We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Hidden Gem in Rome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ciampini

Ciampini
Ranked #717 of 11,633 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Campo Marzio
East Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I ate here during our last evening in Rome. We read about it on Tripadvisor and were staying nearby at the Hotel Scalinata di Spagna, a 3 minute walk. It was raining and we didn’t want to go very far. Wow, were we ever surprised and pleased. This is an outstanding restaurant, and not only for Rome. Being very close to the Spanish Steps, you would think it would be touristy. Not so. It doesn’t look like much from the outside but don’t be fooled. Mostly “outdoor” seating but it is covered completely and we could see St. Peter’s Basilica from where we sat. There is a glass enclosed room for cool nights. Best Gnocchi I ever had in my life. The lamb chops were superb. My wife had salmon, which was grilled perfectly. The portions were reasonable from what you would expect from this type of restaurant. All were delicious and presented very well. The tiramisu and fondente al cioccol were the best desserts we had in Italy. Service was outstanding and the environment was very romantic. We would highly recommend this restaurant on all counts, food, price and atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YankeeRalph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    185
    46
    16
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Rome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife spent our last dinner in Rome at ciampini. Honestly this was the best among all 4 nights. We have caesar salad, baked fish and traditional lamb. All are delicious and presented very well. Service are good and environment is romantic. Recommended if you want a decent dinner with a reasonable price.

Helpful?
Thank Herowind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Park, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food, location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We really enjoyed our dinner at Ciampini. Very close to the Spanish Steps. We had a very romantic dinner on the patio for our last night in Rome. Pasta with Clams was good but my wife's gnocci was fantastic. The caprese salad was also delicious and their specialty chocolate gelato dessert was unbelievable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great setting, large portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Burrata, nicoise salad, and spaghetti with clams were all great. The pasta portions were ridiculously large...loaded with clams. Same for the other dishes. Split a couple for lunch. Unfortunately, the pours on the glasses of wine were a little light. I would definitely go back. Turtle pool is a nice touch.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CheckPleaseChiTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

The Ciampini is a short walk above the Spanish Steps. It is a very pretty and pleasant outdoor restaurant. Even though it is open-air, a hedge separates you from the street and foot traffic. They have some indoor areas in case of poor weather. The waiters were very friendly and attentive and the food was very good. It was moderately priced and a step up from most of the cafes. We really enjoyed it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomtx45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciampini also viewed

 

Been to Ciampini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing