We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for the apartement.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1,377 of 3,743 Rome B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 19, 2010

We got a bit worried when we saw the bar downstairs, but then we were led across the Piazza Santa Maria to an apartment that belonged to the hotel - situated in a very quiet street. We did visit the bar later that night and the street was crowded with people. We were therefore very happy that we could go back to our own, quiet room afterwards.

Everything was clean and very nice. The apartment had two rooms and two bathrooms (you get your own key and can keep your stuff in there, but you have to go out into the hallway to get to it. There were also a living room and a kitchen, which meant that you could go out and buy your own breakfast, which we did since the croissants in the cupboard weren't very exciting. Everything was so new, however, that they didn't have any plates when we were there, but everything else was in order.

The location is brilliant and even though we can't say much about the hotel itself, the apartment was very nice. There was another couple staying there at the same time as us, but we didn't see them during our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ms_jana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 109 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2010

Yep, the bar downstairs is fairly noisy at night on the weekend... so take your airplugs...slept well with my plugs in.....either that, or go to the bar! Bar has really cheap coffee, drinks and icecream and the the locals hang there too, which I loved. Hate being in touristville.

Staff leave you alone. Our room was large and really nice (bathroom across the hall, but that's fine)...has character and not a big horrible anaethetised boring hotel....

I really loved Trastevere, and Calisto 6 is in an excellent location, lots of good dining and gorgeous lanes.....good location to walk to everywhere you need to, or take a tram, bus, metro...

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jax_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

Great place to stay at, but if English/ Scandinavian breakfast is important you need to look for something else. Coffee and croissant at the bar just outside the door gives a local feeling. In evenings there is a lot of noise from the bar as it is a very popular spot.
At check in we got a thorough overview of the area, restaurant recommendations and transportation.
The room and the private bathroom just across the corridor are very nice decorated and clean. No international hotel feeling here.
Don't buy maps/ guide books before checking the small library where it is possible to borrow.
Would recommend this B&B to Rome travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marierose054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

My husband and I are glad we spent three nights at Calisto 6. You can't beat the price or the location--in the heart of fun, lively, and full-of-locals Trastevere. We walked everywhere in Rome from this B&B with no problems (well, we took a bus to Termini station). You have a wonderful piazza right around the corner, and the nearby Ponte Sisto bridge leads right to the historic center of the city.

Our room was "IKEA chic" and a nice size, as was the bathroom. Free wifi was appreciated. We rarely saw the owners, but that was fine for our needs. They did provide a map and some restaurant recommendations when we checked in. Yes, the B&B is above a bar, but with our windows closed (our room had an AC unit), the noise didn't bother us at all. Plus, the bar is an extremely cool place to hang out--great crowd.

I can't imagine staying anywhere but Trastevere in Rome, and if we return, we'll definitely consider this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We really enjoyed our time at Calisto 6. The rooms are done up individualized with the best of Ikea, so it really felt like we were staying at a friend's extra room rather than an anonymous place-for-rent. It's also of a pretty good size -- I've definitely had smaller rooms at three star hotels during previous Rome visits, so I was pleasantly surprised. My only beef with the room was the teeny-tiny bathroom... but then again, that's my beef with all of Europe's rooms. I think if we sprung for an upgraded room we'd have a bigger bathroom. Oh, and there's free wifi too.

The location's great -- right in the heart of Trastevere, and most of the major sites within walking distance. Yes, it's on top of a bar, one which is constantly full... but honestly, when I closed the window at night to sleep, it didn't bother me. I live in a city, and I expect a certain level of noise when I live in the heart of trendy neighborhoods packed with bars and restaurants like Trastevere. There's that urban hum of people, but it's certainly tolerable and FYI the bar will close at 2 am. If you really want a quiet place, you're better off looking at another neighborhood in Rome altogether. Anyway, the bar is what gives you breakfast in the morning too. The guys who work there and quite the characters, as are its frequent customers. It's an authentic place where the customers are mostly locals, no tourists.

What makes this B&B outstanding though is the host, Andrea Fella. He is SO helpful and kind. We asked him for so many nitty little things (even before we arrived!) and he always responded with a friendly smile and a kind, prompt answer. I mean, he even went out of his way to get back home ASAP from a trip out in order to print our tickets to the Quirinale for us! It was like having a concierge almost -- he's just that determined to making sure you have a pleasant stay. He's really what made the stay exceptional.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melvrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

I stayed here in October 2009 with my teenage daughter. Calisto 6 offers privacy, cleanliness and value in Trastevere. The owner Andrea is very nice and prompt to meet you when you arrive. You're given 3 keys to get through the buidling, apartment and your room securely. When we stayed there was one other room being rented...I think. Meaning, it's very private. If you are a lone traveler, I'd suggest a hotel so you have the opportunity to meet others. Also, research the surrounding area and your needs prior to your arrival as there is not anyone to direct you once you are there. It took a little work to find the laundry, cheap eats and understand the bus schedules.

The breakfast is a pastry and drink. The rooms are well maintained and cleaned daily but the bar downstairs is very noisy. If you don't mind the noise; and better yet planned to be AT the bar; there's no problem-it's actually a perk.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letrecem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at this B&B and found it to be very clean and nicely furnished. The owner and his wife are friendly, and it is located in a very charming neighborhood. It is a bit noisy at night due to the bar just below, and though the owners do provide ear plugs, we had trouble sleeping. The wireless internet does not work as advertised. The breakfast was a very small croissant with coffee - we were hoping for a bit more, given the price and that it is advertised as a B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trastevere
Sonnino Suite B&B
Sonnino Suite B&B
#522 of 1,270 in Rome
175 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Domus Tiberina
Hotel Domus Tiberina
#548 of 1,270 in Rome
276 reviews
Trastevere
Relais Le Clarisse in Trastevere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#274 of 1,270 in Rome
704 reviews
Trastevere
VOI Donna Camilla Savelli Hotel
Trastevere
Hip Suites
Hip Suites
#176 of 3,743 in Rome
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast

Address: Piazza di San Calisto 6 | Trastevere, 00153 Rome, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Trastevere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,377 of 3,743 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range: $51 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our bed and breakfast is located on the first floor of an ancient building of the 15th century, in the heart of Rione Trastevere, very close to Santa Maria in Trastevere square. 'Calisto 6' B&B is the perfect place to experience daily life in a typical Roman setting. The bedrooms are spacious and pleasantly decorated with tall ceilings, large windows and some rooms have antique fresco wall paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Calisto 6 Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calisto 6 Bed And Breakfast
Calisto 6 Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing