We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7 Day Stay”
Review of Residence Maximus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence Maximus
Ranked #2,713 of 3,734 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Hotel Maximus during our 7 day stay in Rome. We were there all but one night when we traveled to Florence.

The first thing non-European travellers should note is that this is not a Hotel, or B&B in a traditional sense. It is literally a cluster of condo units within a residential building. I personally like this as it made the experience more authentic.

The location is excellent, within walking distance of Colosseo station, and a number of fantastic non-touristy restaurants and sites.

Upon our arrival to Italy, we received a phone call from the hotel manager asking when we will be there. He met us at the site of the hotel, and the check in process was easy and simple. He also provided us with a number of vouchers for breakfast at a local espresso bar.

The space itself was great, very modern loft in an old city and it had everything you needed including air condition which was VERY VERY cold considering the 49 degree heat outside.

I comment on the review below me... there IS something wrong with the main lock on the door. If you twist it the wrong way, you're actually engaging the dead bolt on the lock. I learned this the hard way when I had to help another hotel stayer try to get in because we were both locked out. At that point she mentioned that she had called someone from the hotel to come help her, but it had been an hour and no one had come yet. Luckily we figured it out together, and this ties into the reason I'm not rating this experience EXCELLENT: THE CHECK OUT.

The day we were meant to leave, we woke up and were told to go the hotels main office, which is a few blocks away. We showed up, and ended up waiting over an HOUR for anyone to show up. We couldn't go anywhere because we had our suitcases with us, and needed somewhere to keep them for the few hours until our flight so we wouldn't waste our last day. Finally someone showed up, and we made arrangements to grab our suitcases that afternoon, stressing the importance of our flight and how we need to be on time.

Sure enough, we show up in the afternoon, no one is there. This time it only took her about 15 minutes to get there, but still, unnecessary stress on our last day in Rome.

Overall beautiful, modern, comfortable accommodation, but unprofessional staff. I suggest getting the details about your check out in advance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 74 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a very strange experience with Residenza Maximus.
First night when we back from dinner around 21:30 could not open the building's door because the lock was broken. No staff inside normally at night time. I called reception man but he can't speak a word in English. He understood something wrong, but any way he did not deign to come to building for help. At last some habitants opened the door inside.

Imagine, you are in Rome but can not go out at saturday night because of the lock. If you go out you can stay on streets till morning.

They simply said "sorry" in the morning and the lock was broken for two days. We handled the problem with a note on the door and door stayed open 2 days. Yes it is not safe but better to be in prison.

The rooms are big and clean. Our bed making noises in any little movements.

In the end it was not a comfortable staying. When you pay money, you are expecting some attention and respect, but Residenza Maximus does not have this two important things.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Recep B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding literally two streets away from the colloseium ,,, lovely apartment , Andreas owner very helpful ,, breakfast free every day ,, in nearby restaurant,, turn right coming outta apartment,,then right again then two streets down on the left hand side u see ice-cream shop and pizza foram restaurant ,,, ur restaurant there for breakfast everyday ,,, we only found this da last day!!! I would def stay again for it's location,,, fab apartment flat screen tv ,, cool red curtains air con ,, new funky bathroom,,,location class ,, and taxi rank at colooseum ,,, ask taxi price first hugely varies,,, all nice restaurants around those two streets ,,, on way to colloseium ,,,, nice one come out da apartment turn right and right again one just dwn road 2 mins away with lights through a big bushy thing outside it,,, lovely restaurant very reasonable ,,, nice ice-cream places everywhere go see Trevi fountain at night class better then all light up ,,, see Vatican at night all light up brill close that at 11pm ,,, Spanish steps at night lovely too,,,, great time all round Irish bar two doors den from the apartment really friendly great food

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRUSTeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have just come back from a lovely 2 night stay in Rome. We stayed in the Residenza Maximus. Prior to arrival I contacted the B&B directly to inform them, that we would check in late and as soon as we arrived in front of a normal apartment door somebody appeared from nowhere to check us in. It all went very smoothly but we had to pay 25€ extra for the late check-in. We then got vouchers given for a little restaurant with a view onto the colosseum which is only down the road and I thought it gave it a lovely touch. I really enjoyed sitting in the sun with a cappuccino and custard filled pastries. It is needless to say that this B&B is in perfect location and just a stone throw away from the colosseum and the forum romanum and additionally some beautiful restaurants with gorgeous Italian cuisine. The hotel room was not bad either! It was a standard size en suit bedroom with a very modern bathroom. It seemed to us, that it has been renovated after we have read the last reviews on here. Only once did we have a problem with the key, but when we phoned reception (they even give you a mobile phone number) it took only 5 minutes, until somebody came to rescue us. As for the toilet paper, we also run out after one day but I am sure if we would have asked, we would have gotten some more. It is to bare in mind though, that the rooms do not get cleaned every day.

Room Tip: We had room number 5, which had red decor throughout and a very modern en suit bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Just got back from a 3 night stay at the Residenza Maximus and here is my review. We first received an e-mail from them to confirm our arrival. I stated that we would be getting there between the hours of 9pm to 9:30pm. Upon arrival there was nobody there to check us in. We ended up knocking on a residents door who ended calling the manager on the phone. All in all we waited about 20 minutes or so to finally got our room key. Note to everyone the reception desk is only open from 9am to 6pm(so they claim). If you get there after 6pm good luck. The manager was nice and finally got us our room.

The room we got was a simple room nothing special but all we wanted was a place to sleep and this place was ok (the rooms also have A C which trust me its a must in the summer heat). The maid service on the other hand was way below par. After the 1st day we had no toilet paper, i know the maid came in to make our beds but her attention to detail was awful. Our sink was always dirty, never bothered to clean it and for the toilet paper... We had to go across the street to buy a roll. Before leaving for our sight seeing i would put my toilet paper in my bag just to see if the maid would stock us up. It never happened. Note #2 bring your own toilet paper.

I would have complained to the manager but there door was always closed. The walls in room are paper thin so if you get noisy neighbors like we did you might have some trouble sleeping. Also, the bar just a few houses down the street doesn't help either.

The Best thing this place has going for them is there location its about a 5 minute walk to the Colosseum, taxis and a few great restaurants. So, if you are looking for a place to stay for a few nights, that is reasonable in price close to the Colosseum then yeah i would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thegame0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

It's close to the Coloseum. That's it!
It's the worst hotel I stayed at in Europe.
Toilet didn't even have a seat. Bed was a sofa bed. Breakfast was a E1 croissant.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
3  Thank DarrylR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This hotel is terrible. Only good point would be the location - only a few blocks away from the Colloseum. Negative points (and there are many)...1.) the buiding is covered in scaffolding and therefore our room did not have any natural light. 2.) The service is terrible. One man runs the show and was not even there when we came to check in.
3.) The rooms run off his 'office' so you can hear him talking very loudy speaking on his phone. If there is another guest to check in they ring the very LOUD bell! 4.) The room itself was newly refurbished - so much so that there was no toilet seat!!!! 5.) The 'Sky TV' advertised was not working. When we informed the owner he said he could not fix it! He offered a discount price for the room - but we had to pay upfront when we checked in - so he was not able to give us a refund.
Overall, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bat1Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Relais No9 Colosseo
Relais No9 Colosseo
#614 of 1,271 in Rome
63 reviews
Monti
Hotel Royal House
Hotel Royal House
#761 of 1,271 in Rome
139 reviews
Monti
Hotel Colosseum
Hotel Colosseum
#98 of 1,271 in Rome
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,271 in Rome
755 reviews
Aventine
Hotel Villa San Pio
Hotel Villa San Pio
#78 of 1,271 in Rome
1,431 reviews
Prati
Colors Hotel
Colors Hotel
#244 of 1,271 in Rome
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Maximus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Maximus

Address: Piazza del Colosseo 9 | R1- Reception, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2,713 of 3,734 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $61 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Maximus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Maximus is in Rome's central Celio hill, right above the Colosseum. It has guest rooms as well as apartments with cooking facilities, and all units feature free Wi-Fi and a flat-screen TV. The rooms are cleaned daily and each one has a private bathroom. The apartments include a kitchenette and a washing machine, which are available for longer stays. All units are furnished with modern furniture. The area surrounding the Maximus Residence is also famous for the clubs and restaurants of the pedestrian area in Via di San Giovanni in Laterano. Colosseo Metro Station, Line B, is just over a quarter mile away and is 2 stops from Termini Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Maximus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing