We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful menu”

Trattoria Der Pallaro
Ranked #1,740 of 12,469 Restaurants in Rome
Price range: $17 - $23
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“A wonderful menu”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I wasn't really sure what to expect when we ate here. I was told that there was no menu, and they just brought you out the next plate when you'd finished.
This was actually a hugely positive part of this experience. We didn't have to wait at all for any of our courses. The courses ranged from a starter of hams and tomatoes. which were divine, and then a lentil stew, which was my favourite. They brought us a mixture of carbonara and pasta in a tomato sauce, which was delicious and then finished off with a pork steak and some delicious home made crisps. Dessert was a nice tart.
The price was a little more than I was expecting, but we had a beautiful dinner in the open air, and it was a lovely experience

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    331
    176
    103
    139
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad value”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Skip it! Low quality food no matter how cheap. You can buy excellent pizza and gelato instead. The outside seating is very hot at lunchtime.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ulisszesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Overpriced for average food quality”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We went here after a recommendation we received from our front desk guy. We sat down and they started bringing out food. The food overall was ok but it would have been nice to have been told what we were eating! Playing guess the meat is not a game I'd expect to play when I'm paying 25 euro a piece (including children under 12!!). Overall, there are a lot better options in Rome for the price with just as unique atmospheres.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mt8012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Like Dining With Family!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is one of the dining experiences I will not forget. We arrived for our lunch reservation on a dreary, damp, windy afternoon. The restaurant staff asked us to choose one of the tables on the plastic-enclosed patio. I went to the restroom to wash my hands and I heard my husband ask for a menu. He said he had forgotten that the policy of the restaurant is to serve the patrons whatever had been prepared that day. We ordered a carafe of the red wine and the food began to arrive.

As others have described you receive olives, croquettes, lentils, salad, pasta, meat, dessert and wine for a reasonable set price. The staff/family wanders around making sure that you have eaten enough and that you have enjoyed your meal.

What’s nice about this style of dining is that the chef cooks for people that she eventually comes out and speaks to (and even takes pictures with). It feels like you are at a family member or friend’s home and the entire staff treats you that way. The restaurant is small and you can see the chef in the kitchen cooking. This is a great, no-fuss, authentic dining experience!

Be advised that this restaurant has two entries on Tripadvisor -- this one and Ristorante del Pallaro.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NativeNewYorker97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
old town
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just a couple of blocks from Campo di Fiori, Giovanni and Paola put on a wonderful spread. The menu does include what the previous reviewer Jose said, but what he failed to mention was how delicious the homemade food was and how you are made to feel like family. One member of our party is on a lactose and gluten free diet and the went out of their way to accommodate him. Don't miss this little gem of a restaurant

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PLSCCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Der Pallaro also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Der Pallaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing