Terrace
#292 of 3,736 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Piazza Del Popolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Piazza Del Popolo

Property: Relais Piazza Del Popolo
Address: Piazzale Flaminio 9, 00196 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Parioli
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 1,067 Specialty Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Piazza Del Popolo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Relais Piazza Del Popolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Piazza Del Popolo Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing