We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mislead, felt cheated”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rome
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Snow White Guesthouse
Ranked #935 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Tremadog
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Mislead, felt cheated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is advertised as a guesthouse or hotel of some kind. It is NOT a guesthouse or a hotel, it's someone's private apartment which they rent out for a high premium.

When we arrived we were completely confused, there's no sign outside and we were wondering the streets. Then a man asked who we were and took us to the apartment. As we walked in it was clear there was something strange, there were someone's shoes by the doorway and personal things everywhere. We almost decided to leave but didn't fancy walking the streets of Rome trying to find somewhere with 2 young children in tow.

Further details, the fridge was full of food, and I mean full of normal everyday food, it was clear that the owners were going to come back as soon as we had left. One of the bedrooms had a Harry Potter poster on the wall and other teenage boy things about. Payment is to be made with cash on arrival, well this just isn't professional and stinks of dodgy dealings.

Despite this we had a great trip to Rome, the apartment was near to the metro so that's a positive and there's a great Gelato place across the road.

You can get a Hotel for half the price, don't stay at the Snow White!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P_Madog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepingbeauty2008, Owner at Snow White Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Dear guests

This is the most bizar comment ever. First of all, because the owners were abroad for a few days, you were hugely UPGRADED. From the quadruple room that you booked of about 25 square meters (as by tourist law in Rome) , you were given an entire apartment of 100 square meters.
Instead of 1 bedroom you had 2 bedrooms (inside your own private apartment) to be more comfortable.
. Instead of 1 private bathroom, you had 2 bathrooms., instead of 1 TV set you had two TV sets..
You had additional private kitchen and a private living room with a huge flat screen TV with SKY TV.
And you complain??????? Guess you dont recognise an upgrade when you see one.


But what is most disconcerning is that you state things that are not true.
Rooms of the guesthouse are situated in more then 1 apartment, as is the case with many guesthouses and hotels in Rome.

Next time before you leave a comment, how about you actually find out what you are talking about first??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

we booked many days ago (weeks?) and gave a CC. (they want cash on arrival) - should have known....
We are leaving for Rome in 6 days and I JUST got an email that they now "cant accomodate us" and offered "sleeping beauty" instead (bad reviews) - i asked why, as we already notified our driver and tour companies of our location (and told our entire family/work about our itinerary to be able to reach us) - she just sent back an email saying we are now cancelled completely.

NICE - we had to spend 2+ hours looking for an available hotel at this late date. NOT happy with this rude and unprofessional "business" practice. whats the point of a reservation if its only a suggestion that they "might" accomodate you.. and on a whim, they might not. pack carefully folks, you may be sleeping on the street. PS the emails went to my junk folder and i only found it by accident, what if i had showed up in Rome unaware?

truly lame, rude, inconsiderate and unbelievable.

Room Tip: dont go with cash on arrival goof balls
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M31Galaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepingbeauty2008, Owner at Snow White Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Dear Sirs

What is lame is that your email settings are wrong as you say yourself in your comment and that you blame us for all your emails going into your Junk mail account.
We have sent you about ten emails to ask for your arrival time (we are a small guesthouse and do not sit around waiting all day) and never got any reply. Finally we sent you an email your reservation was no longer to be considered confirmed.
It is entitely your own repsonsabilty to stay in touch with the accommodation you book and we can not afford keeping our rooms empty if people do not show up.
When you showed up, we were kind enough to help you find accommodation on the fly, which took about 20 minutes. Instead of blaming us for your fawlty email settings, i would have left a comment to say "Thank you".......
To any future guests: you need to comunicate your arrival time !!! and reply to our personalised confirmation emails!!!!
Have a great stay in Rome, whereever you decide to book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

Staying in Snow White was great. Location is good, room very clean and bathroom too. People who are renting it are really nice and very helpful. I enjoyed my 8 days stay there, and I would do it again. Just across the street is best ice cream store in whole Rome.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepingbeauty2008, Owner at Snow White Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Hello
We have finally learned how to use our Tripadvisor owner account :) and would like to take the opportunity to still say "Thank you very much" for your kind review.

We wish you a great summer hoiday this year

Snow White, Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

This place is ideal for anyone looking for a clean, comfortable and friendly guesthouse that won't cost a fortune. My partner and I stayed here recently for 5 days and really enjoyed it, no complaints with the service whatsoever. The family who run it are really lovely and so helpful. Whilst the location isn't particularly central and many of the main attractions are a fair distance away, we walked to them all without a problem. For anyone less keen on walking though, this area is amazingly well served by public transport that can get you all over the city.

Would definitely stay here again: for the price and service this place is a great find.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmPharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

I highly recommend Snow White guesthouse/apts. The whole thing-service, cleanliness, sleeping,location...everything is just right and at a perfect and very reasonable price.
I discovered this guesthouse through some great reviews on TRIP ADVISOR and all reviews were absolutely correct.
On arrival the owner met us and gave us great advice on the 'ins and outs' of Rome - where to go, when, how etc.
It is a family run business and one could not ask for better treatment!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austravelblogger123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepingbeauty2008, Owner at Snow White Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Hello
We have finally learned how to use our Tripadvisor owner account :) and would like to take the opportunity to still say "Thank you very much" for your kind review.

We wish you a great summer hoiday this year

Snow White, Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Md
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

This apartment is one of a series run by the same wife/husband partners. They are really quite nice people and ready with plenty of advice about the area, getting around and what to see and do around Rome depending on your needs.

The room we stayed in was one of 2 in this building with a shared common room that held the computer (allowed to use, and with wifi that you cannot get in the bedroom), sink, dishes, eating area and sofa. They just moved in a load of furniture as we were leaving so things were a little cluttered at the end, but probably improves things overall.

The room we had could sleep 5, and we were 2 with a 14 and a 6 year old. The beds are half seperated by a dividing wall that allows a *little* privacy, and plenty of space. The A/C was pretty useless and provided just a warm breeze. The ones in the other apartments (we also stayed overnight at another one of their places as they moved all the new furniture into this one.... that was an adventure, but they compensated us). The beds were OK compared to the others we slept in 3 other places this vacation. The ensuite bathroom had a bath with shower in it that one kid fell down in, but did not damage herself (thankfully) and the water temperature was a bit demented never making it to 'comfortable' even though it mostly so hot in July you only want a lukewarm shower (it alternated between boiling and freezing). Best bring soap etc. as they only provide small packets of shampoo.

There was no breakfast, but a fridge in the room helped keep costs down. The also have a small kettle and tea and instant coffee (terrible tasting; this would really be improved with a french press in the common area!)

The location was quiet, within walking distance to the train station and had a close metro stop, and even though the oldest geleteria in Italy is just over the road, the noise levels were just about OK and dominated by the traffic.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleggyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2008

15 mins from station walking (very close). In an old sandstone building that had been converted to modern apartments. We had a “2 bedroom”, which was large, clean and comfortable. They provided breakfast, free internet, and a common room, but there was only one other room available to be let. It was quiet, with adequate heating (although it turned off during the day, so our towels didn't dry). Next to vegetable markets.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — no opportunity to see any staff apart from check-in
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Alpaca35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleepingbeauty2008, Owner at Snow White Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Hello,
We have just learned how to reply in our capacity as owners on Tripadvisor and with a delay of 4 years :), we would still like to say "thank you" for your stay as well as for your nice comment.
We wish you a very nice summer holiday this year

Guesthouse Snow White Rome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
B&T Rooms
B&T Rooms
#2,592 of 3,762 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,290 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,469 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Continentale
Hotel Continentale
#369 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel des Artistes
Hotel des Artistes
#284 of 1,290 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow White Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow White Guesthouse

Property: Snow White Guesthouse
Address: Via Principe Eugenio, 00185 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #935 of 1,290 Hotels in Rome
Hotel Class:3 star — Snow White Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snow White Guesthouse offers very large rooms with Satellite Tv, Air Conditioning, Fridge, safe, tea and coffe facilities, private bathroom. Situated between Termini Railway station and Colosseum and Ancient Rome area, you can walk up to tourist sites or use the excellent public transport right outside the accommodation. Run by an english - american- dutch team who have lived in Rome long enough to understand what you want to see on your visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snow White Guesthouse Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing